+ Reply to Thread
Thread: Hard to start Diesel
-
03-06-2012 04:19 PM #1
Hard to start Diesel
Have an 4.2 hjz 75 diesel which is a pig to start when cold.
Battery ok, and it's been pogressively getting worse every year
After it turns over then it's fine
Anyone have any ideas as to what the, issue may be
03-06-2012 04:30 PM
Re: Hard to start Diesel
Put new glow plugs in it
92 MU, 91 MU ute, 90 MU
Australia's loudest MU
MY SITE MY YouTube SPL 152.3dB
If beef is in beef mince, What is in pet mince?
03-06-2012 05:36 PM
03-06-2012 06:29 PM
Cheap as chips
http://www.roadrunneroffroad.com.au/...10-137889.html
http://www.autopartsspecialists.com....HZJ75-1HZ.html
But check to see if your getting 12V to the bar that connects the glow plugs first.
I intend on living for-ever....so far so good
03-06-2012 07:02 PM
hi.wait untill you hear a relay click then start,not when the light goes out.it will be after the light goes out.cheers
03-06-2012 07:12 PM
A mate has been having a similar problem. Looks like it could be the stop solinoid or the injector pump. Yours does sound more like the glow plugs though.
No point making things idiot proof, they'll only make a better idiot.
03-06-2012 07:13 PM
03-06-2012 07:22 PM
Mate diesels rely on one thing to have combustion HEAT.
Remember using a push bike pump as a kid how hot it got, Glow plugs are only fitted for cold climate starting where it takes longer for engine components to expand increasing engine compression causing more heat thus more bang
In saying that your fuel requires to be atomized correctly via the injector tips, so without bogging you down in how a diesel works here is a heads up what to do.
Any diesel repair shop worth spending a dollar at will have a compression tester that fits in the glow plug holes unless the preheater unit is an internal element in the air intake manifold.
So yes glow plugs will help start a tired engine on cold mornings,injector tips are normally diagnosed by excessive white smoke on start up which will return once engine cools again.
If its starts ok all day after initial stating it is more than likely glow plugs, as stated by others it can be as simple as a fuse,broken wire or glow plug timer.
hope this helps
Dick
03-06-2012 09:05 PM
Also check all of the glow plug nuts are tight along the power supply bridle, if one is loose it will interrupt the rest from working as they should.
03-06-2012 09:19 PM
Cheers for the replies, once it starts,may run a tad rough if I Haven,t start for a couple of weeks otherwise every start thereafter even after I shut it down and restart, it starts straight away
Motor has 360K on it and have never touched the glowplugs
04-06-2012 08:03 AM
They'd be a good thing to check then I reckon.
Start at the simple common things and work your way up instead of the most difficult and work your way down.
First: check voltage at the strap and then at the top of each glowplug (on the terminal post of the plug not the strap. This will check connections as Jack has suggested). If crook investigate reason further as a crook timer or crook relay or bad connection somewhere is possible
2nd: Check glow plug operation. If crook simply change.
Info for these procedures can be easily found on the net.
3rd: We'll go there if need be.
I intend on living for-ever....so far so good