Thread: March Report - 3 trips
Hybrid View
-
31-03-2005 08:28 AM #1
March Report - 3 trips
I am three fishing trips behind in posting reports because I am waiting on photos from different camera's. As March is nearly over, I'd thought I would mention how my month has gone and hope to add the photos as soon as possible.
First Weekend of March: Me, devocean, after7 (new)
Fished islands off shore from Bowen - got nothing so decided to spear. Got -
7 Coral Trout
5 Crays
1 Mangrove Jack
1 Shark Mackeral
(i think there was something else decent on this trip but can't remember what it was)
Third Weekend of March: Me, Devocean, After7
Fished islands off shore from Bowen - only small stuff biting so decided to spear again. Got -
3 Coral Trout
1 very large cray (good work after7)
1 Shark Mackeral
1 largish blue tusky
1 largish cod
Last Thursday night (24 - 03- 05)
Fished overnight, between Holbourne Island and Reef / Shoals. Got -
4 Fingermark
3 Grunter
4 Nanni's
1 Cobia (17 kg and 135cm)
Hope to get some photo's soon.
Bring on April!
-
31-03-2005 09:10 AM #2
Re: March Report - 3 trips
Shit! must be tough living up north ay mick

Good haul of fish, bring on the pics
-
31-03-2005 10:04 AM #3
mmmmm crayfish [smiley=chef.gif]
-
31-03-2005 10:07 AM #4
Mick,
I'd be interested if you have noticed a pattern to where you find the crays.
I think my ultimate "catcher" is 6m and above in spiny coral on the exposed side of a reef.
Bugman
-
31-03-2005 10:54 AM #5
I have finally got some of the pics from the trip. Bugman as for patterns well I found 6 crays under one rock went back there a week later nothing. All of the crays in the pics I am about to send are greenies which I have found all over the place. However all the painted carys I have speared have been onm bombies which have sand under neath. Anyway a few pics.
-
31-03-2005 10:56 AM #6
Close up of crays (caught two of these by hand as spear gun shite itself) also a mention for Mick speared that mack with cray gun
-
31-03-2005 10:57 AM #7
Nice tusky by Mick
-
31-03-2005 10:59 AM #8
Sorry there not tuskys that was mIck with a couple of trout. Exercising his lungs again after a 2 hour dive ( I think he is sponsored by winfield). He is probably also sitting on the fuel tank. Anyway heres the tusky
-
31-03-2005 11:01 AM #9
Nice trout and cray coming to the boat
-
31-03-2005 11:03 AM #10
Fish of the trip would have to go to after 7. Nice jack about 50cm. On fire that day couldnt miss. We all reckon he bathed in ultrabite the night before. The other theory was his beard was the same colour as the weed we were diving in and so he was camoflagued. Whatever it was it bloody worked
-
31-03-2005 11:05 AM #11
Heres a cod I shot tasted bloody awesome. Had a mate 2 about 25kg but decided on the smaller version
-
31-03-2005 11:09 AM #12
2 good trips all in all. Considering we were only about 14km off shore. Funny thing though the first trip we went to island one which had nothing so we went to island 2 which had heaps. Next trip went 1 week later went back to island 2 saw absolutely nothing so we went back to island one and found heaps of fish. Just goes to show that you never know what the hell is going on down there
-
31-03-2005 11:42 AM #13
Good report there guys. Pity they photo's aren't a wee bit bigger....(anyone?!)
I'm not up to speed on crayfish hunting, what is the different between a 'greenie' and a 'painted' cray....is it simply their shell and it's colouring? any difference in taste?
hutcho
-
31-03-2005 11:45 AM #14
spear fishing isnt good for the fish
it makes me mad
-
31-03-2005 12:10 PM #15
So when am i come down to Bowen to go out you and devo mick? #
Or are you pair holding spearing classes at the M&G?