Siphoning petrol from a 100 Series
+ Reply to Thread
    Ausfish Premium Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Siphoning petrol from a 100 Series

Anyone done it?

I'm heading off to Moreton with the young bloke next week. I've got a dual fuel (LPG/Petrol) Cruiser and if I fill both tanks, don't normally have to use any petrol at all. However, I'm getting a bit fed up of carting over jerry cans for the generator, so thought it would be the go to just siphon some petrol from the Cruiser into a little fuel can to top up the generator whenever needed. Simple, you'd think...

Try as I might, I can't seem to get a fuel hose down into the tank - I can't really see the line at all as my view's blocked by the LPG tank. I've tried different sizes of hoses big and small, long and short. Has anyone ever tried this with success? Please help if you have, and any other ideas welcome...

Thanks,

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Siphoning petrol from a 100 Series

Mike,

as of many years ago, most manufacturers installed an anti-hose ( siphon device ) in their fuel lines. basically bumps / edges further down the filling hose.

You night just have to take the jerry's.... BTW, didn't see you at the Agnes / 1770 M & G ????

cheers Phill

Ausfish Premium Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Lucky_Phill View Post
    Mike,

as of many years ago, most manufacturers installed an anti-hose ( siphon device ) in their fuel lines. basically bumps / edges further down the filling hose.

You night just have to take the jerry's.... BTW, didn't see you at the Agnes / 1770 M & G ????

cheers Phill
    Thanks Phil, I figured that might be the case - things must have changed since I was a lad

A tap on the petrol tank would be good, but a bit on the illegal side

I know there's an overflow outlet somewhere as when I park on a slope with a totally full tank some leaks out, so I'll have a look at that. Frustrating that I need to take jerries when I know there's up to 100l of fuel that I don't need sloshing around in the truck

Yeah mate, work's been insane the last couple of years, I'd love to make another 1770 M&G. I've been heading up over Christmas the last 3 years (the wife loves it too now) but work's so bad, it's looking like I'll have to cancel the 2 weeks I've got booked up there from Dec 27th

Hope all's well with you - I liked your piece on salting down bait.

Good luck,

Ausfish Premium Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Giving this a bump as I was discussing it with a couple of mates again last night - has anyone got any knowledge of the practicality and legality of modifying the fuel line from filler to tank to enable me to siphon some petrol out to run the generator and not rely on carting jerries?

Good luck,

Post Thanks / Like

Inside the tail of the spout you fill through there is a three bladed contraption that blocks a syphon hose. You can remove the spout then remove that 3 bladed device before putting the spout back in. They are spot welded into place so you will need to remove the unit then remove the blades with a saw or dremell or similar. The down side is that someone can then syphon off your fuel if you dont keep your cap locked.
    I do not think there is anything illegal about removing a anti-theft device for your fuel.
    I simply remove the hose from the rear of the filler spout on the ute to syphon off fuel if I need to, but on a wagon it will be a job x 2 i reckon.

Post Thanks / Like

In my old 75 series it was easy. As the rear tank just used to pump into the main tank. Remove that hose and hit the reserve tank button and she's a gusher.

Ausfish Premium Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by BenDover View Post
    In my old 75 series it was easy. As the rear tank just used to pump into the main tank. Remove that hose and hit the reserve tank button and she's a gusher.
    Not an option for me unfortunately - I don't have a reserve tank, it was removed to make way for the LPG tank...

Post Thanks / Like

Yeah, I know. But each of your tanks have its own direct pump aswell. So it doesnt drain from 1 to the other. Just get a better jerry can set up. There are new modular flat block type jerry cans out there now. All different sizes for what ever your needs. You could just make a false floor in the back and slide them under.

Ausfish Gold Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by BenDover View Post
    Yeah, I know. But each of your tanks have its own direct pump aswell. So it doesnt drain from 1 to the other. Just get a better jerry can set up. There are new modular flat block type jerry cans out there now. All different sizes for what ever your needs. You could just make a false floor in the back and slide them under.

Think I saw mention of these on another forum and they were very expensive but maybe I've seen slightly different ones. Got any more info on these?

Ausfish Gold Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Actually they are different. I found the ones I was thinking of http://www.safarican.com.au/ $225 each!!!

Post Thanks / Like

Not much info to tell. There about 20 companies in the us now making these. They come in heaps of size variations and actually LOCK together. Guy I know who got them basically have 2 10 litre blocks locked together. ! is for water and the other in fuel. Love it. Keep it coming. The super slim ones are the most popular. Roughly the same size as maxtrax

Ausfish Platinum Member STUIE63's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like

I had an old cruiser and there was a bung plug on the bottom of the tank it would be worth a look to see if they still have them
    IF IT CAN'T EAT A WHOLE PILLY I DON'T WANT IT

Ausfish Platinum Member Mr__Bean's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by STUIE63 View Post
    I had an old cruiser and there was a bung plug on the bottom of the tank it would be worth a look to see if they still have them
    My 100 series has that bung.

It was very handy one day when I put petrol in my deisel fuel tank.