+ Reply to Thread
Thread: Hydrofield 5m
-
08-09-2012 07:44 AM #1
Hydrofield 5m
Hi Guys
Just purchased a mid eighties Hydrofield 5m Cougar tri hull... just boat and trailer...would like some suggestions on what to power with? I was thinking 90hp Suzuki 4 stroke extra long shaft. I don't think I would like to go any more weight wise, any other suggestions or advice on set-up would be appreciated. Cheers Pat
08-09-2012 02:15 PM
Re: Hydrofield 5m
gday patfink, i have a late 80;s/90 5mt hydrofield centre console with a 06 mariner 60hp bigfoot on it .i find it quite adequate for all purposes ,great on fuel with a top speed of 25/27 knots.if i replced it would look at a 4stroke 90 or 2stroke 75 depending on wieght .
08-09-2012 06:11 PM
Hi benji, what weight is the bigfoot? The only thing I'm concerned about is to not making it too bum heavy - the Suzuki 90 is I believe the lightest 90hp four stroke.... so if you're getting good performance from your 60hp it should fly with the 90. Any ideas on prop selection?
08-09-2012 07:48 PM
go for max HP. they don't like being under powered
08-09-2012 07:56 PM
09-09-2012 07:46 AM
mate i have no idea of weight compared to others but there woudlnt be much in it ,the bigfoot used to be a little slow out of the hole when i first got ,but moved most of fuel fuel forward of console.with batteries,fuel and esky and rear bench seat with 3 blokes there is a fair weight so it works hard,but really happy with performance and fuel efficiency,grat platform for fishing Attachment 83976
09-09-2012 08:34 PM
Can't open your attachment benji? ...... Really looking forward to getting mine on the water, one of the reasons the Hydrofield appealed to me was the great stability which the OH and two young deckies will appreciate and being 17ft...nice and easy to launch and recover single handed when required. Will post some pictures when all up and running.
09-09-2012 10:27 PM
Attachment 83983here is mine ,ex rescue boat i have had it two yrs and just love it for its stability and ride .motor only had 60hr when i bought it about 200 now, as i said happy with the bigfoot but probably go up in hp if was to upgrade the motor ,hope you have a ton of fun cheers
10-09-2012 04:21 PM
I found the 90 to be good, but the 115 was even better.
I am talking 2 stroke Evinrude where the weight didn't change.
90 4 stroke would be fine.
90 Etec would be good too.
10-09-2012 07:41 PM
10-09-2012 07:54 PM
Hi Pete
Yeah the Etec could be a good option.... so the 90 and 115hp are the same weight...that could be interesting with 115 on the backThe price I think would be a bit cheaper than the equivalent 4 stroke too. Will check them out. Thanks
11-09-2012 03:19 PM
Attachment 84044hows that
12-09-2012 04:13 PM
[QUOTE=benji64;1419302]Attachment 84044hows that[/QUOTE
Nope...still comes up with invalid link specified
17-09-2012 12:07 AM
hi Patfink,
i had the 5m awesome 5 late 99 with a 115 4 stroke suzi on it, i ran solas stailess on it and it was brilliant! the wt however made it a bit bum heavy due to twin batteries and live bait etc.
i suppose you can shift all of it to the front and it will help.
it used to get up and boogie immediately with that setup. i had XL suzi which was too long, shoulda have the L leg only as i had to use jacking plates.
it was a beauty of a boat that punches way above its wt and is unbeatable in stability or taking on bars.
unfortunately i had just sold mine about 3 weeks ago to get something substantially bigger.
for a 1-2 man, it was the perfect boat.
17-09-2012 04:58 PM
Hi live baiter
Thanks for the reply....just the sort of info I was looking for. I will take the boat out single handed a lot of the time so the 5m size seemed just about right for easy launch and retrieve and still like you say able to take on the bars and a bit of offshore work in the right conditions. Hopefully will be in a position to purchase
the new motor in a few weeks... so will check out all the specs re. weight and hp etc. If I went the 90hp Suzuki, which being a bit lighter than the 115 you had..what leg length do you think would be best ?

. Any ideas on prop selection?