+ Reply to Thread
-
13-11-2006 07:08 PM #1
Is there good fish to catch on the close GC reefs?
I was wondering if many of you catch fish on the 12 and 18 fathom reefs outside the Gold Coast seaway.
I think that the bait grounds are the 12 fathom but am wondering if it is worth sending a yakka or a few pillies down there.
I only ask because I have ventured out a few times on good days and a friend that left the coast has given me a few marks on those reefs.
Any experience that you have (about the fish) would be great.
Gold Coast , Queensland. Paradise!
13-11-2006 09:39 PM
Re: Is there good fish to catch on the close GC re
Yeah Gutzy
but it is all over not long after th esun comes up so you need to be out before DAY BREAK not sun rise.
Steven
13-11-2006 10:54 PM
There will be fish about if you put the effort in...
As Steven said... You'll need to be there quite early...
I use to fish the 12 fathom reef in my 440 makocraft tournament...
I once sent a cowanyoung down and caught a 20kg black marlin...
14-11-2006 11:34 AM
Never caught a marlin there but have had some luck on the cloder reefs. The 12 and 18s have given us snapper, school jew, tailor, perch and I have even heard of cobia been taken every now and again.
Haven't been out in a while so don't know what has been biting recently.
![]()
May 2006 Order New Hilux - June 2006 Order ARB & Other Goodies - August 2006 Organise fitting of ARB & Other Goodies - 2nd September 2006 Delivery of New Hilux with Goodies - 2nd September 2006 Break Goodies - 3rd September 2006 Use Angle Grinder to Modify New Goodies - 4th July 2007 BEND ARB rear protection bar (Big Rocks) - 31st July 2007 Notice cracked welds in the ute tub. TWIST!! - September 2007 Bend Alloy Side Steps - Feb 2008 Install steel side steps - March 2008 Bend Steel steps & Punture Diff Lock Air Line
14-11-2006 06:18 PM
CHRIS_aka_GWH
i know its a lot further south but I speared 4ft kingies on kirra reef before it disappeared under sand and that was only a few hundred metres offshore
14-11-2006 07:09 PM
ive heard good things about the tweed/hastings region but am not knowledgable of the area yet.
Gold Coast , Queensland. Paradise!
14-11-2006 08:13 PM
I own a 4 metre tinnie and have ventured out to the 12 fathom reef I worked it for about a hour and as fast as I could put bait on my hooks it was getting eaten off just as quick by a school of hungry tailor caught about 30 tailer and 5 yakkas would off stayed out longer but my mate I took out got seasick >will be again out soon when conditions are favorable.
17-11-2006 01:18 PM
scooterb72
The captain wasn't to healthy himself in the lumpy seas!!
We will have to do it again though Chris
Luckystrike
17-11-2006 06:57 PM
The boys (hoodedwarriors and fat_chilli) went out on tuesday before the wind got bad about 3.45am and got tailer, snapper.. nothing legal but the fish were there, it was only the wind that brought them backin -- this was around the 26fathoms
" Put a beer in one hand and a rod in the other and We're in Heaven! "
18-11-2006 07:43 PM
Next time scott take some sea sickness tablets before we venture out.Originally Posted by luckystrike
![]()

will be again out soon when conditions are favorable.