Thread: new to it all

new to it all

Hey guys and girls new to fishing and boating but trying to have a good crack at it, on the north side of brisvagas and allways looking to get a line wet.

cheers marty

Re: new to it all

Gday Marty, Plenty of people here to offer advice and some good info. Welcome aboard.

Avast ye matey!

cheers mate yeah trying to learn to fish and boat at the same time really, so just browsing through some of the threads hear have already been very handy.

marty

Welcome Marty

If you get a chance, check out the local Volunteer Marine Rescue or Coast Guard fellows. The wont bite and have plenty of free info of the area.

Get them to teach you how to log in and out on the radio as well.

Enjoy the water and be safe

that is one question that i do have what do you use to log in if your boat does not have a name?

Quote Originally Posted by marty666 View Post
    that is one question that i do have what do you use to log in if your boat does not have a name?
    Use your Qld boat rego number... you should be asked for it even if you do have a boat name.

eg:
    Coast Guard Redcliffe
    this is
    Lima Mike 234 Quebec, Lima Mike 234 Quebec
    on channel 73, requesting to log on
    Over

Lima Mike 234 Quebec
    this
    Coast Guard Redcliffe
    go ahead
    Over

Coast Guard Redcliffe
    this is
    Lima Mike 234 Quebec
    departing xxx, for xxx
    xx POB (persons on board)
    ETR to xxxx, xxxx hours (state hours in 24 hour clock eg. 1800 - not 6 pm)

Lima Mike 234 Quebec
    this is Coast Guard Redcliffe
    Romeo (means your message is fully understood and recorded)
    Coast Guard Redcliffe
    OUT

relpy

Lima Mike 234 Quebec
    OUT

now all you have to do is to remember to log off when you get near to the point of departure...

your the skipper - you're responsible
    QF3 MROCP