+ Reply to Thread
Thread: never fished fresh water before
-
13-06-2011 11:22 PM #1
never fished fresh water before
hi guys new to this forum i have done a fair share of saltwater fishing but never actually freshwater fished before im located in brisbane where would the closest freshwater river or dam to me.. What the main target fish for freshwater fishing hear alot of people fish for bass when they do it would that be the desired fish and how good are freshwater fish table quality compared to say a freshly caught flathead.
grant
13-06-2011 11:47 PM
Re: never fished fresh water before
Gday Grant and welcome to the site. A few places to start would be Somerset and Wivenhoe dams, North Pine Dam or Lake Samsonvale as it may well be known. The upper reaches of the Brisbane River, Albert River are the ones I know of. Have a look at the sweetwater website as well. I myself haven't eaten any freshly caught freshwater fish as it's only sport fishing to me so I can't comment on the eating qualities. Hope this helps.
Wags
14-06-2011 09:19 AM
North pine is starting to pick up with the colder weather. To fish frim the bank you need a SIPS permit. To access for a boat ot yak have a look at the PRFMA website,
http://www.prfma.com.au/
Worth having a read of the different sections of the site for some handy hints re freshwater fishing anyhow.
The redclaw fishing there at the moment is fantastic.
If you would like a day on the dam shoot me a pm as I am up there a couple of days each week and quite ofter have a spare seat.
Another dam that is fireing very well at the moment is the Hinze you do not need a sip to fish there but you have to get a permit from the local stocking assn. They are avail at Gofishing ( Nerang Disposals) at nerang. $40 per year sorry dont know weekly rate. We got 45 bass there yesterday and 2 trips last week yielded over 130 bass.
The eating quality of the bass is superb . I fillet and skin them and just cook in egg and breadcrumbs.
The main thing is to ensure that you remove all fat before cooking
.People who complain that freshwater fish taste crook invariably fail to remove the fat.
Ray
14-06-2011 05:56 PM
yeah mate would love to what kinda gear you use? i currently am in the phase of catching everything i can on the lightest stuff it can be could which means im using 1-3kg rod 4lb braided fireline and 8lb leader also been loving the use of the berkley 3b crankbait sub dogs they work wonders for flat head fishing
14-06-2011 11:42 PM
ohh btw decided on fishing at wivenhoe hows the offshore fishing there planning on using a range on berkley crank 3b scum dog and trying out the rapala scitter pop any ideas on how that would go? and do they have a kayak hire there
15-06-2011 09:35 AM
Hey Grant empty your inbox please .
Sheesa full mate
Shut up and fish![]()