Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: 4 Blade stainless results,Good or Bad?

4 Blade stainless results,Good or Bad?

Had my Bluewater 5.3 alloy boat reproped by Scotty before shit whent pair shaped for him and others.
    Have gone for a few runs whit it now and im just not sure if its right,so this is how it whent.200l fuel 2 blokesaround a 100kg each 20l of water and all the usual bullshit for a days outing.So the df 140 with Permatrim and a four blade stainless 13,19 prop results are
    4000rpm-28km
    5000rpm-43km
    6100rpm-57km
    Steve from solas chose tha prop to suit long range trip carring plenty of extra weight.
    Are theis figures ok or is their room for improvement? Engine has been lifted to correct position and a foil has been placed on the old girl,the engine that is!!!
    Any feed back would be great!
    Cheers Chris.

Re: 4 Blade stainless results,Good or Bad?

gday chris

just wondering why have you got a foil on it,i had one on a motor i used to have it had a 100 on it and a 4 blade solas i personally found it went better with no foil and used less fuel aswell.

cheers mal

Quote Originally Posted by Squidlet View Post
    Had my Bluewater 5.3 alloy boat reproped by Scotty before shit whent pair shaped for him and others.
    Have gone for a few runs whit it now and im just not sure if its right,so this is how it whent.200l fuel 2 blokesaround a 100kg each 20l of water and all the usual bullshit for a days outing.So the df 140 with foil and a four blade stainless 13,19 prop results are
    4000rpm-28km
    5000rpm-43km
    6100rpm-57km
    Steve from solas chose tha prop to suit long range trip carring plenty of extra weight.
    Are theis figures ok or is their room for improvement? Engine has been lifted to correct position and a foil has been placed on the old girl,the engine that is!!!
    Cheers Chris.

Geez did you leave the handbrake on?
    Confidence.......the feeling you get before you fully understand the situation.

Quote Originally Posted by The_Tub View Post
    gday chris

just wondering why have you got a foil on it,i had one on a motor i used to have it had a 100 on it and a 4 blade solas i personally found it went better with no foil and used less fuel aswell.

cheers mal
    Mal the foil was put on just to get the boat up on the plain a little quicker when fully loaded up,but im still not sure if its a good thing or not.
    Cheers chris

Quote Originally Posted by Dan5 View Post
    Geez did you leave the handbrake on?
    Does feal a little lethargic yes dan is the foil? is it prop?....What the?
    Cheers chris.

Squidlet,

Results of prop testing with a DF140, 08 model with the changed gearbox, on a yalta 55HC (6.0 LOA glass).

I tried a number of props on my boat to get it to where I want it, the following is GPS and fuel flow meter accurate. The last one in Green is what I chose in the end as best overall performance.

Speed in kilometers per hour from GPS

Suzuki 13*21 - 3Blade Speed
    1000 5.5
    2000 10.3
    3000 15.4
    4000 33.3
    WOT 59
    Hole shot > 5 seconds

Turning point 14*21
    1000 6.9
    2000 11.8
    3000 16.2
    4000 38.5
    5000 51.4
    WOT - 5700 58.2
    Hole shot > 5 seconds

Solas 13*19 - 4 blade -uncupped Speed
    1000 6.4
    2000 11.3
    3000 16.4
    4000 35.3
    5000 48.2
    WOT-6000 60
    Hole shot 2.2

Solas 13 7/8 * 21
    1000 6.5
    2000 11.5
    3000 16.5
    4000 36
    5000 52
    WOT 5800 60.8
    Hole shot > 5 seconds

Solas 13 7/8*19- 3 blade Speed
    1000 6.5
    2000 10.7
    3000 15.3
    4000 32.2
    5000 45.7
    WOT -61500 60.5
    Hole shot 2.2

Solas 13*21 - 4 blade Speed
    2000 9.4
    3000 13
    4000 21
    WOT N/A
    Hole shot N/A

Solas 14 1/8 *18 - 4 blade Speed Fuel LPH
    1000 6.8 1.4
    2000 10.9 5.8
    3000 16.4 11.4
    4000 36.3 17.4
    5000 49.6 26.8
    WOT-6000 63.5 40.1
    Hole shot 2

Honda

Mate I have a 5.5m glass boat with a 140 on with a 19 x 13-7/8 3 blade my top speed is 32knts-62km/hr and have never used more than 80l of fuel for a full day out at least 140km 3 guys and esky full of fish.
    I would ditch the foil and recheck leg height

I agree with Dicktracy, on the fuel economy, we regularly do 140-180k trips using on average 70litres of fuel or less, the difference between a glassy offshore day and a hard day at work ofshore is approximately 4 liters of fuel.

Honda

Quote Originally Posted by Squidlet View Post
    Have gone for a few runs whit it now and im just not sure if its right,so this is how it whent.200l fuel 2 blokesaround a 100kg each 20l of water and all the usual bullshit for a days outing.So the df 140 with foil and a four blade stainless 13,19 prop results are
    4000rpm-28km
    5000rpm-43km
    6100rpm-57km
    Cheers Chris.
    Hi Squidlet your probably going to dissagree but its not the motor or prop its the shape of the hull plate alloy boats are not designed for speed trials the are for there ability to be knocked around a bit . most of the newer boat builders dont put planing strakes on but not sure if thats the case with your boat . these naval architect designs ?????? are big bulky hulls that seem to be glued to the water . I own brand new suzuki 140 on 1900 bluewater half cab heavy lay up glass 180ltrs fuel all the fruit 14x21 std alloy prop getting 64klm per hour @ 6000revs ringing its neck .This post is not to bag any piticular boat but just pointing out some facts . Alloy hulls as we see them today really have a maximum speed if you need to talk please feel free to pm me cheers ROD

Quote Originally Posted by honda900 View Post

Solas 14 1/8 *18 - 4 blade Speed Fuel LPH
    1000 6.8 1.4
    2000 10.9 5.8
    3000 16.4 11.4
    4000 36.3 17.4
    5000 49.6 26.8
    WOT-6000 63.5 40.1
    Hole shot 2

Honda
    I can't seem to find this prop on the Solas website - was it custom made for you?

Quote Originally Posted by rodneyk View Post
    Hi Squidlet your probably going to dissagree but its not the motor or prop its the shape of the hull plate alloy boats are not designed for speed trials the are for there ability to be knocked around a bit . most of the newer boat builders dont put planing strakes on but not sure if thats the case with your boat . these naval architect designs ?????? are big bulky hulls that seem to be glued to the water . I own brand new suzuki 140 on 1900 bluewater half cab heavy lay up glass 180ltrs fuel all the fruit 14x21 std alloy prop getting 64klm per hour @ 6000revs ringing its neck .This post is not to bag any piticular boat but just pointing out some facts . Alloy hulls as we see them today really have a maximum speed if you need to talk please feel free to pm me cheers ROD
    Cheers for the reply bud,cant disagree with ya as this is your opinon and thats what im looking for,the hull does have planning strakes will get a photo up of the engine height soon so you can see the set up,it does just feal slugish! i dont want a speed boat,the foil from what i have read can have an effect on topend but give better economy.
    Cheers chris.

Hey Chris.
    I think I have the same hull(17 deg) with a DF115. IMO they look fast but are not compared to others. Dont have to tell you about the ride though. I did about 50hrs prior to lifting the fitting a bw foil. The foil helped heaps with holeshot, but definitely provided noticeable resistance through the water. Then we lifted the motor two holes. It's now one hole from the top. This brought the speed back up to my satisfaction(55Klm/hr wot). Still on the Suzuki prop. I haven't got any detailed numbers on rpm & speed, but it is on the cards with a view to experiment with props. Hope this helps. Dan.

Ok so here a few pic of the set up,originally it was down two holes,so it was lifted and a Permatrim attached not a foil as said before,my bad.
    Any thoughts out there?
    Cheers Chris.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Quote Originally Posted by Dantren View Post
    Hey Chris.
    I think I have the same hull(17 deg) with a DF115. IMO they look fast but are not compared to others. Dont have to tell you about the ride though. I did about 50hrs prior to lifting the fitting a bw foil. The foil helped heaps with holeshot, but definitely provided noticeable resistance through the water. Then we lifted the motor two holes. It's now one hole from the top. This brought the speed back up to my satisfaction(55Klm/hr wot). Still on the Suzuki prop. I haven't got any detailed numbers on rpm & speed, but it is on the cards with a view to experiment with props. Hope this helps. Dan.
    Gday dan,did your 115 come with a 21size prop,thats what i had on originally great top end speed up around the 70km mark but with full weight on board just would not get up or reach the 6000rpm mark.Mate the hull itself handles unreal soft and dry!
    Cheers Chris.