Which GPS / Fish Combo
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Ausfish New Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Which GPS / Fish Combo

G'day All

I'm picking up a Kevlacat 2400 in a few weeks and still tossing up whether to get a Lowrance LCX 110C, Navman 8120 or Seiwa. A mate was speaking with a Navman repairer and apparently the Navman's are having a 50% return for repair rate. I know the Navman and Lowrance can incorporate fuel management but I'm yet to look at the Seiwa range. Wondering if anyone has any first hand experience with any of these units.

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Which GPS / Fish Combo

A mate of mine has recently fitted a LOWRANCE LCX 110C to a 20ft shark cat and I have been out a couple of times with it but only in the broadwater/Nerang area. Very impressive display. The Seaway pipeline stood out like a sore thumb with lots of fish visible around it. Features are much the same as other Lowrance models, but the speed of response is much quicker than the less powerful models. The navionics chart display was very good. Can't comment on relibilty as he has only had it a few weeks.

Frank

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Wanna
    G'day All

I'm picking up a Kevlacat 2400 in a few weeks and still tossing up whether to get a Lowrance LCX 110C, Navman 8120 or Seiwa. A mate was speaking with a Navman repairer and apparently the Navman's are having a 50% return for repair rate. I know the Navman and Lowrance can incorporate fuel management but I'm yet to look at the Seiwa range. Wondering if anyone has any first hand experience with any of these units.

Giday Wanna

Nice rig you have chosen to get!! Seeing how you have spent up big getting the good boat why skimp on the electronics by getting a combo!!! Go sounder and a separate gps plotter , trust me you will never look back combo units just dont cut the mustard. Also if one unit plays up you have still got the other be it sounder or Gps !!

Alcohol doesn't agree with me, but i sure do enjoy the argument!!!

Ausfish New Member
    Post Thanks / Like

G'day Ian

Well I,ve turned around and decided for the seperate units. I've decided on a Raymarine DS600X sounder. Just have to weigh up the Navionics vs C Map and that will decide which brand of plotter to get.

Wanna

Great_White

I agree with Ian go separate units, If one goes you still have the other. You should have pleanty of room to mount the 2 units and costs aren't that much higher for the 2. (IMO)

I have gone navman and have never had a problem.

Post Thanks / Like

I had a look at seperate units to fit to my new 6m Joshua. Ended up buying a FURUNO GP7000F which is a combo unit. I have just returned from the Broome Billfish Comp where I really put it through its paces. Awesome unit that just keeps getting better the more I learn about.

The best $3000 I have ever spent. Have a really good look.

Lobster

Post Thanks / Like

Wanna

Smart move mate

Have a look at the garmins as well as blue chart is very good and garmins very easy to use!!

Alcohol doesn't agree with me, but i sure do enjoy the argument!!!

Post Thanks / Like

Below is an actual screen shot of the Sounder. #What it is showing is a baitschool pressed hard against the bottom all balled up. #To the left the light yellow shows sand over hard structure with most likely weed above that. #There are also signs of baitfish away from the baitschool.

As I said this unit has all the detail you need. #The Lowrance unit may have 256 odd colours and look nice but is it really showing you what is down there? #From my experience not really. #I can assure you this FURUNO is awesome. #I knew it would be good but this is stupid. #

I can't wait to get my new downrigger into action using this unit to target me right onto the fish.

As I said...have a really good look at this thing.

Post Thanks / Like

Mate i run a Navman trackfish 6600 Gps sounder combined with smart craft on my edgetracker and it is a cracker of a unit no complaints at all , On my centre console reef boat i run a navman tracker 5500 which im not over the moon with but it has been good and great detail on the map just getting a bit old and sounder wise a furuno 600FCL colour sounder it is a awesome unit and you will be hard pressed to find me buying anything else as far as sounders are concerned

Ausfish New Member
    Post Thanks / Like

G'Day Benny

I was speakin' to a bloke today who sells electronics and he swore by the FURUNO 600 (Didn't try to sell me anything but info). But from what I've read, the Raymarine DS600X is very descriptive, good on auto and minimal noise. Still jugglin'!!!

Wanna

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Raymarines on Auto

Rely too much on auto IMHO. #That is out on the shelf. #You guys out to 120m probably don't care about that too much but believe me, on the shelf, they are frustrating to use if you are trying to run in manual. #Have used some C120s and E120s. #Not good for $4,000+ or whatever they are sounders I reckon. #The GPS also seems to unuser friendly if you compared them to something like a Lowrance for playing with your trails and setting colours/times/distances and course up and north up. All that said, they do paint a pretty picture of the the bottom (C and E series) though I haven't been overly impressed by the screen shots I have seen by the boys posting stuff of the 500s and 600s, especially if you compare them to the JRCs/Furunos/Kodens. Used a Simrad once and they have good rep. I would need more time with one to make an honest appraisal.

Post Thanks / Like

I know that Im being a pleb Lobster man but, how the hell do you tell whats what on the screen - particularly the sand? I really need to learn this stuff, otherwise upgrading (as I want to do) is a waste of cash.
    Boat: Seafarer Vagabond
    Live: Great South East....love Moreton Bay fishing

Post Thanks / Like

ozscott,

your right there mate, you can spend all of the money you want on gear but if you can't understand what it is saying you are wasting your time.

Basically the lighter the colour the less dense the object that is 'echoeing' the signal. If you look at the image I posted you will see a 'test pattern' running down the left of the screen next to the temp line. At the top of the pattern you will see dark colours and at the bottom light blue colour. The colours at the bottom are less dense with the top being more dense.

Using this example you will see light yellow over a dark bottom. Using experience I know that this is likely to be sand and weed over a solid bottom. The bait ball stands out like a dogs balls.

I guess the key ot it all is to mix your knowledge of the area with what you are seeing on the screen. I never stop playing with the unit on the water, much to my mates amusement. But this helps me learn my unit backwards. I still have heaps to learn yet and continue to read articles and then practice with the unit to work it all out. Once you do though it is surely worth it.

Lobster

TCM_Racing

Hey wanna

i have had alot of experence with both lcx110 and navman 8120 i actually have an 8120 sitting in front of me i am very impressed with both but the better of the 2 would have to be the lowrance lcx110 for picture quality and features but i guess the only thing different between the 2 would be the video output on the 8120 for engine room cameras ect i would go lcx110 all the way

Rossco

Post Thanks / Like

Thanks LM - I will have to play around with my gear. I have a black and white, but I think its time to upgrade to a good colour.

Boat: Seafarer Vagabond
    Live: Great South East....love Moreton Bay fishing