+ Reply to Thread
Thread: Barwon Banks M&G ?
-
19-02-2012 06:29 PM #391
19-02-2012 06:34 PM
Re: Barwon Banks M&G ?
Top effort Jason in very trying conditions and some nice fish as well.
Cheers Bull
19-02-2012 06:42 PM
Well done to all the boats that got out to the banks, good to see you were rewarded with some fish.
19-02-2012 07:24 PM
so fellas when and where is the next one .had a ball .
19-02-2012 07:45 PM
Very Very well done Jason......good to see you got out to the banks and caught fish in such trying conditions.
19-02-2012 07:52 PM
well boat & gear all cleaned & put away. sorry didnt get to meet you all on friday night we were a little late getting there i think around 11ish
woke up 3.30 sat morn blowing heaps so went back to cuddy for more sleep,woke at 5 & most of you were gone,so we decided to head out to the 8 mile.caught a few there & one of you on the radio gave me the co-ordinates for Murphy's (thanks) but when it statred bucketing down we stayed put. anyway about 11am we decided to head out to the banks. We passed a couple of you on your way back in i tried to call you on 76 but didn't get through? well what a great afternoon & evening and early sunday it turned out to be,we caught squire to 2.5 kg 1 on nuclear chicken,pearlies, RTE, parrot,coronation trout,maouri cod,moses perch,a few good hussar, 42 good keepers.& we fished the same spot all the time. i will post some photos tomorrow. this was my first time out in the Patriot in shitty conditions & i couldn't believe how good it handles them, previously owned 625 outsider & 685 explorer good boats but don't compare in the way they cut through the water,to those i did meet thanks for making me feel welcome. Cheers John S (Tick The Box)
19-02-2012 08:01 PM
19-02-2012 09:03 PM
We got to the boat ramp at 2.45am and the collection of Ausfish boat gathered were all quiet except the sounds of snoring over the 20 knot breeze we were greeted by - oh well let the sleeping beauties rest and get out there to enjoy the conditions.
Mal, Graeme and I went to the river mouth and it seemed calm enough so we shot out and headed to
Chardons just out from Noosa. It was a slow enough trip with the plan to be trolling sunrise for a big spaniard or wahoo - but silly us we forgot to tell them to be there. So after stubbornly wasting some hours trolling we headed out to Hards.
On our way there, apart from the numerous rain squalls, the sounder showed a good bait school so we put some yakkas, slimies and pink things into the livebait tank then did the last 15k to Hards. The place was ours - no one else there at all!? So all those fish to just us
People's approach was generally - Mal focused on livebait, where Graeme favoured the plastics with big sweetners on them and me the good old paternoster with mullet fillet and squid.
Having left the boat ramp at 3am we boated our first fish at near mid-day - had to wonder why I got up so early. I got a nice little snapper tjsnap.jpg
Mal persisted with the livebaits and scored some remarkably small pearlies considering the size of the livebaits - greedy things. Then big mama pearlie came along - pic below
Mal was rewarded handsomely for sticking with livebait - but it was an easy choice really in 70m to a good looking reef pinnacle.
We had a friendly dolphin hang about most of the day and I recon did pretty well from us with mullet offcuts and the occassional returned fish.
At one stage we were visited by a school of mahi mahi and Mal threw in a handful of pilchards to keep them interested and Graeme cashed in on the event with this nice fish pictured below - there were a few yeehaas and laughs whilst all the mahi action was illuminated right before us. He then scored a double hook up on one rig with them doing their acrobatics next to the boat and beneath the fish on the surface some much bigger models all lit up.
I caught a couple of tuskfish and another snapper. Mal had an unstoppable and then scored this little fish - put a bend in the rod and a number of grooves in his thumb turning him from the bottom. Went hard first up and easier in mid-water and was suitably rewarded. Mal had a two hook rig and felt the first hook pull early in the fight but the second circle hook held good. Some say they don't taste so good - well our family had some beer battered for dinner and it was nice - so thanks for that Mal.
malamber.jpg
We worked several more pinnacles after this good one shut down and just a few more fish came aboard, so at about 6.30pm we decided to head South to the Banks - got there 26km in about 45 minutes and it was empty too - everyone gone. It was now just about dark and we were tired from a long day so we headed in the 50km to ramp just after dark. On the trailer - tired but content finishing the day with some friendly banter over a coke then off home.
In hind sight we would have done better going straight to Hards and not trolling but had we got one of those spaniards . . . would have been different.
Sorry we missed most of you guys, but we had a mini M&G. Did the miles, got some fish and had a good outing.
Most of the day was 10-15knots - the start was worse. We had some squalls late morning and mid arvo was very pleasant. Travelling was on average 30kph on a bumpy but okay sea - rarely airborn and all travelling done sitting down. Used about 150l of fuel - boat 6.25m centre cab and motor Suz 175hp 4 stroke.
Trev
20-02-2012 09:10 AM
20-02-2012 09:47 AM
so when are we giving it another crack???? the only thing that let us all down was the weather so that's no excuse not to plan the next attempt....
cheers Rob
20-02-2012 09:54 AM
Attachment 77123heres a few of the keepers
20-02-2012 09:58 AM
Attachment 77124The handsome crew of Tick The Box
20-02-2012 11:40 AM
Thanks to everyone who turned up for the M&G, Top effort guys...
The BBQ on Friday night was a great idea. We might have been a bit optimistic though considering the 10-20knot winds forecast. atleast we all got to meet up and have a beer or 6 and a good laugh. I have been told its not always about the fishing but getting away and catching up with some crazy like minded individuals off a dating website, whoops I mean a fishing Website...
I never got my brakes working on the Friday after running around like a chook with its head cut off. So I headed up to the M&G with the intention of whore myself out as a deckie on Bulls boat, but ended up getting a better offer for a ride on Robs Cruisecraft 625 Outsider... Top boat and handled the conditions well.
You guys that headed wide, it certainly paid off for your efforts by boating some really nice fish... Inclose there were some nice fish caught but they were few and far between.
095rat, John sounds like you guys had a top trip and scored some nice fish, Mate how long did it take you to get out to the banks in that tub of yours ?? nice boat mate, for a Haines !!
Trev mate, Top effort and thanks for the report and pics, would have been good to have a beer. but maybe not at 3.00am
Sunday I ended up getting my brakes working. Its amazing how things work better if you take your time and don't rush to do a job... I hooked everything back up as I had it on Friday but now its working perfect...
One thing I have learnt from this weekend is that I need to put a tool kit together and leave in the back of the cruiser with spare bearings (2 sets) and grease needed to change bearing on the side of the road.
There was talk of a quick trip up again in the near future... so keep an eye on the "Going Fishing" area over the next few months !!!
20-02-2012 12:49 PM
Well done to the boys who toughed it out and got onto some good fish...enjoyed my first M&G and looking forward to the next one. Headed off from Brissy around 2pm and about 10 mins up the Bruce got a flatty, had to keep driving for a few Km's before could safely pull over, chewed out tyreBloody scary changing a tyre on the motorway on a Friday afternoon, fastest tyre change ever....
Met a few of the boys at the ramp for a couple of beers on Friday arvo, good to meet you blokes even if I did suffer a touch of boat envy. Left early to catch up with some mates so missed a few of the later arrivals, next time.
Got back to the ramp at 4:30am and had pretty much decided the banks wouldn't be on the agenda for me but thought I would go out front and get bashed around for a bit. Nothing to report for my efforts, one mauri cod on a 7inch gulp and that was it. Did 50Km's up and down the coast, chassed tuna all over the show but they were scatty little bugggers and even when I did get close 50gm rapala slug wasn't part of their diet for the day. Terrible conditions for fishing plastics and didn't come across any decent bait schools. But still good to be out on the water even if the plan didn't come together as hoped, will be back for another crack as soon as someone posts up a date
Brent
20-02-2012 01:01 PM
095rat, John sounds like you guys had a top trip and scored some nice fish, Mate how long did it take you to get out to the banks in that tub of yours ?? nice boat mate, for a Haines !!
Hi Fishfeeder, we had a great trip can't wait to get back out there,I will be watching for the date you pick to go again
.It took us an hour to do the 25km from the 8 mile to where we fished at the banks,came back in Sunday morning at 32knotts.what a contrast.

... Top boat and handled the conditions well. 
Bloody scary changing a tyre on the motorway on a Friday afternoon, fastest tyre change ever....
. Left early to catch up with some mates so missed a few of the later arrivals, next time.