Transducer Mounting
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Transducer Mounting

Gday guys, I am replacing my faulty transducer with a new one and I am going to try to mount the unit on the floor of the boat instead of the transom. I have seen some transducrs mounted inside a short length of plastic pipe which is then filled with oil or water. The idea being to sound through the hull and get a better bottom whilst underway at speed. Does anyone know the correct way to do this ? Any ideas would be appreciated. Thanks Simon.

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Transducer Mounting

This works best for me, A Thru hull Transducer

http://www.gdmarineservices.com.au Call for a great price on a New Honda outboard, Engines In Stock Now !!!

Post Thanks / Like

garry is that a plastic transducer and does it have dual frequency (50/200khz) and temp. I'm after a thru hull like yours that does dual frequency and temp.

Post Thanks / Like

Bashir, It is dual frequency but does not have temp although I think it is available on certain models.

This setup works well at speed I think mainly due to the depth of the mounting on the boat(its deep in the water getting little interference)

http://www.gdmarineservices.com.au Call for a great price on a New Honda outboard, Engines In Stock Now !!!

Post Thanks / Like

Thanks Gary, I am a bit worried about drilling a hole in my hull. Simon.

Post Thanks / Like

Simon,

where do ya live mate, I luv drillin holes in other peoples boats

Ausfish Gold Member
    Post Thanks / Like

transducers mounted in hulls(not thru) in pvc seem to work best in aluminium boats and thin bottomed glass boats. temperature sensors on transducers that are mounted inside the hull, (not thru hull) won't give justice if you want to monitor outside water temperature effectively. i have transducers mounted inside the hull in pvc (sikaflexed in), and the pvc then filled with water. be sure not to let any air in under the glued in transducer. the water in the pvc helps produce a greater picture. No faults noticed by using this method. Great definition, no problems with a picture at speed. I did this not to get a better picture, but to save the transducer from damage in mangroves, rocks, etc Some people find it doesn't work for them,,,,the water in the pvc usually fixes that problem. It dries up if no lid is attached to the pvc. re-fill with water, and like magic, your picture re-appears. don't mount the transducer too far forward from the stern, and not too far away from the keel line. No more than 1/3 either way seems to be a good basic rule! Also be careful where you run your transducer cable in relation to all power and electrical cables. The electrical interferance can cause problems.
    Hope this helps somewhat!
    johnny M
    * also note the angle of the hull where you choose to mount your t-ducer, no point having your transducer mounted at 40 degrees off to starboard!!!?!?!?!?!?!?!!?!?!?!?!?

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Spaniard_King
    Simon,

where do ya live mate, I luv drillin holes in other peoples boats

In that case feel free to fly down to sydney anytime to install mine then. I am also scared shitless lol

Post Thanks / Like

I live on the north side of brissie Garry but i think i will pass on the hole drilling offer, thanks anyway. Johnny, just one question - do you sikaflex the transducer to the hull inside the pipe and then fill with water or is the transducer attatched to the pipe and then it sounds down through the water and the hull ? Thanks guys, Simon.

Ausfish Gold Member
    Post Thanks / Like

The transducer is passed through a 100mm length of 90 mm diameter pvc or whatever size required. The transducer is placed into a golf-ball sized airless ball of sikaflex that is applied to the selected location on the inside of the hull. The transducer is positioned vertically/centrally in its chosen location and pushed firmly into the sikafex ball until it makes contact with the hull. Allow to dry in position, or at the same time slide the pvc back down the transducer cable and also sikaflex and seal the pvc to the hull. Allow to dry before filling with water. Use fresh water, not salt, as evaporation leaves a salty scum. Apply a lid if you can, a screw top pvc end cap is ideal.
    Johnny

Ausfish New Member
    Post Thanks / Like

would you happen to have a photo of your installation? very interested !!!
    thanks richo

Post Thanks / Like

Thanks Johnny, Great info, I'll let you know how I go.

Post Thanks / Like

I had a wet box set-up recently for my transducer, is now working better than the original set-up. I will post a picture of the set-up. I you need any more help give me a yell.
    Cheers Troy.

Ausfish New Member
    Post Thanks / Like

thanks for that Troy..
    much appreciated.
    Richo

Ausfish Gold Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by A_DIFF_PERSPECTIVE
    transducers mounted in hulls(not thru) in pvc seem to work best in aluminium boats and thin bottomed glass boats.
    So a transducer can be setup to fire through an aluminium bottom boat?
    Shane