Inskip M&G - Page 4
+ Reply to Thread
Page 4 of 10 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 LastLast

Thread: Inskip M&G

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Inskip M&G

need a date gentleman! so i can book it in. Im personally waiting for a weekend of good weather and ill be towing my tinny up the beach and launching at dbl island to fish the closer in stuff. so IF!!! i get the chance of some good weather ill let yas know how i go or dont go!

Ausfish Premium Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Sounds like the Tin Can Bay Ramp it is then......
    We can all follow Apollo to the Bar (his shout)

As for a date how about we make it the 30th June and play it from there, But I am in favor of whenever the conditions allow.. Super keen for a fish up there so bring it on boys and Muddy..

I might need a deckie for this trip but will post closer to the day if need be.

Ausfish Premium Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Some tide times for the weekend of the 30th and a few after it..

Saturday 30th June (good tides)
    0456 2.47 High
    1109 0.56 Low
    1756 2.96 High

Saturday 7th July (tides not great for returning)
    0511 0.57 low
    1102 2.54 High
    1654 0.65 Low

Saturday 14th July (tides good)
    0448 2.10 High
    1058 0.85 Low
    1741 2.62 High

Saturday 21st July (tides fair for return around 5.00pm)
    0351 0.61 Low
    0944 2.49 High
    1543 0.53 Low
    2202 3.08 High

Post Thanks / Like

need some of this bloody good winter weather! come on where is it!!!!

Ausfish Premium Member Muddy Toes's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like

I'm a goer.....got my annual leave sorted to fly back a couple of days early this time so please get the weather sorted for us all Brett.........or at least try this time.

And as a bit of an after thought too........I've never fished up there before but I'm sure all you great blokes wouldn't let me drag my boat all the way up there without any idea where to start looking.

Ausfish Platinum Member cobiaman's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Muddy Toes View Post
    I'm a goer.....got my annual leave sorted to fly back a couple of days early this time so please get the weather sorted for us all Brett.........or at least try this time.

And as a bit of an after thought too........I've never fished up there before but I'm sure all you great blokes wouldn't let me drag my boat all the way up there without any idea where to start looking.
    You can tell your back at work now, constantly on ozfish...

Ausfish Premium Member
    Post Thanks / Like

I am hoping that Reefmaster (Greg) will help us all out and add some advise to areas we should hit this time of the year or better still join us at the M&G...

Muddy, good to see your finally getting your priorities right and sorted that boss out...

Free Membership
    Post Thanks / Like

If anyone is looking for a deckie on the day let me know i would love to come out with you guys and see first hand how bar crossings are done..

i am ok for the 30th... but then away for a fishing trip at the whitsundays for a week, will be staying at Hideaway bay caravan park.. just look for the van and boat if you are there drop on in and say hi..

Post Thanks / Like

Getting closer and no activity for 6 days ????

TCB boat ramp is ideal launching. Plenty of parking, shops around, water / tap, VMR handy, well defined channels and pontoon.

I have slept in the boat at ramp , for a pre-dawn launch before with no issues.

Good thing is that it is a 16.5 k trip to the start of the bar ( inside marker ). Plenty of time to sort rigs, de-frost bait, quaff down a hot chocolate etc and a smooth ride to boot.

Same goes for return trip, once inside the bar and around the point, an easy 15 - 20 minute run back to ramp has crew washing up gear, sorting rubbish, stowing rods ( checking length of Reds ), etc.

Springwood to Gympie ' Gold Nugget ' ( Caltex Truck Stop just before Gympie ) is 2 hrs towing the rig at speed limit.. A further 53k's and you are at TCB boat ramp.

Here's the ramp.

here's all ramps.

Here's the roads in.

OH.

If you have no marks for fishing grounds.

Start here:-

S25.51.125......E153.12.828

and work out to

S25.48.153......E153.14.790.

The above are NOT specific locations for catching fish, but are simply starter marks.

The area around the first mark will hold Snapper at this time of year. It's around the 45 mtr depth. Berley and floatline for them during the day. The wider mark is best fished on the bottom, finding structure first. If you fish within 5 k's ( circle ) of these places, you will put scaley things in ya esky.

At this stage, I am in. I will also lead the bar crossing " convoy " if required.

cheers LP
    Last edited by Lucky_Phill; 11-06-2012 at 05:40 PM.

Post Thanks / Like

This is roughly....... the track out over the bar. squiggly line is outter bank.... it will stand up there....

LP

Post Thanks / Like

Nicely done Phill. Depending on the date, depends on whether I can make it or not. If not, I should make a social visit.

Ausfish Platinum Member lucee81's Avatar
    Brisbane 1 week a month - Jabiru 3 weeks a month....
    Post Thanks / Like

Phill's going on about it getting closer but 4 pages later and i cant make out what date was settled on......

( 30th June ......... edited by me )
    Last edited by Lucky_Phill; 11-06-2012 at 06:55 PM.
    I prefer not to think before speaking. I like being just as surprised as everyone else by what comes out of my mouth.

Ausfish Premium Member Muddy Toes's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Lucky_Phill View Post

Springwood to Gympie ' Gold Nugget ' ( Caltex Truck Stop just before Gympie ) is 2 hrs towing the rig at speed limit.. A further 53k's and you are at TCB boat ramp.

Just some friendly advice is that dark glasses are advised if following me for that long on the highway.......the risk of epilepsy is great.

Ausfish Premium Member
    Post Thanks / Like

I am looking at hopefully heading up on the Friday fairly late so I don't have to sit in the crap traffic...
    I don't know how anyone can travel on that road 5 days a week, I drive it a bit on Fridays and it often takes 2hrs to go from the gateway bridge to Bribie exit.
    Your better off leaving lunchtime or around 7.00pm to get a half decent trip up.

I don't know about you guys but my better half is praying for some good weather also, she is sick of me annoying her on the weekends.

Post Thanks / Like

Mate Iwould be looking at doing the same leaving about 1.30 friday arvo will need to talk to Bruce & Tim see if this works I know what you mean about the better half she is trying to book me into watching cheerleading comps ,,,, huey needs to pick his act up Cheers bill