+ Reply to Thread
-
20-10-2006 08:12 PM #1
first time 1770 trip help wanted!!!
gday fellas iv been planning a trip up to 1770 for a while but with finishing school and having exams i havnt had the time but these holidays we close down at work for 2 weeks after xmas so im hoping to get up there then. i was hoping if any one could give me a few ideas of places to fish im not ot picky about targeting any thing im just hoping to get a few good fish. we will be taking the 4.1m tinnie up. the biggest question i wanted to ask was how far out can u get in a small boat weather permiting. is there much of a bar in the mouth of the river? if its at all possible what woul du expect to hook up to out there and whats the best method?
sorry for all the questions just wanna make sure im ready for when the time comes
cheers bowds
21-10-2006 01:36 AM
Re: first time 1770 trip help wanted!!!
was up there about month ago had a 4.5m with 40hp on the back
the bar is not to bad but gets really shallow at low tide
the best thing to do is stop in at the bait and tackle place on the way ,just out of agnis waters(sorrry about the spelling)the man in there will put you on the right track
21-10-2006 12:46 PM
I took my 3.9m Seajay with 25 Yamaha, out last weekend with out any trouble,
There was a few other boats alot smaller than mine out there as well.
We went out through the small Bar towards Eurimbula and came back in through the main one........
21-10-2006 02:53 PM
G'day Bowds!!
The bar is a very easy one to cross most of the time mate, and you should be able to get out around the bait grounds at 1-2 mile no worries. There has been a lot of pelagic species around the headland of late, Spanish, Bluefin, mack tuna, queenies, schoolies etc. There are still a few small black marlin hanging around, and I heard twice yesterday that there are a couple of small sails hanging about. Depending on weather etc it is possible to get to the Wreck of the Cetacea at about 6 mile, or even over to Bustad head. Trolling around the 1770 headland can be very productive during the next few months, and a small tinnie does the job nicely.
Call in and see me when you get into town (about 2km's before you get into Agnes on the right hand side) and I will fill you in on whats happening and give you some marks, maps etc.
Regards.....Tony
26-10-2006 01:41 PM
hi agnes jack, i am moving to Agnes this Saturday. Do you have any land based spot tips for throwing plastics around the area?
I was thinking that it might be worthwile deep jigging some bigger plastics off the rocks at the Round Hill headland?
My first shot will be casting for flathead down in the channel at 1770 and up past the caravan park.
I will be boatless for a while so will be doing mostly land based fishing (unless i can score a ride with someone some time).
Can you tell me what the most prolific species that are caught around the area by land based anglers just to give me and idea of what to rig for and how heavy to go if there is a possibility of catching larger fish.
Your help would be greatly appreciated.
26-10-2006 09:01 PM
bowds and taylorrya - once you're up there, make a b-line for Tony (Agnes Jack) You won't find a more knowledgeable and helpful guy ! Also, he has all the gear you need for local conditions and species. I was up there with the family in the September hols., and he put us onto some great fish. Between Tony and wife Sandi these guys made us feel welcome and pointed us in the right direction.
Enjopy paradise!
Lawry
27-10-2006 12:27 AM
Re: Working holiday at 1770 help wanted
I have been fortunate to get a job in Agnes Waters for a week. I was considering taking my 4.5c/c up with me from Brisbane but have no marks to go to. Can any body point me in the right direction where the bait grounds are etc. If I can get some marks I will definitely extend my stay and bring the boat.
27-10-2006 10:07 AM
Hi Rushin, when are you headed up to Agnes? Did you land a job up there in the construction sector?
I am moving up there tomorrow for work also.
27-10-2006 07:55 PM
Plastering is my game. Small house to do for a mate. 5 days work 5 days play. Leaving tomorrow morning. Decided to take the boat and to drop in to see agnes_jack when I get there for some info.
21-05-2007 02:13 PM
lucky buggers working in agnes , got a friend works in the bait shop out helping hire out the boats we call him al bundy great guy so do say gidday if ya see him at the marina , tell him his old cleaner in glassy area said gidday .
enjoy your time and hope ya catch stacks of fish cheers
24-05-2007 05:56 PM
we will be taking the 4.1m tinnie up. the biggest question i wanted to ask was how far out can u get in a small boat weather permiting.
I've lived at Agnes all my life (16yrs) and fished for 13yrs on a good day I've taken my tinnie which is 3.6m long out to the Bustard Head Lighthouse directly from 1770 across the bay (which is usually pretty choppy).
Hope it helps,
Whitey#1
28-06-2007 05:27 AM
Hey Whitey,
My mate al has been given the job of managing the mariner he will be moving out of his house and into the mariners accom , drop in and say gidday for me we are holidaying in a house up there day after xmas taking my daughter who has just returned home to live with my grandson who will be a year old by then he isnt a well little one though has a tumour in his head so am realy looking forward to taking him to the beach and spending some quality time with him. cheers whitey