+ Reply to Thread
Thread: Elliott heads advice
-
09-03-2012 09:43 AM #1
Elliott heads advice
Hey folks,
Going to house sit at elliott heads for easter this year and not sure whether or not to tow the boat up. Never been fishing there before.
Have read all the old posts and it sounds a bit hows ya father regarding tides and water levels in the elliott river. 5.5m glass c/c suited to estuary/inshore tho. Just wondering if anyone has advice on navigating the area or whether i just go landbased. Also is there a yabby bank or areas where livies hold in the river.
Any help would be great cheers.
09-03-2012 10:24 AM
Re: Elliott heads advice
Best of luck as I have been to the caravan park three times and the sandflies are pretty prolific. As for Yabbies there are plenty in the creek. We fished the creek near to mouth for three days and never got a bite. It surprised me as I thought it would have been full of undersize whiting good for fun with kids but not so and we were there just leading up to Easter one year. We fished around the front near the swimming enclosure and got a few nice whiting.
09-03-2012 03:55 PM
The advice about the sand flies is spot on but they are even worse at the boat ramp at Riverview that you would have to use. With a boat of your size at least an hour either side of low tide will have you in difficulties although there are no rocks to be concerned about in the channel. At Easter i would expect the run of snapper as well as Grunter bream to have started on the Artificial which is easily accessible via the Elliot river which has it's ocean access on the southern arm now. The shallowest part of the river is at the starboard marker just to the east of the Riverview ramp. The channel is on the opposite side that the marker indicates you should travel. Plenty of yabbie banks but not many fish of any note that i have ever seen land based.
Regards to all Dick
18-03-2012 11:48 AM
Better to take a 15 minute drive up to Burnett Heads and launch from there. Some good spots not too far out off shore from there and deep water access 24/7.
19-03-2012 11:17 AM
Thanks for the tips. Doesnt sound like a top spot. Think i might just take the rod only. Try off the stones out the front.
Thanks anyway
19-03-2012 11:43 AM
Mate the elliot river is bloody marvelous. Definitely worth taking the boat. If you want to go outside I'd suggest launching from Buirnett HEads as Goldfish says - but the mouth of the elliot has just been dredged and I'm told it's pretty good. I'd go the Burnett tho just for piece of mind (in case it blows up etc) if going outside.
Whiting, bream, jack, flathead, salmon - even the odd mackerel, queenie and barra (not to mention crabs). Very nice clean sand-bottomed river - and quick to clear up after a fresh (much, MUCH quicker clearing than the Burnett).
The Elliot does get a bit dry in places at low tide, but no problems at high.
I would very definitely take your boat. Quite a few nice ( and deserted) picnic and swimming spots as well if the fishing is crap.
21-03-2012 04:39 AM
Hi Teejay24, There is now a pontoon near the refurbished concrete ramp. A few jack being caught off it with live bait. Tide really roars in so you need to take care when launching your boat that you don't end up being washed into the aluminium walkway that goes to the pontoon. Much safer to use the gravel ramp a few hundred metres upstream. The locals prefer that one. The pontoon/walkway I believe is going to be moved as it is way too close to the ramp for safety and a number of boats have damaged their top hamper when swept under the walkway. We have been here for almost three weeks. Weather has been fairly crook so have not done much fishing. Maybe will have a serious go at catching a feed later this week before it turns bad again., Elliott definitely good for boating. Plenty of mangrove lined creeks to poke about in on the tide. Don't know much about the yabbie banks. I believe they are there but seems to be a bit of a local secret. Seems they are no longer where they used to be found. Bring heaps of Aerogard to keep the sandflies at bay. Hope you catch more than us. Actually you only need to catch one to do that!! Best of luck. Cheers!! David.