Plastics????
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Plastics????

Post Thanks / Like

Plastics????

Ive been hearing heaps of people raving on bout these plastics, what are they? How do use them? Are they like a lure? Do you fish with them like you would with bait on your line? or do you cast & retrieve? DO you sinkers etc? Any help would much be appreciated.

Cheerio

Ausfish Addict
    Post Thanks / Like

Re: Plastics????

OK. The short n sweet answer

1) What are they -
    They are just that - A soft plastic that resembles bait fish (Or worms, etc)
    2) How do you use them -
    Tie them on to the end of your line, and throw them in the water! (VERY long conversation on this bit)
    3) Are they like a lure -
    Yes they are a type of lure. The angler imparts the action into them (most of it!) They work differently to hard bodied lures though
    4) Do you fish with them like bait -
    Not really. I do know of one like that (Berkley make it), but the rest are used as a lure.
    5) Do you cast and retrieve -
    Yep!
    6) Do you use sinkers -
    The jig head is the "sinker" and the hook in one. There are jig heads of different weights, styles etc and different size, gauge hooks.

There is WAY too much information to put into one post. The best thing you could do is to go and get yourself the Squidgy DVD (Steve Starling/Bushy) or the Berkley Soft Plastic DVD (Adam Royter). Both of these will give you the basics. The best way to learn is to get out there and do it though!

If you want, and you're near Brisbane, you're welcome to give me a yell, and I can show you the basics. I would offer to show you more than that, but I'm still trying to learn them myself!!!

Post Thanks / Like

Yeah cheers for that mate, Ive been much of a lure person. slowly getting into it. Yeah I live in brissie

Post Thanks / Like

go to the local tackle shop and take a look sand groper the options are just rediculous. i love squidges for the flattys and have nailed many a big one but don"t forget the cheaper not so recognised plastics as i landed a 89 cm girl at marooch on one of those cheap red plastic twin tails that you get in those crappy buckets of bait deals (pressy ). so ask about on retrieves and do a bit of research and you will be eating flatty fillets this summer. oh yeh the big girl at marooch was released safely and it was a real pleasure to see the big girl return home much to the discust of my mate from n.s.w. who cringed when i said she had to go back ( thems the rules i replied )

Post Thanks / Like

Thanks for that chucker, ill try that!

Post Thanks / Like

can't go past the berkley range of 3" minows in natural colours for the snappa/pinkies atm.

Post Thanks / Like

Hey sandgroper,

If your fishing in the estuary for bream, flatties, trevs, school jewies etc. i've found ya cant go past the berkly 3" droppie in watermelon has worked for me everywhere i've given it a go so far. The major thing with plastics is paitence though, often it will take you ages to nail the first fish but once you've got it you'll get a system and you'll be unstopable I know it took me a while to get the first one but since then i've found softies HEAPS more sucessful for me than bait or hardbodies. Hope this helps!

FINCHO

Post Thanks / Like

I used one of those berkley ones today just out of interest just as bait and landed meself a nice flathead so i might keep having the odd try with them. I think they will get better and better! More people starting to use them!

Post Thanks / Like

Hey jimmyjam,

good to hear your having some sucess with them, your right they just keep getting better the more you use them!!

FINCHO

Post Thanks / Like

Just remember to take some "Red Bull" with you, this will help stop you going into Valium Mode, while working Plastics.
    But i must admit they do seem to be catching more fish during the quiet times, when soaking a bait.

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by webby
    Just remember to take some "Red Bull" with you, this will help stop you going into Valium Mode, while working Plastics.
    But i must admit they do seem to be catching more fish during the quiet times, when soaking a bait.
    LOL Me thinks Webby starting to come over to the other side!!

Ausfish Addict
    Post Thanks / Like

But remember Webby.... 38cm Bream landed first cast on bait and 36cm on second cast on bait, Nothing landed in 20 casts on plastics! I'm sure we're all glad you couldn't be counted in the River 2 Mud!!!

*LOL*

Ausfish Platinum Member StevenM's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like

Definitly buy one of the videos/ dvd metioned sandgroper, well woth the 20 bucks if you are intersted in getting into them.

Steven

www.eckfc.com