+ Reply to Thread
Thread: Advice needed for Outboards
-
19-10-2012 04:44 PM #16
Re: Advice needed for Outboards
Thanks Walruslike and Apollo. Just got onto the tafe on the goldie, and they are going to call me on monday and let me know whether they still do that. Sounds like a viable option if so, as I'm sure they'd still do a good job. Thanks for the great advice.
Cuzza
19-10-2012 05:11 PM
Cuzza just a few questions did you take it in for a service because it now appears to have lost power since you purchased it, or did you just think it time to have it done. Reason I ask is about 8-9 years ago I had a 200hp 2 stroke and the compression was down a little I was told although the boat performed well. I saw the boat about 6 months ago in the bay and went up and asked how it was going and the same owner said it was just fine. sometimes as was mentioned above they just keep going.
Mark.
19-10-2012 07:32 PM
G'day Mark,
Nah mate, was going well, just thought we should get her a major service. That's the part I;m a little stumped with - she goes well! I'm more than willing to keep her ticking over, but I'm just worried about her going bang far from shore. In my gut it feels wrong to dismiss her as she is going well, but like I said, I know stuff all about motors, so I figured listening to the expert was the way to go. Dunno what to do. I called previous owner and he was shocked as all hell. Reckoned she was in great nick.
Cuzza
19-10-2012 07:51 PM
19-10-2012 07:54 PM
If you're not confident doing stuff yourself you should take it to Spaniard King, he has a very good reputation in here and I'm sure he would give you an honest opinion laying out your options.
6 cylinders all between 80-85 PSI on an unknown tester wouldn't worry me.
19-10-2012 09:15 PM
i've had 11 boats and compression test them all when buying....overall number doesn't worry me if they are all very close (i normally look for within 5psi and the engines runs fine) Really low would worry me but not at 80-85....I remember I had a 140hp johnson 2 stroke 1984 and it was low compression (measured around the 85 mark)...had it for 3 years not an issue, then sold it to my boss!!
He had it for another 5 years and used it every weekend...not an issue and sold it on.....as others have said I'd definately be getting a 2nd opinion, shouldn't cost much for just a compression test and opinion
20-10-2012 01:12 AM
Thanks, fellas! After talking at length with my mate tonight, we're definitely going to get another opinion. All these stories here are starting to give me some hope, 'cos like I said, she runs really well and seems to have plenty of power. I'll keep you updated with the results. Here's hoping. From memory, all pistons were between 86 amd 82. We were thinking of approaching an actual workshop, as we want it checked out asap. Anyone recommend a workshop, or you think another mobile mechanic would be better?
Thanks again.
Cuzza
20-10-2012 11:18 AM
I think Fed above gave you good advice. Garry is a ex Johnson mechanic and knows that motor backwards ( but now gone to the honda darkside) so tow it to him or have him drop in if you are close. Compression test is not rocket science and quick . A quick run on the water if near a ramp will quickly tell if it is going Ok and reaching max revs Ok.
Sounds a bit more hopeful with the seller still talking to you if he is genuine etc etc . Genuine blokes talk and scum tell you to go away unless he is a very smooth operator. He may be a backyard mechanic and not have known or done compression tests himself. Owners are often the last person to realise the perforrmance is dropping off as it happens slowly and with intermittant use goes un- unoticed. Low compression usually has symptoms like low power and hard starting .
20-10-2012 01:38 PM
Yeah Cormorant, he is fortunately a genuine bloke, and is waiting to hear how I go with the second opinion. He's really shocked about it all, and I know he isn't bullsh&tting. She seems to have had no trouble with power at all underway. Starting has been a little slow at times - four or five turns of the key, but she fires up ok and does really well underway, and idles fine without spluttering. No trouble with power to plane etc. Will be getting the second opinion for sure. Would definitely be keen to use Garry, but I'm north of Brissy, and may be a bit far to get him. Thanks again, mate.
Cuzza
20-10-2012 02:12 PM
Cuzza ,
Don't know where you are , however , if Garry does not come this far north , give Brisbane Yamaha a ring . I do not want to post their phone number , as I do not want to be seen as advertising on their behalf .
Shawn
20-10-2012 06:26 PM
No worries, Shawn. Just looking through places to try now, so will add them to the list. Cheers for that.
Cuzza