Evakool - top shelf price - bottom shelf service - Page 3
+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Re: Evakool - top shelf price - bottom shelf service

Well it's Wednesday night and still no fridge or advice when it might turn up. Looks like I have to take another day off work and 200km round trip - this is getting really tedious.

Morningside - happy to be living in Qld but go the BLUES!
    Post Thanks / Like

Just a comment ....... what makes you think that an Evakool fridge was going to be a better choice than either a Waeco or Engel ???? - A fiberglass esky with a bolt on compressor Vs fully integrated and purpose designed fridges.
    I looked at them ..... and just couldn't seriously consider one!

Ausfish Premium Member TheRealAndy's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by NAGG View Post
    Just a comment ....... what makes you think that an Evakool fridge was going to be a better choice than either a Waeco or Engel ???? - A fiberglass esky with a bolt on compressor Vs fully integrated and purpose designed fridges.

An esky designed for ICE, with a fridge compressor to replace the ice??? I reckon the evakool with the bolt on would be better. I own a waeco, that I have repaired about 5 times, and is currently sitting broken in my garage (powersupply fault, PSU fixed but not reinstalled). You reckon the waeco is better? My hot chilli dunger poly esky of ebay shits over the waeco in the insulation department. (PS, I lol at you all who buy heat absorbing dark color eskies, white is the only way to go).

I have plans, to make my own esky out of polyethelyne, lots of insulation plus and danfoss compressor. I reckon I will end up with an evakool first!!! The concept is there, its good, and I reckon mobs like evakool have the better product. Problem is, small company, local product, impossible to beat the chinese import. I am sure they try to keep all happy, but there is always going to times where they will fail.

Post Thanks / Like

Chris....Evacools use Danfoss compressors..the exact same ones Waeco use, the key diference being that Waeco put theirs inside nicer looking packaging...and take up valuable space! In essence, a Waeco is an Evakool, with a box and compressor bolted on, but you dont see it!

Liltuffy...yes, it is still a shame you're not getting what you need. Maybe when you next call them, also let them know that this thread is alive and kicking...combo of good and bad press for them.....they need to occassionally be reminded that the world is watching!

Hope you get sorte mate....I'd lend you mine, but I'm not game as you seem to have bad luck with them

Ausfish Silver Member Toddy_again's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by moondancer View Post
    Chris....Evacools use Danfoss compressors..the exact same ones Waeco use, the key diference being that Waeco put theirs inside nicer looking packaging...and take up valuable space! In essence, a Waeco is an Evakool, with a box and compressor bolted on, but you dont see it!

Liltuffy...yes, it is still a shame you're not getting what you need. Maybe when you next call them, also let them know that this thread is alive and kicking...combo of good and bad press for them.....they need to occassionally be reminded that the world is watching!

Hope you get sorte mate....I'd lend you mine, but I'm not game as you seem to have bad luck with them
    Thats exactly what I was thinking.Different configuration and digital thermostat but same compressor.
    The digital thermostat is now offered by EvaKool and so is a swanky new box.
    I dont know a lot about refrigeration but they appear to be the same to me.
    And as far as bang for your buck goes the Evakools win every time IMO.

Toddy

Post Thanks / Like

Chris, they make a really good esky (= excellent insulation) and bolt a danfoss (= the best) compressor on it, why wouldn't you consider them??, seriously they work very well.

Talking to owner at a local camping shop last week cited an example of Waeco being "fridges" only with no real freezing capacity and dealer/customer support for Engel being almost non existent.

I don't regret my original decision

Banned
    Post Thanks / Like

now gentlemen..danfoss do make a good compressor, however that is only one part of the refrig system..if all the other components are not up there in quality then I don't care what compressor is on it..it still won't do the job. Way back in the dim dark past I did some engel warranty work..mainly truckies using them..bloody things kept shaking the pipes on the condensers..mongrel things to repair.

Post Thanks / Like

Spoke to the crew up there twice today and the unit has reached despatch ready for courier pickup tomorrow and delivery Monday, because the unit was now deemed warranty (on the first fix I believe) the process for repair and return becomes bogged down in paperwork ( four days of paperwork - worse than a Government Dept ).

The fix described was a new vent arrangement and end box, being an engineer I enquired as to how that fix could influence the compressor run time from running continuously to a 50% run cycle cause I couldn't understand.

Chap up there who was quite attentive on the second call (his name taken but bears no matter for this issue) took the time to listen to the original problem and offered to remove the unit from despatch and run it to see if the compressor actually cycles on and off as it should - can't believe that they are now actually trying to diagnose the problem instead of just replacing bits of equipment ad hoc without actually checking to see if the fix solved the original problem.

End result is they want to hang on to the fridge for a few more days to see if the problem has actually been fixed.

Christmas is fast approaching

Ausfish Silver Member softplasticsdude79's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like

its a shame that some of the home refrigerator companys dont develop a mini portable fridge,i couldnt imagine an electrolux fridge breaking to quick.

Morningside - happy to be living in Qld but go the BLUES!
    Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by softplasticsdude79 View Post
    its a shame that some of the home refrigerator companys dont develop a mini portable fridge,i couldnt imagine an electrolux fridge breaking to quick.
    not these days ..... I was a supplier out to the Electrolux Orange (NSW) plant for years - went from quality local components to cheap imports - then they moved a good proportion of their range to China.
    10 years ago - The Westinghouse brand was sensational = today ????

Post Thanks / Like

Had my evacool 12v fridge for over 10 years. Never had a problem. Foam filled fiberglass insulates better than plastic or metal. On the really hot days the Engels and waecos won't keep up with the evakools.

Ausfish Silver Member softplasticsdude79's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like

not these days ..... I was a supplier out to the Electrolux Orange (NSW) plant for years - went from quality local components to cheap imports - then they moved a good proportion of their range to China.
    10 years ago - The Westinghouse brand was sensational = today ????

i work with fridges now and have done the last 5 years,samsung-lg-toshiba and other well known brands still outnumber westinghouse/electrolux branded fridges by at least 10-1 as far as faulty returns go.

Post Thanks / Like

Had the fridge back a week ago now. Compressor appears to be still running 85% of the time and flattens a 90Ah deep cycle in 36 hours. Keeps the beer cold though eh Macca?

Still no where near as good as what it used to be or in my opinion should be.

Anyone else out there with an 85 Evakool care to comment on battery life and cycle times??

Ausfish Platinum Member thelump's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like

Yes beer was cold. And cheap too!
    Jason (Macca)

Ausfish Platinum Member Alchemy's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by liltuffy View Post
    Had the fridge back a week ago now. Compressor appears to be still running 85% of the time and flattens a 90Ah deep cycle in 36 hours. Keeps the beer cold though eh Macca?

Still no where near as good as what it used to be or in my opinion should be.

Anyone else out there with an 85 Evakool care to comment on battery life and cycle times??

I had one in my last boat for 4 years. I ran it off a 120 a/h battery with a solar panel. Give it a couple of days of rain/no sun and I would have a flat battery. Your 36 hrs out of a 90 a/h battery sounds reasonable to me. From memory it would about 4 amps when cycling. If the compressor runs 50% of the time then 18hrs x 4 amps = 72 a/h over your 36 hr period.