+ Reply to Thread
Thread: Alveys.....
-
19-03-2005 01:15 PM #1
Alveys.....
I've recently started gettin serious about my passion for fishing. I'm only 15 y/o so i don't have too much of a budget. I'm working part time at a local fishing store so i get enough money through to get a bit of gear. But recently my love of jewfish has exploded to the point of an addiction. I already have my heart set on either a 650C5 or the equivalent vented model, 6500BCV RR. Both of these reels are within about $20 of each other so i'm not too worried about that. What i want to know is has anyone experienced any problems with the vented models as i'm wary that they may have slightly less pull in them. Any answers? Also i've been thinking of building my own rod. Would the 5120 blank be good for using for groper, jew, anything else powerful? I can do bindings fairly well so i think it would be a good learning curve. Any advice from anyone would be greatly appreciated as i've taught myself everything i know about fishing from magz and listening to people. To date my best is a 10kg jew and a 9kg tuna off the breakwalls so they were both good fish as far as i was concerned.
Thanks heaps.
19-03-2005 01:37 PM
Re: Alveys.....
Matt welcome to ausfish!
I dont recon you can go wrong with either reel, its just a personal choice
I'll pm you about the rod mate...foxy
19-03-2005 05:11 PM
CHRIS_aka_GWH
i think the 6500bcv has been in the market place long enough that any negative would have surfaced. Alveys reputation is built on durability & quality - I don't think they would compromise that - i would say thay gave lots of thought before tooling up for such a different design.
19-03-2005 07:04 PM
Mattooty catching 10kg fish off a breakwall at just 15 years old and self taught to boot puts you way ahead of a lot of fishermen, great work.
19-03-2005 07:52 PM
20-03-2005 03:47 AM
Not certain what you mean by "slightly less pull". I have a 6500BCV which I use on the beach.Had a minor problem with the drag lever control which Alvey fixed, now no problems. I dont think you need an RR unless you are looking at spinning for Tailor or Tuna from the rocks. Also remember the BCV will let you down when lifting from the rocks. I use a 650A5 mainly and this works well.
Good to see you have "scored" so early with the 10kg Jewie, now the 15,20etc.
Youv'e now got the Jewie addiction which will last the rest of your life.
![]()
![]()
![]()
![]()
Historian/Collector of Old Sidecast Fishing Reels
20-03-2005 05:58 AM
Got an 500 b-c mkII with anti-reverse. Just had to have it, can't go wronge at the surf or rocks almost industructble by almost I mean you'd have to run over it with the car. Matched it to an alvey 600 estuary light rod and 15lb co-polymer mono. also got an old Charles Alvey & son 3.5 inch metal back which i've had since I was 7 yrs old still in perfect nick, matched with a wilson 10.6 blackfish rod and 3 kg mono. reminds of the time I got my green fishing badge in cub-scouts. happy days. Seems like you know your stuff but in fishing there is always somthing new to learn. wish I had a job in a tackle store. Hope you catch a bigger one on your new setup, cant wait to catch one on mine eventually,
21-03-2005 08:03 AM
A 650C5 would do the job nicely. I've also got a 6500BCV that had a lever drag on it, but I changed it to a RR setup. Your'e doing better than me from the breakwalls.
Good luck
The old legend. 8)
21-03-2005 08:39 AM
What breakwalls are you fishing old legend?
24-03-2005 06:22 AM
Hi Mattooty,
We try and get down to Iluka about 3 or 4 times a year when my fishing mate's workload permits. Started out going to Yamba, but found Iluka more to our liking.
We do the walls at the mouth, the Bluff, Fraser's Reef and sometimes up the river, depending on the weather. I've got 13 Alveys ranging from 4.5" to 7" star drag and need more, but wife is getting a bit toey. Only have 8 rods though.
If you have an A Mart Sports store nearby, they seem to be the best for prices on Alveys, especially here in Brisbane anyway. What a coincidence, you living at Yamba.
Haven't caught a jew yet, but maybe one day.
The old legend.
25-03-2005 05:01 PM
mattooty I highly recommened 5120 blank as i have 4120 with a extention put in it. with the extention its gives more lifting power more stopping power. as for your reel the 6500bcv is a great reel on the beach but on the rocks the drag can slip at the wrong time when lifting a good fish. as you are working in a bait and tackle store have a look at 650be1 rockhopper or a650e5 direct wind .as i have both these reels and i can not fault them in any way. regards; col
28-03-2005 02:57 AM
Thanks everyone for the advice, i'm going to get the 650c5 and build a rod off the 5120. But not putting and extension on it. I reckon that it should be right as it is. I don't want it to long as i like a shorter rod when i'm giving a jew some pull. I don't need extreme casting distance as i'm off breakwalls and the fish aren't too far out.
Thanks again, i'm still open to ideas if ne1 has any about rod blanks.
Mattooty