+ Reply to Thread
Thread: Boat licence
-
20-09-2012 06:21 PM #1
Boat licence
yep...... went for mine today and passed, no probs, well maybe only about which is the right PFD in what area, but that was sorted, so look out...

someone told me the other day that there are more important thing's in life than fishing, to which i replied..... what?
20-09-2012 08:37 PM
Re: Boat licence
Congrats wayno60, glad you passed. I did mine so long ago and was issued on a little piece of paper. I have never heard from Qld Transport ever since but I assume it is still current..Hope...??
20-09-2012 09:30 PM
Congratz Wayno. we will all have to look out now lol..
good on ya mate enjoy the wind in ya hair..
TEAM F.C.R.
20-09-2012 10:25 PM
I have one of those little pieces of paper licence also. Well mine is also attached to my drivers licence apparently.
I do have a question though if anyone knows. I am off to Sydney next month with my boat to fish the harbour for as long as a month and I wondered if I get stopped down there and have a Queensland licence, rego etc how do they know I have a licence as it doesn't actually say boat licence?
I could take my piece of paper I suppose.
Also my brother will probably tow the boat around a bit with his ute (NSW rego) and I wonder if the conflicting rego would mater?
20-09-2012 10:59 PM
Have a look at your car licence, it is normally marked on it.
I too got my "bit of paper' a long time ago. Lost it and asked the same question.
Never thought to look on my car licence.
Live to fish.
20-09-2012 11:36 PM
allanbruce52
mate there will be no drama at all. hell a workmate had his defender regod in qld and i worked with he had that in sydney for 5 years that i know of. allthe police computers are all linked now days.
and if your boat license is on your car license then you should be right. if you want, go get your paper one laminated and keep it with you. but should not be a prob.
if you are that worried, here ya go.email or phone them.
Maritime Info Line 13 12 56
(8.30am - 4.30pm, 7 days a week)
Email: enquiries@rms.nsw.gov.au
21-09-2012 04:31 AM
If you have one of the new style car licences, it will be marked on the back of the card. If you don't have the new licence, it will not be marked on your licence but QLD Transport should have a record of it.
21-09-2012 06:02 AM
Some of our finest dont know how it works. I was pulled over in Pumicestone Passage a couple of months ago for a license check and breath test, now I have had a marine license for over 10 years but it has never shown up on my actual license.
I was told this would be the case when I passed my exam and I have not had an issue until sargent blog pulled me over. She phoned the station who couldnt find the big RM next to my name on the computer and she threatened to fine me for being unlicensed.
I promptly (but nicely of course) told her that I would not pay any fine that was given to me as someone back at the station didnt know what they were doing. Anyway after taking my details she threatened me again saying that she would send the fine in the mail if it was found that I had no marine license to which I wished her a good day and left.
When I pulled the boat out of the water I went to the Bribie island cop shop found someone who new what they were doing and after an email wa sent all was sweet.
Cheers Axl
21-09-2012 06:19 AM
High Guys,
You can check your license status on line (for a fee anyway). You can print out a certificate as well.
https://www.service.transport.qld.go...MlvWelcome.jsp
fez
21-09-2012 06:19 AM
IF you have the "old" car licence it will appear on the front under the heading of Marine as RMDL (Recreational Marine Drivers License and PWCL for jet ski or Personal Water Craft License) - however, if you have the "new" microchip license it will be on the back - you show this when you go interstate of overseas except in the NT where no license is needed.
The lady that pulled you up in Pumicestone Passage should have looked you up on her computer which they carry onboard rather than ring the station - maybe she was new to the job. Thats why you do not need to carry the old paper license as in Queensland it is a "virtual" license, that is they have the onboard computer linked to Qld Transport database for on water check ups.
21-09-2012 07:16 AM
Cheers Axl
21-09-2012 10:18 AM
21-09-2012 03:07 PM
ol mate at the boat licence place said that i would have to get a brand new licence with the boat licence incorporated. i said that i have one of the new "not so smart licences" but he reconds i would still have to get a new one and 80 something dollars later....
someone told me the other day that there are more important thing's in life than fishing, to which i replied..... what?
21-09-2012 03:09 PM
ummmmm what hair???? the mrs is still laughing her head off......biatch!!good on ya mate enjoy the wind in ya hair..
21-09-2012 03:22 PM