+ Reply to Thread
-
27-03-2009 08:06 PM #1
Riptide 740 Half Cab Build, Motors on & Fitting Out, Water Test This Weekend
hi guys
after many months of fishing in my boat, the time had come to renew and go a little bigger and stronger for the longer trips we now do. i put many months together of reserch to find the boat that would full fill my needs of some serious offshore fishing in SEQ.
it was decided to look for a new boat after the fraser island fishing expo last year, so the previous months we looked at many boat including fibreglass, but as we had experience with alloy already over the last 2 boats, we decided to go plate alloy once again, now with not many choices of quality alloy boats out there it was a tough decision.
we had first had a centre consol and the current boat a centre cab, we opted to go for a half cab as the new boat was to keep us dry and hold a set of sleeping quarters up front for those extended trips. currently having a deep v boat i decided and went for some trips in less of a v boats and found the ride to be quite desireable under the 20 degree angle.
with many test ride and discussing with many people it was decied we would get a riptide built as it would meet many of the requirements i had asked for in the new boat.
dave at riptide was more than help full with what i wanted in the boat and where, and with that in the back of my mind i new it was what i was looking for to be comfortable. with many ideas to mind it was proceeding to keep them all on paper was hard, changing ideas constantly and changing back to suit my fishing style.
with most of my ideas confirmed it was time to start building, with hopes early in the year to have it done ready for fraser comp 2009 it wasnt to be as it would have been to much of a rush which i most certainly didnt want.
so he began building the boat of choice a half cap of 7.4m in length giving me plenty of time to explore my fitout opions, for the half cab, it was decided that we would be running a pair of yamaha 115' four strokes on the twin transom setup for those long distance trips and fuel economy for slow trolling many months of the year. fuel for the boat will be up around the 480 litres mark, this will be confirmed upon fueling it up.
on the cab it will be running solid 6mm toughened glass in 3 pieces and full toughened glass double siders around the side for air circulation there will be double opening hatches above both seats in the cab,
a few pics of the basic hull and transom
more info and pics to come as we proceed.
justinLast edited by skipalong; 26-05-2009 at 06:30 PM. Reason: changing title
27-03-2009 08:21 PM
Re: Riptide 740 Half Cab Build Up
the trailer choice was a little easier knowing it had to be strong to handle and support the new riptide comfortably, we opted for a custom belco skid trailer, which i am quite happy with.
it was made from a new pfc c section to reduce a little weight and easy maitenance, bigger wheels and heavy axles were the choice to go under for beach work and reliabilty. hydraulic brakes will pull it up on the road, while the custom starter and flywheel winch setup will pull it up from the water when difficult to drive on.
a few pics of the trailer already built.
justin
27-03-2009 09:48 PM
hey mate looks great, just a Q is there any reason why you didnt go for a multi roller trailer?
jamie
28-03-2009 05:25 AM
Hi Justin, you've gotta be happy with that! You will be happy with the trailer, they are a dream to maintain!
cheers - Craig
28-03-2009 05:34 AM
blueline i opted for the skid trailer as it would more suit my needs and carry and support the weight of the boat far better than that of a multi roller trailer, given the area of the skids is greater than that of rollers.
justin
28-03-2009 05:56 AM
Could you please explain what pfc sections are re trailer.
Fido
28-03-2009 07:11 AM
PARALLEL FLANGE CHANNEL
Tight lines <*)(((((((((><
28-03-2009 07:30 AM
Nice Justin bet you can't wait now that its started.
Kezza
Callsign - Smells Like Fish! VHF Ch 21, 73 or 80
28-03-2009 07:54 AM
Hey Justin, now that's a boat!
As a proud Riptide owner, I know you'll get more than you pay for with Dave. They are such a well behaved hull, very predictablie, no bad manners and exceptionally well finished. They love the horse power, twin 115's will be nice. Christian had a 7.4 with twin 140's and it absolutely hammered. My f200 came off a 6.0m Riptide that was upgraded to twin 115's so that could be something to consider, although the 115's will be ample - maybe that's why I love revz!
He builds one of the best plateys on the market I reckon, don't see many ever on the market second hand. Two reasons,
1. The owners are totally satisfied with their boats, the features and the quality - Dave stands behind every one he makes.
2. If one comes up, its snapped up so quickly they hardly hit the market.
I have a roller trailer under mine but I would prefer a skid trailer, less mainteneces and for me, a better option for beach launching.
Have you decided on a layout and configuration with respect to seat box eskys, etc, etc. I have some refrigerator foam you are welcome to if you're going that way
all ya need is a set of flames and you're part of the family![]()
I'll watch this thread and developments with interest
all the best
><((((º>.¸.•'´¯)
Life is a mystery to be lived, not a problem to be solved, Gabriel Marcel
28-03-2009 09:50 AM
Hey Justin great choice I have only heard good reports about Riptides. If for some reason I was to go back to a platey a Riptide would be top of my list. Youv chosen very wisely with the powerplant (yammie twins) and a top choice going for the teflon skid trailer. I think rollers are a thing of the past! No maintence great![]()
28-03-2009 09:53 AM
I've met Dave a few times, you should feel privileged he's the bloke behind your boat.. great choice.
With regards the trailer, awesome choice. Just a tip... you may of all ready known it but every 3 or 4 trips give the skids a good coating of silicone spray before you put the boat back on. Makes things ooh so effortless
28-03-2009 01:51 PM
kezza its all so close now just itching to have it done and get back out there.
rhys you are so right in all aspects, i have some many ideas but i dont think they will all fit in this one taking the best forward to dave and we have mangaed a good layout for my fishing style i think, and will be happy in every way, i might yet take you up on that offer yet depending on what we do under the seats,
we were thinking of extending and making a insulated box under one seat and a fridge under the other with a motor but still i little undecided there.
dean with the way suzuki went my first opition was down the tube, but with the ever reliable yamaha 115 and may i add well and truely proven engine should make a great addition to my boat. looking forward to seeing the power theyshall make.
blackened dave is a great guy and knows his stuff very important in what we are doing, and very easily understandable of what i want which makes things a whole lot easier, very true have already given it a few coats of the silicone spray hoping to fill and imperfections in the teflon, and was told like you said evry few trip to ensure great slip to reduce friction.
cheers justin
28-03-2009 01:53 PM
rhys you say flames, i dont know if it will go quick enough for them, what about turtles on the bow?
justin
28-03-2009 04:02 PM
Justin, the 115's will push it along O.K. so it won't be a slouch so no turtles, definitely flames matey! Big orange and red bugga's for you!!!
When Dave built mine, we had lockers under both seats. I extended both seats into eskies - it opened up the rear area not having to have an esky in front of the bait board which is excellent - and the room taken was 'dead' room anyway.
The eskies turned out really good, with well cured ice it will actually pull fish down in a slurry and keep them there. Dave put the drains down into the kill tank so they don't drain out over the floor. and the seat boxe lids are filled with refrigerator foam too - I still have ice after 5 days - handy for overnighters and a few days down at Southern haven. I have a waco as well, but haven't really used it - no need with the other option.
Greg (Reefmaster) has an esky under one seat and I think a provision for a cooker on the same side, and an anchor drawer under the starboard seat, which is a great idea, enables you to do all your anchor work from the rear and keeps the anchor off the deck. Gordon (another riptide onwer) glassed refrigerator foam into his kill tank in the floor so that is another option. The seat box esky works out to around 170 litres per side which is plenty.
Depending on your electrics, if you are going to go Radar, have Dave incorperate it into the dash design. Might be a little fiddly but well worth it. Again, reefmaster has his instruments dash mounted and Dave made a security cover for it - absolutely brilliant.
><((((º>.¸.•'´¯)
Life is a mystery to be lived, not a problem to be solved, Gabriel Marcel
28-03-2009 07:19 PM
rhys, thanks will be having the cooker under the seat on the port side, but was a little undecided on iceboxes under the seats as i will lose alot of storage area, my electrics are going to be dash mounted, (dave convinced me to make it look pretty) but a few modifications to the dash are going to be made to make it fit as it is quite large, but will sit beautifully beside the 585.
its good going a little later plenty of good ideas to utilise, still sp many ideas i have still to discuss with dave, but hopefully they should make a good addition to having something different.
cheers justin