sailfish reef runner5.8/shelf runner6.2
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

sailfish reef runner5.8/shelf runner6.2

been looking at boats again,the kevlacat is an awsome boat but am looking to down size a little in the cats.the new sailfish range looks good with big cockpit space for fishing/crabing out of.has anyone been on 1..am guessing the small honda's would be awsome on fuel being oly 60hp or 75hp on the bigger model..they seem to get along alright going by the rpm-speed figures i have seen with the bigger 6.2 shelfrunner getting 35knts+ at wot maybe put a set of 90's on it should really get it going..i guess the other big thing they have is the towing...just wonder what the ride would be like...going to really have a good look at these at the show ..any info from members would be great
    cheers rosco
    p.s will be hard to see the kc go but i think its going to happen soon

Post Thanks / Like

Re: sailfish reef runner5.8/shelf runner6.2

Rosco

have a look at the 6.2 Voyager Cat...very capable boat

http://www.gdmarineservices.com.au Call for a great price on a New Honda outboard, Engines In Stock Now !!!

Post Thanks / Like

thanks mate will do..i looked at them last year,forgot about them..the one at last years show was bought by a contractor we use..

Ausfish Premium Member dan12345's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like

what about a smaller kc?

Post Thanks / Like

nah mate not keen on the 2100 kc or the 5.2.the 2100 you cannot walk around the side decks to the front and the 5.2 is just to small and cannot justify $100k+ for a 5.2mtr boat

Ausfish Premium Member dan12345's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like

yeah i know what you men about the 2100 I'm not a fan of not being able to walk around the front either,an the 5.2 is a great boat but like you say bit steep.those voyagers are a really nice looking boat. I've tried to like the sailfish cats but they just don't do it for me in the looks department,but each to their own i guess

Post Thanks / Like

I reckon a painted cat would be a pain for you with all the crabbing you do rosco unless you had 1 built with a nylac finnish
    So now youve had the kc would you want to own a mono again?

Post Thanks / Like

At the end of the day they are still alloy. They bang a bit more and have that alloy sound. You also have all the alloy probs like Soulfish has said above and condensation in the cabin when overnighting that makes them so cold. They are less dippy-divier than a KC. I can only compare a 5.5m Sailfish with 5.2 and 6.2 KCs and the word of a guy who has had 5.2 and 2400 KCs and a 6.5m Sailfish. Another alternative would be to get onto Jason at Caloundra from Offshore Marine Master. He does what he calls a Jaycat. That way you could go the custom option of Nyalic or no paint.

If you wanted to go a bit smaller for easier towing get an old 6.2m and repower it and put an alloy trailer under it. I have heard the 2400s are missions to tow with Cruisers. The 6.2s might be that bit smaller and lighter.

Post Thanks / Like

kind of thinking those motors are way too small for any decent sort of performance, I have owned an aluminium cat for years, and they are OK, but don't be fooled, they still need power, a pair of 60's would be a slug.

Post Thanks / Like

thanks for the feed back fellas,the 2400 kc tows fine with the new bt50 i have...it easily sits on the 110k/hr speed limit down the coast.

soulfish i hear ya bout the paint,be hard to go back to a mono mate will look at all my options b4 i go back i recon.cats are such a great ride imo...

Post Thanks / Like

Roscoe, just go the Noosa Cat
    The beer is the same on both sides of the boat

Post Thanks / Like

ya read my mind tangles,going to have alook at soulfish 2700 noosa cat tomorrow arvo just to see one up close..prob go to the 2300 if i can find 1 at a good price

Ausfish Bronze Member Snapperscott's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like

How much you looking for the KC?

Post Thanks / Like

around the 115k mark

Ausfish Premium Member Boat Hog's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like

Rosco, before you downsize, do yourself a favour and tow that cat up to 1770 for a trip out to the Bunker Group. After that, you won't be looking to downsize!

(probably want to go up in size )