+ Reply to Thread
Thread: Eurimbula Creek
-
15-10-2005 09:51 AM #1reeveseyGuest
Eurimbula Creek
Has anyone camped at Eurimbula Creek before? I want to drive up to 1770 and leave our car and trailer at the marina there and take our 18ft half cab loaded with the camping gear over to the camp ground and hopefully stay for a week or two. Can anyone tell me if this is possible and is there any other problems i may encounter. Thanks.
15-10-2005 11:25 AM
darryl_l
Re: Eurimbula Creek
Reevsey,
You may find it very difficult to get enough water anywhere near the camping area to park your boat. this means that security will be a real issue
Darryl L
15-10-2005 11:57 AM
what you propose is doable, but a lot of yakka for what you get out of it.... Campsites need to be booked and it could be a long walk with gear to where you are camping. Have a look at middle, Jenny Lind or even pancake for better anchorages out the front of the camp, better all tide access depending on the creek (Pancake best for this). All of these options are well within range of an 18' boat, with a little less pressure than Eurimbula gets.
Having said that, Eurimbula is pretty enough, esp when the roos come down for their salt water bath and a swim.
Enjoy.
Ne permissi illegitimatus carborundi
16-10-2005 08:17 PM
DaveSue_Fishos_Two
Eurimbula Creek is a beautiful spot, the river and the bay. Keep in mind that Eruimbula Ck is a mudcrab sanctuary, 365 days a year.
Enjoy that beautiful area
16-10-2005 09:40 PM
Needmorerum
Why not camp at 1770 and boat across when you want. It's only a short trip. Other than that, I'd hate to say yeah go for it, I don't know how you would anchor up a boat there unless it was a tinny. The water runs pretty fast in and out when the tide is on the move, and from the sand there is nearly a straight drop off into the water.
If you go in, take plenty of Bushmans', we spent a week there camping, and left after 4 days. Mossies and sandfly's were too bad to stay. In saying that, I've been back since and there were no mossies or sandies. Like the wind at Bathurst Bay, one trip can be good, next is shocking.
When are you planning on doing the trip. I'm going down there on the 13th November, can take some photo's of the area for you if you like. Will have some stored somewhere from previous trips, but would take a bit to find.
Corry
28-10-2005 02:57 PM
I've lost count of the number of times I've been in there.
It is only a short run from the boat ramp at 1770. Pick the making tide and you wont have a prob. I don't know about access to fresh water, but really, if you run out, the round trip from eurimbula back to the marina is less than 30 minutes and I don't think thats a big deal, you may disagree though.
As Corry has pointed out, the sandflies and mozzies are friendly but a mozzie net will sort them.
Go for it.
GO THE CRUISER UTES!
....OH WHAT A FEELING!
20-11-2005 12:54 PM
family owns property inside the mouyh of the creek. was up there two weeks ago. plenty of water adjacent to the camping ground and in "boat Creek, as we call it out of the main channel. why not drive into the camping ground. permit and booking avaiable from rangers in agnes water.
21-11-2005 08:23 PM
reevesey
Mate, we tried driving in there a couple of years ago towing a pop up vanand it was hard going with that. I wouldn't even attemp to tow a 18ft boat in there with all the over hanging branches and drop offs.
25-11-2005 06:15 PM
Needmorerum
Yeah, gotta agree with that. I went in there two weekends ago and there's no way I'd tow my Cruise Craft in there. Top spot though, the birds were working in close on the front beach and one bloke was pulling in Trevelly quicker than you could count using a spoon on a 14ft beach rod. Looked great.
Corry
26-11-2005 08:42 AM
Maximus
Another consideration with camping at Eurimbula is wether or not the high tide co-incides with when you wish to go outside fishing-i.e.--early morn etc.
It can be a tight bar for an 18footer on anything but a high tide.
Make sure you take all your drinking water with you as well.
Regards, Tony
26-11-2005 01:36 PM
I'd be more inclined to go to Pancake(it's on the other side of the headland in corry's photo),maybe rent a van/cabin in Agness for a day or two first and scope the place out if you've got a couple of weeks.