Redland Bay Flash new pontoon but.... - Page 2
+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
    Ausfish Gold Member sharkymark2's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like

Re: Redland Bay Flash new pontoon but....

Wow how kind of them. Might just take a drive sans boat just to have a look and start dreaming about what I will do when the wind dies down . If ever.

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Mrs Ronnie H View Post
    At least all you had to battle was a couple of tinnies and another boat. At Beachmere you have to dodge the fishing lines, crab pots and boats, and if you're real lucky to be able to pull up you then have to walk through the deck chairs and eskies.

Moral to this is we don't even bother using the pontoon- we use the other boat ramp and just tramp through the mud.

Mrs H
    hey ronnie, at least they've put a sign up now that states no fishing, diving and 20 minute max mooring. not sure if it will help but at least people now know what it was put there for. now we just need a designated jetty down further in front of the dunnies for land based fisho's and problem solved.

Ausfish Silver Member LittleSkipper's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by MTAQ/BTAQ View Post
    We had MV Toorbul tie up at the Scarbie pontoon for 3 weeks , sticking out into the channel with a huge sarca anchor pointing out the front to trap the unwary as they tried to angle past it into the jetty - WTF
    Funnily enough while your on the subject of the MV Toorbul I saw this vessel moored at the Clontarf Boat Ramp floating pontoon last Sunday whilst people were launching & retrieving.
    LITTLE SKIPPER!

Post Thanks / Like

CCTV seems to be widely used now days, so surely it wouldn't be too hard to spend our rego $'s on some cameras, and singnage for these problem ramps. They could fine the registered owners of boats moored longer than the 20 min.

Or you could get your own sign made up to deter those who don't know better.

WARNING
    CCTV installed
    Vessels moored longer than 20 min
    Will be fined.

Ausfish Platinum Member thelump's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like

Rang the council yesterday and all they could do was tell me they will start policing it more. Hopefully the parking inspectors can carry out that job as they are there all the time fining cars in trailer spots. Sorry Dave but they do seem to spend a lot of time at Redland Bay!
    Jason (Macca)

Ausfish Premium Member Muddy Toes's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like

When I'm back I'll jump on me old mate the Stewart Kerlin and do some ass kicking for ya Macca......

Ausfish Platinum Member thelump's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like

Mate if you can get the keys to that thing Muddy we will start up our own version of the Island Party Boat. We'll call it the Bay Island Party Boat. Just like the other one but really fast with a great V8 noise. I'll bring the Palm Throngs and beer!
    Jason (Macca)

Ausfish Premium Member Muddy Toes's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like

Gee you really are an ideas man aren't ya mate.....

There's only one thing on the bay that sounds like that thing.

Ausfish Platinum Member kingcray's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by MTAQ/BTAQ View Post
    We had MV Toorbul tie up at the Scarbie pontoon for 3 weeks , sticking out into the channel with a huge sarca anchor pointing out the front to trap the unwary as they tried to angle past it into the jetty - WTF
    Mate that thing was taking up the whole right hand side of the pontoon at the clontarf ramp on saturday and sunday also. Was thre sat arv, and still there when i came back sunday arvo.

Ausfish Bronze Member MTAQ/BTAQ's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like

I bet it will be there for 3 weeks - they are probably on a boating holiday getting free mooring at public pontoons on the trip.