Why you don't want a carbon tax as a recreational fisher - Page 12
+ Reply to Thread
Page 12 of 21 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Re: Why you don't want a carbon tax as a recreational fisher

Quote Originally Posted by Lovey80 View Post
    Excuses for what? Electricity has gone up because of the global demand for coal pushing the price of electricity up. Adding more pressure to one of the key drivers of the economy is plain dumb.

Timi, mate even if there were to be a "robust international market" in place before we did this, it would not reduce world wide carbon emissions one bit. The only people this tax will help is malcom turnbull's buddies at Goldman sachs.
    Absolutely correct - see pg 12 of today's Fin Review - nearly whole page devoted to carbon tax includes large article on COzero, a company which only started in 2007 and already generating income of $165M last year is now Australia's fastest growing company - growing at an annual rate of 605%. It's CEO was quoted as saying "Carbon potentially is the largest commodity market in the world. We're hoping our revenue and profits significantly increase" This company and others popping up all over the place want to "harness the opportunity by selling carbon permits generated by recognised green projects they develop in countries such as China" Ernst and Young have come out and said the post 2015 trading market could be worth as much as $10B depending on the volume of trades and the multiplier or how many times a given certificate is traded.

GIVE ME A BREAK this is wealth created out of nothing - the only guys getting rich here are the bankers and traders that just screwed us over in the GFC and our dumb-ass govt has fallen for it because it's a Green agenda item

Of far more concern is if you care to take a look on the following page 13 there's a small little piece titled "Business failure rate soars" and states that latest ASIC figures show an 18.4% rise in companies appointing corporate undertakers in the Sept quarter compared with the corresponding period last year. It goes on to say "We have now seen two consecutive quarters where appointments exceed 2600 with the quarter ended Dec 2008 being the only other occassion this occurred in recent times."

What a fantastic environment to load business up with more cost and admin load. Don't forget if a business dares increase prices more than what the govt believes is fair to allow for the carbon tax they've already flagged they're going to smash the price gouging bastards with huge penalties. Business will be cowed into submission and more likely look for a way out....like relocating off-shore maybe....

Guys we're in for a rough ride here - this is only the beginning. Wait until they move to the implementation phase....we all know how good this govt is at that. Be prepared to see large chunks of our country's wealth either being flushed down the toilet on more "green schemes" and generating a new crop of smart assed millionaire traders pretending to care for our environment all the while we're digging deeper and deeper into our pockets to pay for it all. I certainly won't be seeing any "compensation payment" that's been reserved for the "families already doing it tough" and "underprivileged" (read Green supporters).

And this from a minority govt, elected to power on the back of a lie, therefore denying it a mandate from the people they're supposed to represent - not happy

Ausfish New Member
    Post Thanks / Like

ggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggg

Ausfish Bronze Member Mark Robinson MP's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like

Labor's job destroying carbon tax has now been passed, despite Gillard's promise before the last election that her govt would never have a carbon tax. From July 1st, your tackle, bait, ice, roads, reels, boats will all go up in price. Is that what you voted for? Only a Can Do govt will fight Gillard's tax and bring the cost of fishing back down again. Join me in the fight - don't re-elect Labor MPs at the next state election. And a vote for the Cowboy-party will either return Captain Bligh or result in a hung parliament as bad as the one in Canberra.

Ausfish Platinum Member Steeler's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like

So how does a possible state govt fight this tax, not that you wouldn't be doing us all a favor just curious of the processes you would put in place to alleviate this tax.
    " Heskeytime "

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Steeler View Post
    So how does a possible state govt fight this tax, not that you wouldn't be doing us all a favor just curious of the processes you would put in place to alleviate this tax.
    A CanDo LNP govt will support Tony Abbott in repealing the carbon tax legislation

Post Thanks / Like

Do you support repealing of the carbon tax to reduce the cost of fishing?

Ausfish Premium Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Global warming = less marine life.= less fish

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Jakers 69 View Post
    Global warming = less marine life.= less fish
    = addiction to dogma.

Carbon Really Ain't Pollution.

Post Thanks / Like

When will the population come to the conclusion that the whole "green movement" is a farce and accept a government that will remove all forms of it and get back to basic governance?
    Remove the carbon tax
    the carbon credits
    the global warming myth
    the fear of cost effective and environmentally sound power production we already have.
    all of the environmental levies that are there simply to be more tax forms under guise of a green ticket.

The government that does that will bring living back to being affordable for every person, will create employment at a scale that has not been seen in decades, remove the rediculous money for nothing schemes that have ruined the chances of business and individuals to partake in real advancement.

We do not have to go back to the horse and cart to survive, we can effectively restructure our governance and existance into a clean system devoid of the "green" agenda and its incredible wastes, and utilize the ever-progressing cleaner ways to do things and support our environments and our futures.

The way ahead is not to penalise everyone for the sake of existing by means of myriads of "green" costs and taxes, that just makes things less affordable and less likely to advance productively and less employment.

Will any government move forward in this direction?? I think not, they are all black with the same tar.

Post Thanks / Like

Just as an aside, I would like all those who say "Howard changed his mind and gave us a GST" as a justification for JULIAR changing hers and giving us a Carbon Tax (even though Howard took his change of heart to an Election, but that is an inconvenient detail oft forgotten by the hacks) to give us an opinion now on JULIAR deciding that Uranium can be sold to India, given her prior Activism against all things Nuclear? It seems to me she is setting new (low) standards in "principles for sale."

For the record, I think she's made the right move. I just have trouble stomaching the hypocrisy. We cannot have Nuclear Power, but we will sell the fuel to others. It's certainly one of the reasons Aussies have a larger carbon footprint (which means nothing, but...) but all the Green Army just can't seem to internalise that one.

God I hate Greenies, and anyone who gets into bed with them. That has been Labor's most fundamental mistake, and it is the one that defines their growing lack of relevance to the Workers of this Country.

Carbon Really Ain't Pollution.

Post Thanks / Like

Hey Tim ,as your a LNP-Hack , I reckon Guv'ts are elected to GOVERN....not be comatose , post-election.
    [unlike LNP , limited set-in-stone pre-election policies haven't seen the books.... get elected & bring out the old oops "worse than we thought bait-n-switch" ,prices will NOW have to increase to balance the budget]

Gee whiz the ALP didn't say they'd sell Uranium "before the election" to India either.
    Hey ,India makes bombs ,blows up the Pakis..... 2 less cricket teams to flog us ...win,win
    Fishing for Recreation....AND a feed

Banned
    Post Thanks / Like

thank you very much for the joke Gazza..the ALP has had a ban on uranium sales for donkey years..so I guess a lot of ALP supporters would be let down...but that is nothing new with this mob. Would a LIberal Govt be any better..dunno..but certainly would be very hard pushed to be any worse.

Ausfish Platinum Member Steeler's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like

Until big Joe, Andrew Robb and the Monk all get on the same page they are not even an alternative.

How many times do they contradict each other on Policy with the latest being the banks passing on the rate cuts this week. Big Joe says big 4 are entitled to keep it on the same day Monk man says they should be passing it on.
    " Heskeytime "

Banned
    Post Thanks / Like

ya know something steeler..it makes no difference what the Libs do..they are not in Govt..ALP is..and in my entire lifetime i have nver seen ALP Govts..Federally and in Qld make such stupid stuff ups as these mobs manage to do.
    I usually am against criminals but I am cheering for this bloke that ripped them off for $16m..Some idiot Minister blew over 200 mill on a payroll system that does not work and nothing happens to him..yet Bligh is furious that some bloke flogged 16m from the Govt.didn't the moron Minister do far worse..yet the auditor general had done checks on this bloke and said that all was good..and he had already ripped off 5 mill but that was okay..where does Bligh get off..she is totally incompetent.

as I have said before..will the LNP do better..I doubt it... so where do we go from here?

Ausfish Premium Member Shawn 66's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Steeler View Post
    Until big Joe, Andrew Robb and the Monk all get on the same page they are not even an alternative.

How many times do they contradict each other on Policy with the latest being the banks passing on the rate cuts this week. Big Joe says big 4 are entitled to keep it on the same day Monk man says they should be passing it on.
    Carefull Steeler ,
    By simply stating the percieved flaws in the Federal LNP , you are automatically branded as a rabid ,frothing at the mouth , communist , card carry member of the Labor Party .
    Shawn