90 HP merc optimax do they have any issues.
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Question 90 HP merc optimax do they have any issues.

ausfishers

Looking at a 90 hp Optimax, with smart craft guages (not sure why there special) for a 17 foot halfcab. Don't much about them any thoughts tips or experience with this type of engine and any feedback on smart craft gagues would be appreicated.

Big E

Ausfish Premium Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Re: 90 HP merc optimax do they have any issues.

Mate i run twin 90 Opti on my 8m and they are excellent, I also run twin 115 on 40 boats in africa, and of all the engines (both 2 stroke DFI and 4 stroke) i have used the optis are the only ones that are still going.
    The gauges are good if you are after fuel summary ect, i have not had any problems with over 40 sets of them in the last 2 years

Post Thanks / Like

Chang
    Thanks for the feedback sounds positive any issues at all with the opti's how do they compare to the 4s on fuel usage?

BigE

Ausfish Gold Member
    Post Thanks / Like

I have a 200 Opti on the Trophy (21 footer) never had a problem with it , she will use about the same as any 4 banger on the same boat/load.

So happy with it over the last 4 years I installed a 250 Opti on my Grady White.

Smartcraft are great I wouldn't be without them, so much info on them, 2 gauges have everything on them from fuel usage ( instant and average) to water pressure, volt, revs, speed ( paddle wheel and pressure) distance travelled,, water temp, air temp, oil level , fuel gauge, and heaps of other stuff, you name it and its capable of it.

Post Thanks / Like

I guess (to me anyway) the only negative is the size of them, for a 90HP motor, they are HUGE! but very few problems these days.

Post Thanks / Like

Had mine for 6 years. Serviced yearly. No issues so far. Same weight as Yamaha 80/ 100. A bit heavier than Honda 90 and Suzuki 90 but not by much. Etec and Tohatsu are lightest.

Post Thanks / Like

WRX
    sounds like you like the smart craft guages, how do you use them on you boat, what difference do they make to how you drive your boat.

Post Thanks / Like

blusta
    what are you running your opti on , how does it go and whats the fuel useage like. what do you like the best about it and whats the worst thing about it?

BigE

Ausfish Platinum Member Moonlighter's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like

I tak it you are looking at a new motor?

They are good from all accounts. Very fuel efficient.

But compared to others they are:

1. Physically big, noticeably so!
    2. Heavy, at a min weight of 170 kg. the Suzuki 90 is only 155
    3. Noisy, sound like a cement mixer is on the back of your boat!

I would look at the Zuke if possible.

My previous boat I had a Tohatsu TLDI 90, similar technology to the opti, but smaller and lighter, just 143 kg. very good on the juice and Japanese quality.

But the Zuke would be nicer!

ML
    Stress: The adverse reaction that occurs when your brain overrides your body's basic desire to choke the living $hit out of someone who deperately deserves it....

Ausfish Gold Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by BigE View Post
    WRX
    sounds like you like the smart craft guages, how do you use them on you boat, what difference do they make to how you drive your boat.
    I monitor everything on my engine with them, I monitor instant fuel consumption , sometimes I will drive for economy but mostly not as I have a huge tank (326 lt on trOPHY AND 348 ON gw), however I know at what RPM I get the most miles for a given amount of fuel. I have tried several props, the best for fuel economy is Enertia , the best for lifting the bow is Vensura but she uses 10% more fuel that Enertia. I wouldn't know any of that without smartcraft!! They are digital and very acurate once they are calibrated so much so I know exacly how much fuel she will take to fill up. Monitoring water pressure I know when the impeller needs changing.
    Voltage will tell me if I have a problem with my electrics, as for batteries I load test them once every 6 months .
    The warning system on them is second to none , it will tell you what the problem is . The oil level gauge will tell you how much oil you have on the main tank ( I don't think 90 hp will have 2 tanks) .

As others said, they are NOT a quiet engine by any means, 4 bangers are much quieter at low to mid RPM , top end not a lot in it.
    As far as 90 hp goes they are very heavy , you can get others much lighter but in my case both 200 and my new 250 are light comparing to other brands.

Post Thanks / Like

My boat is 5 metre though substantially less at the waterline because its sharp bow rake (awesome for getting in and out of as it hangs over the beach or ramp) Savage fibreglass runabout originally a Rayglass design from NZ I reckon just by looking at it and comparing to Whittley Sea Legends which I believe are Rayglass moulds. It is quite strongly built. I mainly fish in rivers so I do lots of short trips. I average about 2.3 km to the litre but cruising the Smartcraft gauges tell me I get about 2.8 km to the litre. The gauges are excellent. I don't mind the sewing machine sound at idle. Starts easily always though you will need a battery of 900CCA. Some say 800 but Cunninghams put a 900 in it. That battery is now out of the boat as a spare for jobs around the garage and still goes strong (6 yrs). Prop is a 3 blade solas 19 inch which I have found is the best allround. I would like to try a Mercury 18 inch three blade. The weight is near the max for my little boat I would prefer a lighter weight there. But as a generalisation the engine is easy to live with. Depending on wind direction you may get a whiff of two stroke smell though this is not common. The more it is used the better it seems to run. Say three days in a row and it seems to sweeten up. I used premium fuel because it may sit a while between trips; maybe I am happier to be out three days in a row! Yes it is large to look at but you get used to it. The oil bottle is up u nderthe cowl not in the boat making it larger as well

Ausfish Gold Member Goodoo haven's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Moonlighter View Post
    My previous boat I had a Tohatsu TLDI 90, similar technology to the opti, but smaller and lighter, just 143 kg. very good on the juice and Japanese quality.

But the Zuke would be nicer!

ML
    I had a 40hp Tohatsu TLDI on my current boat and I loved it, especially the fuel economy of it. I now have a 40hp Zuke on it because I do a lot of trolling and the 4 stroke handles that a lot better. But the Tohatsu TLDI motors are a beautiful motor.
    Cheers, Doug.

4.2 metre Stessco Bass Tracker
    40hp Suzuki 4 stroke
    Minn Kota iPilot

Love to use Kingfisher lures or Viva Lures when I am out fishing.

Post Thanks / Like

As a follow up if I had bought the 115 then 170 Kg is the norm; some brands heavier. so basically the same weight as others. All i want is a reliable engine. If it wasn't I would get rid of it.

Post Thanks / Like

Moonlighter
    yep looking at a newie, haven't sussed out a tohatsu TDLI are they similar to an opti?

BigE

Post Thanks / Like

WRX hoon

Smart craft sounds like a good thing the extra cost is abit of an off put though.

BigE