F70 Yamaha fitted - Page 3
+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 8 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 LastLast
    Free Membership
    Post Thanks / Like

Re: F70 Yamaha fitted

Quote Originally Posted by the lump View Post
    Unreal Barra. Your fuel will only get better as it loosens up. The guy that installed my F115 said around 60 - 80 hrs and I would notice a difference. Didn't really believe him but since march I have put 75 hrs on it and the difference is very noticeable. Getting pretty consistent economy now and goes like a dream. Mine too had a vibration as yours does and at the 20hr service they adjusted the idle a touch and it is pretty good now.
    thanks Lump for the info about the idle being adjusted i will get them to look at it. i would say mine will be about the same as yours with the 60-80 hr mark.
    mine has its first service at 10 hrs i will have 10hrs up by the end of next week as i am off to summerset dam for a few days so it will get a good run out there..

Post Thanks / Like

you will find Barra it makes fuel

I am getting around 3 klms to the litre with it,,, but at WOT it makes a lot of noise
    The beer is the same on both sides of the boat

Ausfish Platinum Member wayno60's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like

Tang, which motor do you have.

Barra, Now you have inspired me....

someone told me the other day that there are more important thing's in life than fishing, to which i replied..... what?

Post Thanks / Like

have the F70A on a Cruisecraft 485 Explorer,

Post Thanks / Like

I hope to put one on my 455 territory

Free Membership
    Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Seahorse View Post
    I hope to put one on my 455 territory
    SeaHorse if you want to see what it is like on the boat let me know, will take you for a run so you know what it is like before you buy at least it will give you an idea on what it is like..
    at this stage next weekend would be good for me.. just pm me if you want to try before you buy lol.

Post Thanks / Like

Thanks Barra. Where do u normally leave from

Free Membership
    Post Thanks / Like

i normally leave from bribie island

Post Thanks / Like

Sounds like it goes nice barra. Might tell my bloke to do similar and have a permatrim ready...water test, props/height then whack the permatrim on if needed. The last donk on this rig benefitted from a foil so cant see being any different if mounted right. Couldnt be buggered stuff arsing about afterwards.
    Tx for the feedback...this motor must be selling a million around the worrld right now. Nothing comes close in this range.

Free Membership
    Post Thanks / Like

deckie this motor goes as hard as a 2stroke on take off and there is juat as much power in the midrange as well, i have only had it to 4500rpm and i know when you are at 4000rpm had hit to 4500rpm it just wants to take off.. cant wait to see what it is like from 4500rpm to 6300rpm range.
    As for the permatrim i think if you had to have one before you might need it again, i know it has helped my boat as i have the 60lt fuel tank, esky and gear at the back of the boat so that is like someone sitting at the back of your boat while you are taking off...

Post Thanks / Like

Hey Barra,
    Do u ever get out during the week? I will come over to bribie, no worries

Free Membership
    Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Seahorse View Post
    Hey Barra,
    Do u ever get out during the week? I will come over to bribie, no worries

hey SeaHorse i do get out during the week at times so i will let you know when i am going out next or free time to do so..
    i will be away for a few days camping/fishing then will be laid up for a few days so at this stage it would be more around the 18th - 19th some where about then..

Post Thanks / Like

Good choice on motor for that rig Barra and you got it $500.00 cheaper than I did 2 years ago....
    Have 210 hours on mine now and top speed is now 32 knots at 6000rpm [2 knots faster than new] and economy is around 3km/litre virtually at any speed.
    Flew out last trip due to good conditions sitting on 5200rpm at 28 knots and cruised home at 4200 rpm at 20 knots for 57 miles using 32 litres.
    I have a Seafarer V-sea 4.74m

Happy Days...

Scoota...

Post Thanks / Like

scoota which prop are you running mate?

Free Membership
    Post Thanks / Like

Thanks scoota for the info mate i think mine would be no diff to yours with fuel once it is all run and a few hrs on the clock.
    i will love the saving on fuel after the old 2banger use to drink it like soft drink...