6mt fiberglass boats $50-$60k range
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    Ausfish New Member
    Post Thanks / Like

6mt fiberglass boats $50-$60k range

Hi Guys

just got back from the boat show and noticed the Crawford Marine stand with the Savage range of boats. Their new 640 cabin looks great and the overall quality looks better than other similar sized boats in the price range i.e baysport 640

I couldn't find much info on the savage boats, only know that the hulls are made in china but come with 10yr warranty on hull, 5 on the engine. The Savage 640 was selling from $53k http://www.fibreglass.savageboats.com.au/cabin640.html

Any thoughts? Also, what other 6mt+ boats in the 50-60k range do you guys recommend? I've seen there are new Seafarer Vanquish and Vigour models too but don't not much about them or seen them in person.

Ausfish Premium Member mull dog's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like

Re: 6mt fiberglass boats $50-$60k range

The seafarer models are just rebadged versions of the haines traveller models. they are made by the same mob in the same factory. Personally, after the horror stories on here, would stay away from anything made in china. There are many Australian made boats of that size in that price range to be considered. Also secondhand higher end boats of that size will also be in your price range ie cruisecraft and haines
    Too young to know, too old to listen...ignorance is bliss

Post Thanks / Like

They look the part and price seems pretty keen but I just wouldn't buy a boat that I couldn't see getting built by one of our local reputable builders, a few horror stories out there and when I am 50kms or more out to sea in less than pleasant conditions I want to feel confident the thing is going to hold together. The drowning, screaming, family being eaten side of things bothers me a bit. Not like you can just pull over safely and call the RACQ.
    Good second hand would be a better option for me if I couldn't afford a new locally built one.
    Just me but I doubt if I would ever buy anything other than good Aussie or Kiwi built boats.

Post Thanks / Like

Plenty of guys on here rate these
    http://www.boatpoint.com.au/boats-fo...spx?R=11737402

Brisbane, Queensland, Australia, Australia
    Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by romaniac View Post
    Hi Guys

just got back from the boat show and noticed the Crawford Marine stand with the Savage range of boats. Their new 640 cabin looks great and the overall quality looks better than other similar sized boats in the price range i.e baysport 640

I couldn't find much info on the savage boats, only know that the hulls are made in china but come with 10yr warranty on hull, 5 on the engine. The Savage 640 was selling from $53k http://www.fibreglass.savageboats.com.au/cabin640.html

Any thoughts? Also, what other 6mt+ boats in the 50-60k range do you guys recommend? I've seen there are new Seafarer Vanquish and Vigour models too but don't not much about them or seen them in person.
    I looked a few chinese boats before I bought mine and after some research I wouldnt touch one if it were 20K.

Very happy with my Baysport for the money. Have you looked at the Yaltas they seem good value, I didnt buy one as I wanted a walkaround boat and with the extras I wanted it was pushing the price up into another bracket.

Post Thanks / Like

If it was me I would opt for a Haines Hunter 560, big boat for it's size and a real weapon as a fishing platform. Worth a look. Saw a 2011 model with the works $60.000 at port phillip boats in Vic, you would probably be able to haggle this time of year and maybe get a better deal. I considered the 6mt edencraft but went for something else, good boats though. You should be able to get a really nice rig for the $ you have.

Ausfish New Member
    Post Thanks / Like

A chinese made boat would have to be pretty well priced before it rocked my boat. A good hull is going to cost 25-35g, plus motor plus trailer. So it would have to be 10-12g for chinese hull, any more and someone else is making a killing! My neighbour has been given the oportunity to import some hulls at these very low prices. Can't see how you could treally stuff up hull manufacture to the point its dangerous. I would be looking at the SS fittings, they could be cheap grade!
    on balance,Go HH, at least you know what you are getting
    Just my biases and prejudices

Post Thanks / Like

Hey romaniac, check these out.
    http://www.boatpoint.com.au/boats-fo...spx?R=12877368
    aussie made in brisbane and you can then decide for your self what type of motor etc you like. If you want some details let know and I can forward you the info I got from the builder.

Post Thanks / Like

Got one of these great fishing boat save youself 10k and load it up with some good electronic's. Sleeps 3 adults no worries in the cabin.

http://www.boatsales.com.au/boats-fo...spx?R=12832664

Post Thanks / Like

Mate joint the Yalta club and have money to spend on extras

Post Thanks / Like

Had a look and the first thing i noticed was the windscreen had big fisheyes in it the mold quality didnt seem great no t very smooth .the transom design wasnt very space or user friendly .overall untill they have been test driven im guessing there are a lot more well known aussie names that would be a better bet .

Post Thanks / Like

Whatever you get you're in a buyers market with that type of money to spend. Try out a number of different boats a see what you reckon suits you best. I would never consider a chinese made boat after some stories I've read on here.

No point making things idiot proof, they'll only make a better idiot.

Post Thanks / Like

I Can get you into a realy good seafarer victory! i will see if i can get some pictures on here or pm me with your email if you like, Regards Mark

Ausfish New Member
    Post Thanks / Like

thanks for your suggestions guys, I'm looking for a brand new boat and want to buy from a dealer so that rules out any 2nd hand ones. I'll stay away from the chinese made hull's given the amount of negative feedback I'm hearing. I like the look of the Seafarer Vanquish and given it's made by Haines the quality should be there. What are your thoughts on something like this.... http://boatpoint.com.au/boats-for-sa...spx?R=12736906