+ Reply to Thread
-
09-04-2012 11:29 AM #16
Re: People interested in Off Shore Blue Eye Trevella
So, as a question from someone who has never done anything like this, what exactly do you on a charter like this? Seems like apart from baiting hooks and drinking there really isn't much to be done. That doesn't sound too bad and all, and some different fish is always nice but I feel like i'm just missing the appeal here
15-04-2012 11:57 AM
Basstones,
You can bring your own rod and reel capable of going down 600 feet or similar then wind it back to the surface. You wont be able to feel any bites as it's too deep.If your using monoline there will be a big bow, then there are currents, bottom current as well as surface and midwater. Blue Eye is good eating, good for the heart. Blue Eye can be large or small, its luckydip.
Spend a few dollars as you will then experience first hand and then you will know and understand, For those people who have never done this themselves and tell other fishers what they think it is then its all hype and speculation.
I've done this heaps of times on dropliners at the Barco and Taupo SeaMounts...Where is that do you ask?
Yeah, its halfway between Port Stephens in NSW and Lord Howe Island, a bloody long way and we worked 1,240 feet deep...hydraulic winches.
Bondy
15-04-2012 02:17 PM
Cheers Bondy, glad you realised I wasn't really trying to talk it down, just get a little more info. I can totally appreciate how the required equipment changes at that depth, I just don't/didn't understand how that translates in to a group charter where everyone is involved. If it's anything like that video, it seems like there's only really work for one or two people and the rest is just spectating.
Anyway, it's something I definitely want to try one day, just not sure if a charter is the right setting. I'll pass this time but if I have the $$$ spare next time you guys are organising one I might put my name downTight lines
15-04-2012 06:17 PM
Basstones,
I've never done it either, but I LOVE eating Blue eye, so I thought I'd find out how to go about it. Ive been told on another thread here that you get Blue Eye off Mooloolaba, just keep going east. When we fish off the Hards, we are only a few nm off the shelf, so does anyone know if you pick them up out there? Thats why I thought I'd do the charter & learn what to do & the gear needed.
16-04-2012 12:18 AM
Back in Black,
G'day mate, You can get them off Mooloolaba, Gold Coast and Tweed Heads area on any known SeaMount in those spots. I would assume most sea mounts would have blue eye, bar cod and green eye dogfish (Green eye shark). it's the only shark that has a spine next to the dorsal fin and towards tail fin. If this stabs you it can be infectious, great eating shark otherwise. Only managed to get green eye dogfish at about less than 1 metre in length.
Elecrtic Reel set up is not cheap and its a fair distance offshore hence the fuel required to get out and back. I would not recommend doing such a trip in a vessel less than 36ft for comfort. Then again thats my comfort zone
16-04-2012 05:37 AM
Bondy,
Gaven (Hookinin) says there is a seamount a few miles east the Barwon Banks, a decent rise showing which he reckons would hold Trevalla. As he said, get a chart & have a look. 36 foot!! You do have strict comfort requirements don"t you!
Thanks for the info,
16-04-2012 11:11 PM
Back in Black,
Seamount off Barwon Banks would be about right, I'm sure Google Earth would be able to pick it up too but not as good as an Admiralty Chart or now called AUS Chart. I might look into that one also.
I'm not getting any younger and just getting over a bad back so bigger boat is the go for me for offshore. I've been caught in cyclonic seas and big swells when Ex Cyclone Nancy and Low depression from the south converged upon us where we were, took a good 24 hours to get home. The vessel I was in at the time was 72ft, steel suction hull, handled well but still hairy trip.
Bondy
18-04-2012 08:46 PM
If Gav is talking about the imaginery 100 fathom circle that shows on all the electronic and British Admiralty charts it is not there. It shows just east of what we call the dog leg which is a big kick in the continental shelf just south of all the Noosa Canyons, east of the Hards. The true seamounts start about 90-100Nm east. The dropliners out of here are working the ones off Byron/Ballina. One is only a 32' Steber. One trip he lost his electrics and had to navigate home on compass.
28-04-2012 11:59 PM
G'day Smithy,
Wow, thats a hell of a longway out for electrics to shit itself and come home by compass alone. I assume he would have a paper map (AUS Chart to go by) Good Seamanship skills nevertheless, well done.
Smithy, I'm still keen to get out with you one day, just a matter of time,
Bondy
18-05-2012 11:33 AM
nowornever,
What date did you booked in for?
Bondy
18-05-2012 12:36 PM
Bondy,
I'm sure its the 7th July. I'm booked on it but I need to reconfirm the date.
23-06-2012 11:01 AM
Back in Black,
I wont be able to confirm my spot until 28th or 29th June at the earliest.
I hope the sea has died down and is comfortable to fish on the day we leave.
Bondy
24-06-2012 12:50 AM
Back in Black,
I'm confirmed and ready to go on 7th July. We only need 3 more people to make the trip a goer
Bondy
24-06-2012 07:18 AM
Come on guys, with all the threads going on of deep dropping, I thought we'd have no trouble filling a boat. Even nowornever, who started the thread, isn"t going, so for you blokes who have been following along talking about getting out to try this form of fishing, but are concerned with having a suitable safe boat, equipment etc call Gary @ Frenzy Charters 32094576 & book in for the 7th July.
Bondy, if nothing else, we will be able to post (hopefully) some pictures of some ooglies!
Who else is booked in guys?
24-06-2012 10:48 AM
Back in Black,
Nowornever has pulled the pin hey, oh well that's his loss, guess he will miss out on the those tastey critters of the deep.
As far as I'm aware of only 3 people are needed. This is an opportunity of a lifetime for those that have wished they could, this cannot be missed so take the plunge
Bondy

If your using monoline there will be a big bow, then there are currents, bottom current as well as surface and midwater. Blue Eye is good eating, good for the heart. Blue Eye can be large or small, its luckydip. 
Tight lines