Thread: Is a 9 weight fly rod any good?

Is a 9 weight fly rod any good?

As you may have gatherd I am new to fly fishing.
    After reading posts I have come accross of contradiction with the weights and messures in regards to ;

8wt Heavy Largest trout and salmon flies, bass and saltwaterOver 12 lbs. or 1X Useful for: Windy conditions, 6-15 lb. trout, heavy tippets

then theres this;7X-2lb - 6X-3lb - 5X-4lb - 4X-5lb - 3X-6lb - 2X-7lb - 1X-9lb - 0X-10lb - 12lb - 15lb

one says to me 8 wt is near 15 lbs then the 2nd says 7x is only 2lbs

you see I am about to pick up my new second hand fly combo
    a the add reads:

Orvis Fly Rod and Fly Reel

Both rod and reel have had very little use. The reel is in excellent condition with floating line on. The rod is 9 weight and 276 cm long. The the reel is 10/11 weight. Quite a versatile rig. Has only been in freshwater a couple of times.
    The cases are great and the rod case is steel.

I belive this to be a good brand, but now I'm having doubts on the weight class.
    What would this combo be best used for???

Here are some photos.
    If you look at the 2nd in the middle it look like a joiner, when I spoke to the bloke thats selling it to me he says no breaks so, I ask you what do you think of the join and the rig??
    Attached Images Attached Images

Re: Is a 9 weight fly rod any good?

9 weight is saltwater fly ........the 10wt reel will be ok but you need to have 9wt fly line on it.

I'm no fly fisherman guru but i do use a 9wt for barra/saltwater fly...........bit heavy compared to the trout gear but it's a diffeent ball game altogether with a completly different casting style.

Dan
    Confidence.......the feeling you get before you fully understand the situation.

k 9 weight is a very versitile fly rod as you can use it for bass and you can use it for river and in the river it is a bit heavy and you can use it outside for tuna