Plastics vs Bait Meet & Greet (Offshore Moreton) Help Needed
Closed Thread
Page 1 of 8 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 LastLast
    Banned
    Heading to Mud on top of my blow up Artificial girlfriend
    Post Thanks / Like

Plastics vs Bait Meet & Greet (Offshore Moreton) Help Needed

Ok guy's, rosco and i reckon its time we made a plastics vs bait meet and greet for the offshore fisho's. There's always plenty of banter on here between plastic guy's and bait guy's so i reckon the event could be good fun. Nothing is set in stone yet as we need ideas on how to get this event organised.

A few ideas i have are -

Fishing to be done from hutchinson shoal area to point lookout
    Dead baits and soft plastics only, no knife jigs, trolling or livies

Not sure what categories to run maybe -

Best fish overall on bait or plastics (this will be the grand prize)
    Best fish on plastics
    Best fish on bait
    Ugliest snapper on bait or plastics
    Biggest pearly

It would be good to get some prizes for each category, maybe a $10 entry fee per person and all money recieved could go towards prizes. I'm not made of money but i am willing to purchase $100 worth of 7" gulps for the "Best Fish on Plastics Award". My boss at work may sponsor a few cans of plasguard too for all catergory winners. It's a plastic conditioner that keeps perspex boat windscreens in top shape, also good for your front and side clears, and good for cleaning sounder/gps screens plus many other uses. It's not much but i guess the more prizes the better.

Since the fishing is from hutchies to point lookout there wouldn't be any way of making a meeting point so it would just be everyone confirming to me over the UHF that they were out there ready to fish. I could put everyones name in a book and tick everyone off once they confirm there out.

The meeting point at the end of the competition for the weigh in could be somewhere on the inside of moreton, maybe just north of the tangalooma wrecks or something.

Anyway let me know what you guy's think and we can start planning this event if theres enough interest.

cheers tim

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Plastics vs Bait Meet & Greet (Offshore Moreton) Help Needed

Rosco a real test, you should drop a few spanner pots on the way out loaded up with nuclear chooks and see if plastics really work

good luck fellas

mike
    The beer is the same on both sides of the boat

Post Thanks / Like

Heya tim yea that would be awesome...would there be teams and if so, well i think they should have names for there teams...depending on how many would be keen "Myself" and Team mate would we just be able to fish 1 or the other or can teams use both? (S/Ps or Bait)...

Billy

Post Thanks / Like

nah mate i think the bait will get over the line...be nuc chook sambo's for all the plastic fisho's..followed up with donuts as thats all these blokes catch.lol

Banned
    Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by BillyT2382 View Post
    Heya tim yea that would be awesome...would there be teams and if so, well i think they should have names for there teams...depending on how many would be keen "Myself" and Team mate would we just be able to fish 1 or the other or can teams use both? (S/Ps or Bait)...

Billy

Team names for each boat sounds like a good idea

I guess if each boat just chooses either plastics or bait it would probably make things easier.

cheers tim

Banned
    Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by rosco1974 View Post
    nah mate i think the bait will get over the line...be nuc chook sambo's for all the plastic fisho's..followed up with donuts as thats all these blokes catch.lol

If Scalem and i team up we may see if Goldfinch wants to jump in with us, then we will show you how the plastic boys fill the esky

cheers tim

Post Thanks / Like

i just read scalem's meet and greet for this weekend and he's takin pillies..those plastics must be real good..

Post Thanks / Like

Awesome idea, I'm in....SP team for me....I cant even remember how to bait a hook. Winter snapper season?

Post Thanks / Like

Id be keen if someone had a free spot on their boat (will happily chip in for fuel).

Banned
    Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by rosco1974 View Post
    i just read scalem's meet and greet for this weekend and he's takin pillies..those plastics must be real good..

Yeah they are for my lunch mate

Haven't you tried pillies on crackers...."Bloody Beautiful"

cheers tim

Banned
    Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Crunchy View Post
    Awesome idea, I'm in....SP team for me....I cant even remember how to bait a hook. Winter snapper season?

Yeah i was thinking in a few months time when it cools down a bit

cheers tim

Post Thanks / Like

Yeh, for no other reason than it's a bit hot out there right now

Post Thanks / Like

TimD,

does that plastic guard protect those plastic nuke chooks from the underwater beasties? as $100 bucks of gulps won't last long
    The beer is the same on both sides of the boat

Post Thanks / Like

Tim . You can make some jigheads as prizes.

My boat is strictly BAIT. Those latex condoms can stay home.

I only fish with the reel thing

Banned
    Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Aigutso View Post
    TimD,

does that plastic guard protect those plastic nuke chooks from the underwater beasties? as $100 bucks of gulps won't last long

Mike stop talking crap

If your a great bait fisherman get onboard with another baito and suprise us at the weigh in

cheers tim