A New Rip Tide on the way! - Page 2
+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Re: A New Rip Tide on the way!

Rhys mate, You've got to calm down a bit or you'll end up with a difficult delivery Take some deep breaths and try a bit of meditation

My rig is just awaiting detailing with rego and name, a bung hole cutting and a cover being made. It would have only been a matter of 3 or 4 days but the boat yard is flat out getting ready for the boat show. I'll probably take delivery back end of next week.

I've been doing some maths on the job [smiley=idea.gif]..............all up it's costing around 80 grand. If I get out fishing once a fortnight for the next 10 yrs, then that's 260 fishing trips........260 trips into 80000 means each trip is costing $307.69c before I even begin to look at fuel and maintenance costs. Even if If it only goes 50% depreceation over 10 yrs and I sell it for 40grand then it still costs $153.85c a trip. If you think about it you would never buy a bloody boat [smiley=hammer.gif].......it's frightening

The only way that you can reduce the costs of those trips is to get out more That's as good an excuse as any to do more fishing

Post Thanks / Like

Thanks for the advice Kev...I guess I've given into the cravings mate!
    A Meditation...hmmmm....desert island....hmmmm....marooned with the first mate....hmmmm...nice....hmmm....need to get off the island - eventually (not because of the first mate! She's a ripper)...6mt Rip Tide platey to the rescue...troll a lure on the way home...tight lines...drag screaming...marlin jumping... 2hrs later a 200kg fish tagged...and released...home to the kids...oh well it was only a meditation after all

Damn inconsiderate of them puttin' a boat show on when your baby's due...should see them about a ceasearean and short cut the process...be fishin' this weekend! Yeah, you're sure dead right about the cost, but better than blowing you money on bingo, the pokies, or the neddies. I had a mate years ago who had a lovely new Quinnie and sold it because he reckoned he could buy fish and chips cheaper than fuel and bait...I never did get that guy...yep minimise the cost with more use...way to go bro!!!

Have you got a name for yours yet Kev?
    ><((((º>.¸.•'´¯)

Life is a mystery to be lived, not a problem to be solved, Gabriel Marcel

Post Thanks / Like

Hi ya Revs,

I had a look at the riptide alloy boats site and I was impressed by the look of those boats #, the cuddy's in particular. What sort of $$ did you pay for your package? I hope to one day be in your shoes waitng for the same sort of thing.

Post Thanks / Like

G'day Matt,

I've heard it said that boat stands for Bring On Another Thousand, but i read somewhere it take a mill$$$ or more to raise a child! Dave's prices are really reasonable...around the early mid $20's for the alloy work. I picked up a 3hr new 2005 150 efi merc from the trading post for $9,500.00...add fit out and trailer another $8,000ish. I'm hoping to get out of the whole project for under $40,000ish at least that's what I've told the first mate I've been stockpiling some electricals so it should be doable. Add anywhere between $8,000-$12,000 for a paint job...hence no beauty therapy for this baby and whalla...a face only a dad could love charging out to the Barwons...chasing reds...go you good thing!!!
    ><((((º>.¸.•'´¯)

Post Thanks / Like

Ya did well Revs, you sound like a pretty happy customer. Look forward to seeing some pics. Till then.

Matt #[smiley=thumbsup.gif]

Quote Originally Posted by revs57
    &lt;snip&gt;

Have you got a name for yours yet Kev?
    Mate, don't know if you saw the thread when I decided to purchase the rig. This has happened by way of the deckie being left a few bob from her deceased mum and dad. Her dad was a ripper bloke, a career navy man, and his surname was Sole. We'd like to dedicate the rig to him so it looks atm that we'll either be naming it Sole Mates or Sole Searching (we did a lot of that when deciding whether to spend the money or not). It may even be Aaaah Sole! but we're not sure yet.

You're right mate, this expecting business sure brings on the cravings........I keep craving for a downrigger and a couple of Shimanos

Post Thanks / Like

I missed the early thread Kev so thanks for filling in the gap...Nice touch - name and all...and I like the story...yep the first mate and I went through a lot of soul searching before the big committment to "invest" in our baby, but there is nothing that brings a parent more joy than to see a child performing to capacity...I'm sure your deckies dad would be proud! So here's to full live bait tanks and screaming reels! Yahooooooo....
    ><((((º>.¸.•'´¯)

Ausfish Platinum Member StevenM's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like

Kev,

What are you doing working our what it will cost you per trip.

Think about it as relaxing and therapy and boating and fishing and entertaining and probably much more ings. That way the cost is less.

Cheers Steven

Steven

www.eckfc.com

You've got it sussed Steven If it costs $120 for a 1 hour appointment with a shrink (which it does) then just how much money are we saving by 8 hrs fishing therapy?

Banned
    Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by kingtin
    Rhys mate, You've got to calm down a bit or you'll end up with a difficult delivery Take some deep breaths and try a bit of meditation

My rig is just awaiting detailing with rego and name, a bung hole cutting and a cover being made. It would have only been a matter of 3 or 4 days but the boat yard is flat out getting ready for the boat show. I'll probably take delivery back end of next week.

I've been doing some maths on the job [smiley=idea.gif]..............all up it's costing around 80 grand. If I get out fishing once a fortnight for the next 10 yrs, then that's 260 fishing trips........260 trips into 80000 means each trip is costing $307.69c before I even begin to look at fuel and maintenance costs. Even if If it only goes 50% depreceation over 10 yrs and I sell it for 40grand then it still costs $153.85c a trip. If you think about it #you would never buy a bloody boat [smiley=hammer.gif].......it's frightening

The only way that you can reduce the costs of those trips is to get out more That's as good an excuse as any to do more fishing

Bloody hell Kev...I just worked out on your 260 trips...costs me $784.62 before fuel etc...sheesh
    I think I need a beer or several.

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by PinHead
    [quote author=kingtin link=1125232563/10#15 date=1125285933]Rhys mate, You've got to calm down a bit or you'll end up with a difficult delivery Take some deep breaths and try a bit of meditation

I've been doing some maths on the job [smiley=idea.gif]..............all up it's costing around 80 grand. If I get out fishing once a fortnight for the next 10 yrs, then that's 260 fishing trips........260 trips into 80000 means each trip is costing $307.69c before I even begin to look at fuel and maintenance costs. Even if If it only goes 50% depreceation over 10 yrs and I sell it for 40grand then it still costs $153.85c a trip. If you think about it #you would never buy a bloody boat [smiley=hammer.gif].......it's frightening

Bloody hell Kev...I just worked out on your 260 trips...costs me $784.62 before fuel etc...sheesh
    [/quote]

I'm not going anywhere near those maths! The missus now sees the 530 as a future tender for her real boat (you are so dead westie)

Seriously though - how can you put a price on the sheer exhillaration of getting a new boat/car whatever? I'm a good little consumer and it's my job to buy stuff!

Another cool thing is the new boat/s will save on chiro bills too

Quote Originally Posted by PinHead
    [quote author=kingtin link=1125232563/10#15 date=1125285933]&lt;snip&gt;
    I'd need more than several if I was you..........top of my head maths puts your rig at around 205grand &lt;swoon&gt;

Bloody hell mate, you don't want to be getting blood and guts on it

Just been offered a 2000 Prado with only 110 on the clock for 21grand..........it won't pull the rig Looks like I'm looking at a 100 series and even more pennies to find

Post Thanks / Like

You guys are a crack up [smiley=lolk.gif]!!! I think Tony has the right idea saving on chiro bills...200,000klms on the harley around Qld & NT over the past 5 years has my back nicely stuffed. Yep, the platey will be an excuse not to travel so much, look after my back, and be a great outlet for "theraputic" purposes and a few beers after the clean up for a season of lies about those that didn't get away!!!! I'm impressed that you have done the sums Kev, but the money will be well spent...can't take it with us!!!!

$21g's for a prado...that's not bad...I've a mate in the wholesale game, he may be able to save you a few buck if you tell me what you're looking for and price range....He picked up a reasonable klm 100 series, a petrol auto, converted it to Gas and his missus is running around in it for somewhere around $23g's so there are some bargains out there...let me know if you want me to chase him up

><((((º>.¸.•'´¯)

Banned
    Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by kingtin
    [quote author=PinHead link=1125232563/20#24 date=1125297371][quote author=kingtin link=1125232563/10#15 date=1125285933]&lt;snip&gt;
    I'd need more than several if I was you..........top of my head maths puts your rig at around 205grand &lt;swoon&gt;

Bloody hell mate, you don't want to be getting blood and guts on it

Just been offered a 2000 Prado with only 110 on the clock for 21grand..........it won't pull the rig Looks like I'm looking at a 100 series and even more pennies to find

[/quote]

This year I have spent:
    Tinny - $10K
    Inflatable - $2K
    Boat - $190K
    Insurance - $1500
    Mooring - $3300

And now she ask why I want to go to the boat show..no understanding some people

Banned
    Post Thanks / Like

Congrats on the new boat revs..the worst part is the waiting for it.