Aldi braid
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Aldi braid

Ausfish Gold Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Aldi braid

Aldi have got the crane braid back in i have seen it before but never picked any up is it any good cheers

http://www.aldi.com.au/au/html/offers/58_10443.htm

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Aldi braid

I guess if it like any other Aldi product, then it will be just what you pay for, cheap crap!

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Noelm View Post
    I guess if it like any other Aldi product, then it will be just what you pay for, cheap crap!

Couldn't disagree more. I find that virtually everything they have is high quality without the high price tag. No idea if this particular product is any good, but I would not discount it just because of the supplier.

Post Thanks / Like

I have a mate who bought the boat winch last time it was out on special - he's delighted with it. For the price I think it is worth having a look at - if it is crap you have only done $20, use it on a back up reel. I have had no drama's to date with their stuff.

Post Thanks / Like

Is it really worth it??? imagine hooking up to a personal best fish only to have your line fail cause you went on bought some aldi brand line

IMO stick with whats tried, tested & proven to work. You don't have to spend a fortune on braid to get decent quality.

Banned
    Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by NIZ180 View Post
    Is it really worth it???
    I reckon that it will be for me. I usually equip my reels with Platypus Platinum mono but I have a rig that I reserve for guests and which needs some new line so I might have a look at the $9.99 mono that they are selling next week.

Worth a go at that price, anyway.

I have bought a few el cheapo tools at Aldi over the past few months and I can certainly vouch for the value in their digital vernier gauges and their workshop vacuum cleaners, both of which are beauties.

The one or two other el cheapo power tools that I have bought from them are in the same league as the el cheapos offered in Bunnings and perfectly Ok for the occasional home handyman use. eg, I am very happy with the $49 reciprocating saw that I bought last week. It will not get a lot of use so a $300 one is not warranted.

I stop short of buying less than big name brands like Jet or Makita for precision tools but I have no complaints with the Aldi stuff that I have bought - especially that workshop vacuum. 'Tis a beauty!

Accordingly, I am happy to give their fishing line a go for my less critical gear and even maybe it will get a go on a bait-runner just to see how it goes. Nothing tried, nothing learned.

Post Thanks / Like

i havent seen the product before but ill give it a go when im there.i was reading something the other day and it said there is only about 10 machines in the world that make braided line, so all the brands come from those 10 machines there just marketed differently. not sure if its true but sounds possable. food for thought

Post Thanks / Like

im getting on a bit now, ive tried the braid lines the cheap ones and the dear ones but i just keep going back to the line that has not let me down, and the price is right schneider its as tough as old boots tight lines hilly

Post Thanks / Like

I have bought this braid in the past. Nothing wrong with it.

Ausfish Gold Member
    Post Thanks / Like

My parents have bought some of the 20lb ( i think ) and although it is not as good as the better known brands it will do the job fine if your on a budget like they are. It is a bit rough and thick, but that is not going to mean you will loose fish using it. It may make a bit of noise running through the guides and may fluff up a bit more than some brands. I wouldnt use it myself as i prefer other brands and dont mind spending a bit more to get the advantages these better braids offer but if your not needing the best braid to do the job your using it for then for the price you may be happy with this stuff. Other than that find a mate/mates that needs some braid and buy it from the US in bulk, shite loads cheaper and you can get the better brands for not much more. PM me if you want a good shop in the US that supplies quality braid very cheap.

scott

Ausfish Addict
    Post Thanks / Like

I wonder if paulus has tested any?........if anybody buys some, it would be great if the peeled of 3 meters and sent it to paulus for testing.

One thing for sure.....if you want any.........you better be there early.

Consider this to.....check out how much is on the roll and compare that with what you can get on a deal from one of the usual suspects on a lower brand line.

From past looks.....it isn't screamingly cheap.

Its the details, those little details, that make the difference.

Post Thanks / Like

I'm considering picking some up, if I'm anywhere near an aldi at the right time. If I do I'll gladly send some to paulus for tetsing. I think I have a half dozen other lines I'd love to have tested too, but I don't want to inundate the guy!

Ausfish Platinum Member ffejsmada's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like

I've got a mate who brought some and tried it and he loves the stuff.
    In fact, he has it loaded onto his Stella!

Post Thanks / Like

Whilst I loath shopping at Aldi with a passion (more for their checkout practices than anything else......have on a number of occassions chipped the operator for not taking care with goods as they throw them past the scanner and pile them up to the point they are falling on the ground before I can pack them in the trolley...almost threw a carton of eggs at one of their operators because she just kept pushing until they fell off the stupidly small counter and broke several eggs in the carton). There own brand merchandise is sourced from known brand manufacturers......Ellis d is right re the number of machine in the world that actually weave this stuff....but everything is done to a price.

Post Thanks / Like

Gah, I'll be near an Aldi tomorrow and I just realised that the sale doesn't start until Thursday. Guess I'll have to make a special trip as I'd like to get my hands on some 8lb for my spare pflueger supreme xt spool.