A New Rip Tide on the way!
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

A New Rip Tide on the way!

Well after much patient deliberation, research, and careful consideration our new Baby is on her way! She is a 6mt (6.6mt overall) Rip Tide Alloy boat Cuddy Cab (www.riptidealloyboats.com.au) powered by a 150 efi Merc. Much careful family planning went into her...The first mate is on side (She got tired of getting cold in our 4.5 mt centre console tinnie - and I'm sure you guys know how testy an uncomfortable first mate can be!!!)...our last child has now settled with a very satisfied new owner and we are expectant...The kids are looking forward to our new arrive too...I talked to Dave at RipTide last friday and she's cut out, ready to be shelled up this week...I sure am looking forward to the gestation period, the dreams, the fish, the good family times, the planning, the trips and getting a bit of hands on diversional therapy in the bulding phase. She's due in December...not sure of a name yet...but she will belong to proud and caring parents!!!
    ><((((º>.¸.•'´¯)

Life is a mystery to be lived, not a problem to be solved, Gabriel Marcel

Sportfish_5

Re: A New Rip Tide on the way!

Sounds good revs

Keep postin some pics here as she is getting built so we all can enjoy.

Post Thanks / Like

Sure will Greg, thanks for your encouragement!

><((((º>.¸.•'´¯)

Ausfish Gold Member
    Post Thanks / Like

i have fished out of a few riptide boats and can say you wont be disapointed with the new boat. hope she serves you well

jeff

Post Thanks / Like

Yeah Jeff, a mate of mine up the Sunny Coast had Dave build him a 6.5mt super console and powered it with a 175 Yam after his brand new Sportsfish sank on its maiden voyage a couple of years back . I've been out with my mate a number of times in the new Rip Tide boat and it is absolutely bl____dy beautiful . Rides well, a great big and stable fishing platform.

When we picked up our old tinnie 4 years ago Dave did a number of mods to our it...that was a bermuda viper (I bought it off the guy whose boat sank by the way) we lifted the floor, built the transom in with a well and live bait tank, Centre consoled it, put in a boat box/seat that could take a nullie in the top and a nullie slid in underneath that I used that for a kill tank. We put bow rails on it and a removable bait board with rod holders completed a very tidy set up that worked a treat. Spray dodgers and a bimini finished it off. Dave's workmanship was among the best alloy work I'd ever seen - apart from him being a great bloke too !!!! Nothing is ever too much trouble. I'd been drooling over his bigger boats for years and finally bit the bullet. I think Dave was pleased cause now he doesn't have to mop up the workshop floor after my visits any more!!!!
    you reckon we're excited...like kids literally waiting for Christmas!

I'll get some ultrasounds and post them shortly
    ><((((º>.¸.•'´¯)

Post Thanks / Like

Congratulations Revs!

I hope all goes well with the berth (oops I mean birth!)

The difference here I find is that when the new boat is being born the father tends to go through far more pain and physical anxiety than the mother...

Post Thanks / Like

Thanks Tony,

I'm sure the pains of contraction, I mean construction, will be worth it . I can't wait to pass around the cigars!!

><((((º>.¸.•'´¯)

Ausfish Platinum Member StevenM's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like

Sounds good Rhys, Are ya going to leave it under the chrissy tree till the 25th since it is comming in Decemeber. Wish I could get pressys like that for chrissy.

Steven

www.eckfc.com

Post Thanks / Like

G'day Hi....Mate, we've got our annual hols at Minnie Water starting 10th of December so hope to have had the naming/baptism/christening ceremony well and truely done by Christmas Day! Last year the water down there were chocka's with slimey's and I inadvertantly hooked into what turned out to be a 100kg plus juvenile black marlin on 10kg snapper gear floating a fresh slimey fillet down our berley tril . We up anchored to chase something I knew was pretty big. The fish took us another 3klms toward New Zealand (remember I'm in a 4.5 mt tinnie with my 15yo son) When we first got a look at it after an hour of hard yakka, it was over half the length of the boat! it finally took off and gave us a really nice air show. My boy picked up the snapper gaffs and said "we'll get him!"...I smiled to myself at his youthful enthusiasm! Apart from not having the gear (flying gaffs etc) to land this bugger, the wind was coming up, the chop was getting rougher...so we decided to give it an all or nothing deal, the fish won and I wound up flat on my back on the floor of the boat...It must've been a sight...anyway I wanna have another go!!! and hopefully next time have the kinda gear and boat that will be able to stop a fish like that! Ahhhh the dream...it keeps us going back hey...So this new Baby will hopefully be well and truely blooded come Christmas...one can only hope
    ><((((º>.¸.•'´¯)

Post Thanks / Like

You'll be happy with that boat Rhys. Dave makes a very nice plate boat (the best in my opinion). Strong and beautifully finished. As you've seen, his sizing is very conservative.

My mate has a Riptide 5.6 Centre Cuddy and it's closer to 6.0m by any other manufacturer. Plenty of cockpit space for fishing out of and your's will be bigger.

Bet you can't wait. Keep us posted on progress.

Chris.

Post Thanks / Like

Yeah Chris,

I couldn't agree more about the build quality of Dave's boats. I've seen stacks of boats that he has built over the past 4 years...remember the drool on the floors??? ...I think the fact that Dave has his hands on every boat that goes out of Rip Tide guarantees the build quality. He really is pedantic and has an amazing eye for detail. I know Russ, Pete and Ben at Rip Tide too and they work together as a fantastic team...You're right, I can hardly wait...but man I know its gonna be worth it! Roll on December!!!!
    ><((((º>.¸.•'´¯)

Post Thanks / Like

By the way, I'm gonna be in the market for a new trailer too. It will need to be 6.4-6.6mtish from the front post to the rear rollers so if anyone hears of one going cheap that's in good nick I'd sure love to hear about it...

><((((º>.¸.•'´¯)

Post Thanks / Like

ooops, heheh I forgot myself...I meant a 6.4-6.6 mt "stroller" or a "pram" with skids or rollers, not fussy, in the last post...getting too excited just talking about it, trailer means road, road means boat ramp, boat ramp means water, water means fish...It sure is tough being an expectant dad!
    ><((((º>.¸.•'´¯)

Congratulations Rhys. When's the christening and what are you gonna call him/her?

I know exactly how you feel mate as I'm awaiting delivery of a 6.5 Sea Legend. The contractions are keeping me awake at night and my waters are breaking just thinking about getting into the delivery suite.

Post Thanks / Like

Good on ya' Kev,

We're hoping to be full term towards the end of November allowing a couple of weeks for the weaning with fit out and electrics. Hopefully the she wont be jaundiced as we wont be changing skin colour...doesn't catch any more fish if they're pretty.

Names? On the first post I mentioned the "diversional therapy" of the project. I suggested that as a potential starter name to the first mate last night ...she laughed and said "what do you want to name "it" for?" she just doesn't understand hey!!! Anyway, because I couldn't do it without her, and we are pregnant with expectation and this is our baby I guess consultation with the first mate is part of the process. I thought perhaps "Reel Therapy" could be another starter...I'm certainly open to any suggestions. How long before your Sea Legend is due Kev? They sure look the part too...waters breaking...love it!!!!
    ><((((º>.¸.•'´¯)