north stradbroke surf fishing
+ Reply to Thread
    Post Thanks / Like

north stradbroke surf fishing

hey guys,
    i am planning a trip to north straddy over the holidays hoping to chase dart and tailor in the gutters.
    has anyone had any success over there lately and where abouts, im thinking of heading to campsite 13, also if anyone has suggestions or tips on what to do or look for when fishing in the surf it would be greatly appreciated
    thanks troy

Ausfish Gold Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Re: north stradbroke surf fishing

Hey mate

the best gutters are ones that come close into the shore. that have entries at either end for the fish to get in and out of, and are quite deep. Its hard to explain every facet of reading a beach, so ill keep it brief. if you have clear weather, and small swell you can often see the dart in the waves.

other good formations are holes and v gutters. V gutters are generally shallow gutters, but are almost at your feet and are great for whiting.

Owen

Ausfish Gold Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Heya Pretzil

Did a quick overnighter across there 2 weekends back and the beach was alive. Mullet in almost every gutter and dart in every second one SERIOUSLY. We were wanting tailor though and spotted a nice big school but had to get off with teh big tide coming in. Walked down and fished the causeway entrance for 7 or 8 fish between the two of us. I was struggling trying to hook up tailor to 50cm with the broom stick I had brought along for much bigger targets. So yep there was plenty there.

13 to 14 is usually a fair big fish area so not a bad place to base yourself. A few k's either side of the causeway is usually good for better numbers of smaller fish this time of year. Google fishing mates for a few more tips on tailor, dart and surf fishing.

Ausfish Addict
    Post Thanks / Like

I was there on Friday last week and could not see any tailor. We drove all the way to the pin...seen heaps of mullet and a few dart but that's about all.

I don't have a 4WD, a mate of mine had a 4WD ute at the time.

I would love to get some of these big tailor and try for dart. If anyone can offer me an opportunity of a spare seat for a tailor session then send me a pm. I'll chip in towards fuel.