Tinny Prices
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Tinny Prices

Ausfish Addict
    Post Thanks / Like

Tinny Prices

Been doing a bit of reaearch on buying a new Tinny Motor and Trailer.
    What i have come up with so far is a 4.00 metre boat with a 30 hp 2 stroke and trailer and there is no change left out of 10 k.
    Not cheap for a second boat to get around the creeks for a bit of crabbing and fishing.
    But i could be not up to date on costs these days.
    Troy

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Tinny Prices

A quick look on boatpoint showed Bluefin, sea jay, clarke, stessco, stacer, horizon all have boats in the 4-4.3m range with 30hp outboards for $8-8.5k drive away.

Ausfish Platinum Member Mossy247's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like

Yeah buddy will find some good deals around the 8K mark, I got one ready to go for under 8K. Clark 4.3 with 30 Merc 2 stroke.

Post Thanks / Like

there are a couple of allycraft 4.25 with 30hp on boatpoint that are under $8k

Post Thanks / Like

Yeah 10000 is far to much.

Post Thanks / Like

after a bit of shopping around lately, I reckon tinnies are cheaper now than they were say 6 years ago!, you see second hand ones for 8 grand, whereas you can buy a brand new one for that, I looked at the Savage "big boy" with a 30 and it was cheap as chips, also looked at Stacer and found they also had a range of good cheap tinnies, I guess maybe Telwater taking over the "big 3" (Stacer, Quintrex and Savage) might have something to do with it, the volume must make them cheaper (maybe) or maybe the Chinese are having something to do with it as well, who knows? whatever the case, the market is wide open at the moment if you are a genuine buyer.

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Noelm View Post
    after a bit of shopping around lately, I reckon tinnies are cheaper now than they were say 6 years ago!
    Yep I agree. In 1995 I bought a 4m Savage tinny with 30hp Tohatsu on trailer for about $6500 from memory and that did not include boat or trailer rego or safety gear, so to be able to buy the same thing 17 years later for only $1500 more is quite astounding.

Ausfish Addict
    Post Thanks / Like

I should have gave a bit more info as i was talking about new and the boat was a 4.2 Sea Jay with a 30 hp Suzuki 2 stroke for $9450 and up grade to a 4 stroke with power trim and tilt $14500.
    As i said i am out of touch with todays costs.
    Troy

Post Thanks / Like

Troy the prices I quoted above are for new boats in the 4-4.3m range with 30hp outboards. Of course they are basic tinnies with 2 stroke and thwart seats, if you want a boat like the Sea Jay territory with the casting deck, side decks and pedestal seats then $10k is around the mark. That is about what I paid a few years ago for my 4.1 Brooker Safari with 40hp yamanha 2 stroke.

It is a big step up in cost for the 4 stroke engine at that HP and as much as I would have loved it I couldn't see how the cost was worth it.

Post Thanks / Like

Just another thought re: the engine, there were heaps of tinnies around with the 30-40hp suzuki 2 strokes when I was looking but when I looked into these engines a bit more it seemed these are bottom of the range outboards even compared to the other 2 strokes so I stayed away from them. I don't believe there is any inherent flaws or reliability issues with them but from the reviews and comments I dug up they were louder, thirster and more basic than most.

Post Thanks / Like

I think in the 2-40HP range there is bugger all difference in any of the brands, they are all 2 or 3 cylinder with 1-2 carbies, and come with manual or electric start, some offer oil injection, some don't, if price alone was the deal breaker, then a Votex/Sail/Parsun/whatever would be considered too. depending on how much you are going to use the boat, and "IF" a lightweight 4 stroke was available, then maybe I would consider one in that size, but as it stands, simple 2 strokes rule the lower HP world.

Post Thanks / Like

prices have plumetted over the last couple of years, it goes to show how much profit must have been in these things at one time. for instance, last march i bought a 3.85m high sided stessco hull for $1600 brand new, i got a short shaft tohatsu 18hp for $2200 brand new, i did up a trailer that owed me $600. Add a cheap sounder, $100 rego, add a few bits like anchor/rope/little battery (which luckily i had lying around the shed) and then cut up a $30 piece of ply for a floor and i ended up with a top little creek/bay boat for around $5k registered with a bimini that never gets used. at the same time people were advertising similar boats with a bit more bling like carpet etc. that were 5-7 years old for anywhere up to $7.5k, ridiculous!

i agree with noelm, in the sub 25hp category the conventional 2 strokes rule, they're almost half the price and 10-15kg lighter. the only down side would be if some places/impoundments became 4 stroke or electric only, then you'd be stuffed. btw, the little tohatsu 18 is a ripper motor and damn good value.

something to consider if you have the time troy is to put it all together yourself and save some bucks, what i bought would have cost $6.8k if i'd bought it as a package. it would have had a better trailer but not an $1800 better trailer!

Post Thanks / Like
    I got a Clark pursuit 427 & trailer with a 40hp 4stroke electric start/ trim and tilt for under 14k from Karee Marine. Love the boat and so glad I went for the 4 stroke. Did 61nm (113km) from Raby Bay to offshore point lookout and back with 2 blokes and used 24 liters of fuel. Max speed was 29 knots. Worth the extra dollars I reckon.

Cheers Richo

Post Thanks / Like

for sure richo, once you get over 30hp it's getting into 4s territory depending what you want to do with the boat but for 25 and under you'd have to have a definite need to warrant the extra cash.

Free Membership Lightly Toasted's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like

9k-10k is about what you'd expect to pay, as already said.

I just bought a 4.4m SeaJay Magnum XPACK For $11550 (with a 2stroke 40 Merc). The plain Magnums with Suzuki's were cheaper though, If I remember right they were around $10500.
    Then dropping about $800-$1000 when going to the smaller models (4.2, 4.0, etc).

I do wish I went with a 4stroke though, but at +4k it wasn't justified.