OZ Craft 640 - Page 5
+ Reply to Thread
Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 LastLast

Thread: OZ Craft 640

Post Thanks / Like

Re: OZ Craft 640

Not long now. Just get out and enjoy her with the family mate.
    You can't be neutral on a moving train

Post Thanks / Like

Yeah, looking forward to it, stickes should be going on tomorrow. Anchor winch Wednesday, water test wednesday or thursday, final detail and handover should be thursday arvo or friday morning.
    Have weekend all planned
    Why Knot!!

Post Thanks / Like

So that's the old school F200?

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by cormorant View Post
    Seriously looking good and no paint and filler to cover up the usual and can change things over the years without having to repaint - good choice Bet ya have that tingling feeling. I think it will perform really well and hope you come back after it loosens up a bit an dtell us how it goes.

Just going to play the devils advocate for a second. Please don't take it the wrong way as I'm sure the dealer and builder are Ok and with the excitement of getting it in the garage.....I know the anticipation and you have big money invested with it now fitted out.

Make sure you grab all your serial numbers etc etc and get the bloody thing insured and also ( if it is not under finance) get your hull numbers, trailer numbers , engine numbers etc and register your interest and get it all registered into your own name if not already. Would hate to see you get this close and for something to go belly up.

Now sort of taking the piss but a serious undertone as well. People never want to comment on others dream boat or criticise design as you can imagine. It is not a big issue it is just something to be aware of with a limitation of that type of drain. Every boat has some limitation by design etc etc.
    They call that a scupper ?? ( said with crocodile dundee twang in the voice) That isn't a scupper it is a rainwater drain for when on dry land and will be interesting to see where the waterline is when fully loaded . Nothing worse than damp feet in winter. It has high sides and big bow on it so it won't ever be easy in normal use to get a big green one over the front unless you do a lot of bar work but if you do get water in on that big deck it may be a issue. It can't get out those pissly little drains very fast and you will have the drain plugs in? If you cop a big one you don't want water up to you ankles on the deck you want it either out the scuppers ( not a option) or you want it in the lowest point of the bilge ( giving you ballast stability) being pumped out at a million gallons a second waiting for the next wave. It is the "free surface affect" of water on a "self draining deck" that changes the center of gravity and causes boats to become uncontrolable wallow and flounder. You may already have a large drains that also go to the bilge if the water gets deeper than a inch or so at the transom or the builder may have done something else to counteract this like a small pit with a big pump in it at the rear of the deck. Is there any reason they havent done a 4 inch round burst scupper tube in either corner and leave the little pipes there as a rainwater drain?
    Hey cormarant are your eyes painted on the drain holes are 250mm above chine there not scuppers by the way dont see any scuppers on cruise crafts or haines hunters etc but then you are the expert with boats yes ???????

Post Thanks / Like

Smithy, Brand spanking new 2013 model 200hp 4 stroke Yamaha.
    So close now, carpet is done, winch has arrived.
    Water test Thursday Arvo with hand over booked for Thursday evening.
    The lads at Brisbane yamaha must be sick of me now, they have been really good allowing me to take photos and confirm details.
    Some latest photos from today.
    Sticker guy got the rego wrong so they are being replaced tomorrow.
    Cheers OZ
    Attached Images
    Why Knot!!

Post Thanks / Like

Didn't realise they were only doing the new 4.2 litre motors in 225, 250 and 300 then. Looks good!

Post Thanks / Like

Really coming together for you mate. Looks nice!
    I've run out of clever stuff to say, so... Umm...

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Smithy View Post
    Didn't realise they were only doing the new 4.2 litre motors in 225, 250 and 300 then. Looks good!
    Yes Smithy, the 4.2l is only the 225, 250 and 300, there was a few mods to the F200 but essentially the same as the old model, however there is talk about a new super lightweight F200 being released soon, apprently as light or lighter than the Yam F150 !!

Post Thanks / Like

1 sleep to go, 1 sleep to go, 1 sleep to go, 1 sleep to go.
    Bouncing off the walls.
    Looks like a good weekend for a true water test.......
    Why Knot!!

Post Thanks / Like

It's a great feeling huh. Enjoy mate.

Ausfish Platinum Member thelump's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like

Stoked for ya mate. Have fun. It looks awesome.
    Jason (Macca)

Post Thanks / Like

cheers guys, would be good if the weather gods played nicely this weekend.
    either way the family and i are going to have a ball.
    Why Knot!!

Ausfish Platinum Member WalrusLike's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like
    Fantastic feeling picking up your new boat.

Hope you have a great time with it.

Post Thanks / Like

Well what's it like

Post Thanks / Like

Ok Guys,
    Filled the hull with water at Brisbane Yamaha which produced a few fin holes!!
    Pins holes all welded and fixed this morning by the lads at Performance Plates
    Water test was great, got around 76klms at 5900rpm in the river.
    Went out into the awesome Moreton Bay slop, cruised nice into the chop at about 30klms and with the chop at 40klms.
    Think it will handle better with a belly full of fuel and some gear.
    On and off the drive on trailer was a breeze, trailer needs a little adjustment but was done today so should be even easier.
    Taking the Missus and kids out this arvo for a run in the Bribie Passage.
    Thanks to the wind gods, cant see myself going offshore this weekend, but plenty of time for that now.
    Oh and had NO sleep knowing the boat was in the shed.
    Will post up another report tonight or tomorrow about this arvos voyage.
    Cheers again to everyone for their coments and look forward to meeting you out on the water.
    DOnt hesitate to come and say hi, no Ausfish stickers yet, but will arrange next week.
    CHeers OZ
    Attached Images
    Why Knot!!