kevlacat 2400 anchor
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Ausfish New Member
    Post Thanks / Like

kevlacat 2400 anchor

I have recently purchased a kevlacat 2400 offshore, it came with a sacra anchor that looks to be to small. As I fish the capricorn bunker group where there are strong tidal runs I was wondering what size sacra anchor I should have.

Ausfish Gold Member Back In Black's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like

Re: kevlacat 2400 anchor

What size is it?

Post Thanks / Like

I have just fitted a stressfree drum winch to my 2400 and have set it up with the number 2 sarcha, i have brought the number 3 as well but think i will take that back, a mate has a 2400 as well and he has been running the number 2 for a few years in tide and overnight no dramas, plenty of chain is the trick i am running 8mtrs short link 8mm, went out and set the anchor to try out the new winch, blowing about 20 knots, went for a dive and when we checked the anchor the boat was bobbing like a cork fairly hard, but only the first metre of chain was lifting off the sand so the number 2 should be fine. What 2400 did you get? have you had a cat before? Mine scared the absolute sh#t out of for the first few months but know i am used to it i love it!!! will now officialy sell the Seafarer!!!! Regards Mark

Post Thanks / Like

Mark,
    I run a size 4 on my 8.4m cat with 8m of 10mm chain. When I upgraded the anchor, I upsized the chain in length & mm, & I reckon the heavy, longer chain, like you say, does a lot of the work.

Ausfish New Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Hi Mark, thanks for the feed back. I have only taken it out once so far so I have not done much anchoring with it. It has a stress free drum winch with rope and 8 meters of 8mm short link chain. The boat is a 2006 model 2400 offshore with twin 140 suzuki 4 strokes. And it frightened the st#t out of me first trip, but I was told to expect this by mates who own cats.

Post Thanks / Like

Apachecat & hilta 1- what did you guys do to scare the *@?! out of yourselves?

Post Thanks / Like

Didnt do anything drastic, just the feeling of the cat was so differnt to what i was used to, this was soon rectified by playing with the trim etc. Now i cant believe how good the ride is!!! did drop a sponson into a trough when coming back with a rear quarter sea on the third trip out!!!!!! now that did scare the crappers out us!!! but realy wasnt the boats fault it was me because i had the trim all up the s##t!!! And also we were probably in seas that you wouldnt normaly head out in, but because it was new we had to try it didnt I !!!! The forecast was for 30kn wind and a 4mtr roll, and later in the day the wind picked up! So wasnt realy enjoyable! Love Tassie weather!!!!lol

Ausfish New Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Fist time driving a cat and turned into corner a little to tight, thought we were going over. Also running side on to a swell and was not ready for one sponson to drop out from under me, but you get used to it.

Post Thanks / Like

I've just bought a KC 2400 offshore too, what fuel figures are you guys getting? What do think the best way to trim correctly is?

Post Thanks / Like

i have mine on between half and 3/4 up on the trim guage.

Post Thanks / Like

choc, im not an expert yet but what i have been told and have been doing seems to work, i run the motors with a fair bit of trim up, ive got yamahas and on the trim gauge they show about three quarters, but basicaly if they cavitate trim in until they stop cavitating and that is around about where i have been running them, then if you are say running with a rear quarter sea coming say towards the port side of the boat, trim the starboard side motor in a little bit or the port motor up, basicaly if the starboard sponson is dropping tilt the port motor up or put more throttle on the port motor and visa versa. Hope that isnt to confusing??? let me know if it doesnt make sense i will try to explain again. So what cat did you get? second hand or new? there seems to be a few sold recently off boat sales etc.

Post Thanks / Like

Sounds like we have ourselves a little cat club happening gents!!! lol

Ausfish Premium Member Muddy Toes's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like

Starting to sound like a bunch of adolescent boys with all this pussy talk...

Post Thanks / Like

shut up muddie you wish you had a pussy.lol....following sea drive it as hard as u can i do.lol.best tip i can give ya is if ya on a side on swell and you start to feel the sponson digging in the troff .give the steering a quick pull down the wave will lift the sponson back up and level ya back up dont turn into the wave or your pants will be full as she will dig in more.oh and drive it harder
    cheers rosco

Post Thanks / Like

Gee I'm glad I don't have a cat. I'm pretty sure I like my fishing without having the cr@p scared out of me!