Flybridge clears, what did ya pay?
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Ausfish Platinum Member Midnight's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like

Flybridge clears, what did ya pay?

I'm shopping around for new flybridge clears for my 33. 3 sides, clears only.

Has anyone got new clears in recent time? What material, Vybak, Strataglass Etc and what did you pay?

Thanks in advance,
    Myles
    "Elempi" American Bertram 33, 3208T Caterpillar power

Ausfish Platinum Member tenzing's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like

Re: Flybridge clears, what did ya pay?

New vybak clears for the victory about a year ago.
    Part of a bigger job with cover and new roof, but think the clears were around the grand mark. They were sailtracked to screen with fancy overlapping zipouts to reduce ingress.
    Thrilled with the job. Brendan Watt at Southside marine trimmung Yatala. Was worth the drive.
    Brendan

Post Thanks / Like

It's very much a case of what your personal standards are and how much clarity you expect and for how long.

Strataglass is the best, and if you intend long term ownership and prepared to spend a few bob, as well as having something decent to sell at the end, could be worth a thought.

Scott Goodbun at Goodline trimming, Brisbane is highly regarded amongst big boat operators and will travel around the country to measure and fit the product. He is about to do a job for us, I've seen his work, impressive!

Ausfish Gold Member business class's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like

another vote for brendan at southside marine trimming. Has done my own boat a a few mates now and ya wont beat him. Unreal work and he is a fisho also so he knows his stuff.
    Matty

Post Thanks / Like

Thanks fellas,
    Has anyone had a flybridge done in Strataglass recently? Bertram 35 size or equivalent.
    I am after an idea of price.

Myles

Post Thanks / Like

To give you an idea in strataglass;

Two side lengths, 3.9 metres x approx. 1 metre high

Front, 4.4 metres long x 1.35 metres high

= $10K

Yours may be somewhere around half the area?

Give Scott (Goodline Trimming) a call on 0411 859 707 with measurements, or Cameron at Craft Coverings, Gold Coast 0413 749 348, both have been recommended by high level pro skippers.

Post Thanks / Like

10 grand its must be good stuff.

Post Thanks / Like

Thanks very much Southern Boater,
    I will give them a call. I am in the Broken Bay area NSW these days, but I will see what they say.

Thanks again mate,
    Myles

Ausfish Platinum Member Grand_Marlin's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like

G'day Myles,

8 ~ 10 grand is where most flybridge boats come in.

Ausfish Gold Member captain rednut's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like

a mate of mine just put strataglass on his 51 riviera flybridge only, it cost $14,000 big bucks and looks great.

Post Thanks / Like

Thanks Pete and Jim

Post Thanks / Like

definately go strata glass ,ive had vibac on my last boat and went strata glass on the new boat and its so much thicker and clearer,you must use the cleaner and polish on it for best results

Post Thanks / Like

Thanks Opti,
    I have been reading a bit about the cleaner/polish required to be used on the Stratglass. Only problem I see with that is ( other than having to pay for the stuff) the side clears are not easy to clean on the outside. Very difficult without a good chance of ending up in the drink! The front is easy.

I am thinking maybe Strataglass for the front and Vybac for the sides. That way the sides can just get the normal hose off and chamois mop treatment.
    Waddaya reckon?

Myles

Post Thanks / Like

you can still just hose off strata glass,its the cleaner and polish just helps maintain it,id use it on vibac as well.its good stuff

Post Thanks / Like

Ok thanks mate