More Bream from the "Pin" !!
    Ausfish Platinum Member craigie's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like

More Bream from the "Pin" !!

Did a Sunday arvo/early evening trip to Tiger Mullet to dong a feed of "Silver Spikeys".
    Not a lot happening until darknes arrives and we move into the shallows, then the switch is flicked and Alvey reels start back-peddling at warp speed as the delicious chicken fillet baits are engulfed.
    With double hook ups a regular occurence, the landing net was getting a good work-out. Often a hooked fish would have to wait it's turn to be wound in as previously hooked fish scrapped there way to the boat.
    It was Keystone Cops stuff as fish were lost/busted off when lines tangled around reels, had fish swimming around oblivious to the fact they had a 1/0 Baitholder in their guts and when a rod was checked for bait loss, BINGO the line comes up tight and yet another quality keeper goes into the esky.
    In a short 2 hour session, Andy and I put a couple of dozen respectable breambos on ice. The boat is back on the Trailer by 8.00pm and we're on our way home for an early night.

Best fish went 35 cm with the average around 30cm (very good size for Jumpnpin).

Andy had his new you beaut Digi onboard, so we have some evidence this time .

Craigie.

Post Thanks / Like

Re: More Bream from the "Pin" !!

The catch

Post Thanks / Like

35cm's of fat, spoofing, buck pin Bream !!

Post Thanks / Like

Smallish fish caught prior to "peak hour".

Commodore

Nice work gents,
    Good quality and clean fish, sounds like a very busy session . You wouldn’t have it any other way. Nice pics too, well done.

DaneCross

Craigie! You certainly have the pin bream thing down-pat. Few questions; Do bream respond to burley or is there no need? What size/type of hooks do you usually rig up with? And lastly, do you anchor up?
    Nice catch,
    Dane

aquarius

Nice catch Craig.......enjoy those sweet eating bream fillets.
    I would like to have a shot at them on plastics but i can't tear myself away from these hard fighting squire...lol
    You know what its like when your addicted to something..lol
    Cheers Brent

Post Thanks / Like

Dane,

The fish have been very consistant over the last month. I usually have to do "Overnighters" to get a good bag, but not so this season

I have had a good burley trail on each of the last 3 trips (could be why it's been so good ). Chook pellets and tuna oil, chopped pillies, bread & sand.

Hooks have been size 1 & 1/0 in a baitholder pattern (couple of nicks along the shank) to help hold the bait in position. Tru-turns, mustads, Rex Hunt k/marts, just as long as they are sharp. 3kg line, size 1 & 2 ball sinker, 60cm trace (3 kg). fishing in 3 foot of water or less.

Anchor up for sure. And as Lucky-phill says, no lights on the water, stay quiet.

Spot Y should fire all this week on the run in tide.
    Although.....I did see the pro's net the area 2 trips back on the night time high tide

Send me a PM if you need the Nitty Gritty

Craig.

Post Thanks / Like

Mate seems you don't need to fish in Bogey anymore?

Nice catch

Post Thanks / Like

Brett,

No Snapper or Red Emperor in Tiger Mullet Channel, Please offer me the occassional ride onboard "Bogey" to target these species.
    A fisherman can't live on Bream alone

Brent,

You are surely becoming the master of the Franger. Always interested in your reports when they come up. Nice Squire the other day from Wello mate.
    I'll have to get you onboard soon for a lesson.

Craigie.

Ausfish Silver Member Anne-T-Dote's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like

Hey Craigie,

I've seen your boat - it's plenty big enough to get to the Barwon Banks on a good day - I go in my 4.7m Cruise Craft side console - you've seen it, it's smaller than yours (I met you at the ramp at Bribie a while ago). You should come for a run with me and Ed J and Johno_SS sometime...

Post Thanks / Like

Robbie Mc,

I remember you well and your nice Cruise Craft side console & your new sounder .

Have been following your fishing reports from around the globe (Stanage, Barwons, etc) and noted all the quality fish being caught. Nice Squire and Pearlies last week .

Might have to take you up on the offer to follow, to the banks on a good day.
    No radio in my boat at the moment & Bugman is loading my GPS up with every spot X along the QLD coast. So not really set up electronically to travel too wide from the coast-line on my own.
    Have had the occassional chat to Ed and Johnathon, always interesting to hear about their fishing adventures.

Nice going Craig.

Seems they're really fired up at the Pin atm. Reckon they must be ravenous 'cause they got bugger all to chew on during the wet. They seem to be taking anything you throw at 'em atm and the smellier the bait, the better, and you're right, the average size does seem to be bigger than previous years. We got only 3 undersize on Saturday out of a catch of about 45 fish.

Post Thanks / Like

Good effort there Craigie. I always wondered what part of Tiger Mullet you scored them in... Now I know

Ausfish Gold Member
    Post Thanks / Like

G'day Craigie, They are firing at the moment eh! top session there mate, BTW I didn't tell Cheech where that spot is (honest ) 8) . Touchy.><>.