Noosa Cat 1800 Center Console
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    Ausfish New Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Noosa Cat 1800 Center Console

I'm looking at buying a Noosacat 1800 centre console with a single Evinrude 115 DFI on the back. I was wondering how these boats handle with one ourtboard compared to two and if they cavitate or lose performance. Also are they ok travelling 3/4 to or down wind as have heard stories of these cats being a bit fine in the bows. Would appreciate any comments.

Ausfish Platinum Member boatboy50's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like

Re: Noosa Cat 1800 Center Console

Hey Loftus,

I've done hundreds of hours on one. They do have some cavitation issues even when set up perfectly. It's just part of the single engine/cat issue. It didn't mean the boat didn't perform though.

The C/C does not use the same hull as the 1850 which is renowned for it's fine bows and associated issues. I'm sure the C/C hull has closer ties to the original 560 hull than the 1850.

We had a S/S targa top on ours, and it wollowed around a bit due to the high centre of gravity.

What price is it? We sold ours about a year ago for around 24k with a 140 Suzuki 4 banger with 800 odd hours on trailer.

Ausfish Platinum Member Grand_Marlin's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like

G'day Loftus,

The single engine cats are good, but loose a lot of the characteristics of a twin engine cat - ie performance, handling, arguably safety of the twin motors.

Single engine cats all suffer from cavitation thanks to the turbulence created through the tunnel.

When the 1800 was first developed, Noosacat had big trouble with cavitation.
    They found the only solution was a Mercury 90 with a high 5 prop.
    Things have changed a lot since then (prop development)

Darren, how good / bad cavitation was with the 140 Suzuki and what prop did you have?
    What would you think is optimum HP for these hulls?

The 1800 is the original 500 Sharkcat Hull from 1985 / 86 with a central pod.

I dont remember exactly when the 1800's were released, but I think it was early - mid 1990's.

Post Thanks / Like

Hey GM,

Ours was one of the first sold in about 1993/94. It originally had a 115 Yammie 2 stroke. It was then upgraded to a 130 Yam, 130 Honda, 150 Honda and finally a 140 Suzy before it was sold.

The cavitation was bearable, and not to the point of being useless, but definately noticable. We added a huge alloy fin to the engine to try to help it. It made some difference but didn't fix it.

It didn't matter what power you put on that boat, it still felt like a slug. There was only about 5 knots difference top end between the 115 and 150. The fact that when the boat was sold it was around 12 years old with many thousands of hours is beside the point! Maybe the foam (survey build) was full of water in the end. It was also loaded to the hilt with S/S targa, electronics galore, and many kg's of gear. The twin 80L fuel tanks made for some hairy moments when the 1st tank ran out, and needed the switch.

I remember on the original sea trial Wayne Hennig reversing out the Noosa Bar for fun in the demo with the Merc 90.

Post Thanks / Like

Thanks Darren,

Very interesting.
    The Single engine 1800 is one that I have never been in.

It just goes to show that Cats need the horsepower to be a good boat, and obviously the twin engines just make all the difference.

Also when you look at the 23 footer with a single diesel they are quite a good boat.
    The difference being that the leg can be a lot lower, duo props and more torque from the diesel.

Reversing out through the bar - now that takes big balls

Any mono hull owners willin to have a go at that?

Ausfish New Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Thanks Darren / Pete,

It makes me wonder whether 115hp is adequate. Although I would have thought it would be considering the twin motor set up on many similar size boats often range from 60 to 90h. You would have thought a 130 or 150hp would make is hum. I wonder if the boat did end up with a bit of water in the sponsons as you suggest Darren.

I spoke to a fellow today that had one with a Honda 90 with polished SS prop. He said he had very little cavitation issues where a similar set up, same outboard and a standard prop had a heap of cavitation. It may well be solved by choice of prop. The likelihood of some cavitation does worry me though.

There are two for sale I have found. One 2003 with a Yamaha 130 2st without inbuilt fuel tanks asking $31,000 and one new with the Evinrude etec 115hp and inbuilt tanks for $57,000.

Post Thanks / Like

G'day Rob,

Is there any reason you want a single engine?

With your budget you are going to find something near new with twins.

Even a 5.2 Kevlacat with 60 4 strokes will be getting close.

Post Thanks / Like

Hey Guys,

Lofty, if you've got that sort of budget i'd definitely recommend buying a used 5.2 Kevlacat with late model 4 strokes. I wouldn't suggest you pay 57k for a new one with average performance, when you can pay less second hand and get a great rig capable of so much more.

We tried different props, different engine heights, and even had reps from the outboard companies to try to get the best out of our boat, so i'm sure it was tuned as best as it can. Ours was loaded with gear so would have been one of the heaviest around.

When we bought ours in 1993/94? we paid 23k on trailer with 115 Yammie brand new!

Ausfish New Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Thanks Pete / Darren,

I've been in a KC 5.2 a few times - terrific boat. I thought they more quite expensive.

Im focussing on a center console as it offers the most room for the size and I want to use it from the river to out deep and up north. I also want a boat that is about 17 - 18' for ease of use / towing etc. The center console offers the most for this and the cat set up offers the most room for the size boat. The cats also seem a bit dearer than monos.

It seems that the Noosa cat may be a compromise on performance and the KC 5.2 a compromise on the use I am looking for. I know that lack of performance will irk me big time - might reconsider and look at a mono center console or even the KC5.2 as you suggest.

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Grand_Marlin View Post
    G'day Rob,

Is there any reason you want a single engine?

With your budget you are going to find something near new with twins.

Even a 5.2 Kevlacat with 60 4 strokes will be getting close.

Try and find one Pete bloody things are like gold.
    The one up the coast isn't available anymore

Regards Frank

Post Thanks / Like

What about something like this?

http://www.tradingpost.com.au/Marine...kToResult=true

Sharkcat 500 Sportsman ... this is the original version of the exact same hull as what you are looking at Lofty.

Looks in good condition and asking $18,000

Negotiate price, sell the motors for $2000 each, replace with 4 stroke 60 yammies for $8,000 each and you are laughing ... very nice boat for under $30,000.

My brothers boat is set up exactly the same and he loves it.

Attached Images

Post Thanks / Like

G'day Frank,

The same option may appeal to you - Sharkcat instead of Kevlacat.

The 500 Sportsman will do everything a 5.2 Kevlacat will do and $25 grand cheaper.

The Kevlacat is better when trolling as it is higher in the bow.
    The 5m Sharkcat likes to throw water up and over the nose even in not so rough conditions.
    They are fine when underway - just trolling can be annoying at times (just watch your running angle)

Post Thanks / Like

Cheers Pete will test my patience for a while on the KC
    If so might have to look at alternative.

Regards Frank

Post Thanks / Like

I took one of those, Noosa Centre consoles for a test drive, it was certainly OK, the single Motor was OK, not great, don't think any Cat with a single Motor is a real success, OK, but only just, I am looking for an 18' Centre Console Sharkcat, and thought they might be close to what I wanted, but no where near it really (I reckon anyway) much smaller, about half as good as far as internal room goes, crappy preformance from the single Engine (compared to twins) probably much better finish to an old Sharkcat, but that does not worry me, I want one that I can repower and rebuild to suit me, the Noosa Cat did not come close for the money I reckon.

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Grand_Marlin View Post
    G'day Frank,

The same option may appeal to you - Sharkcat instead of Kevlacat.

The 500 Sportsman will do everything a 5.2 Kevlacat will do and $25 grand cheaper.

The Kevlacat is better when trolling as it is higher in the bow.
    The 5m Sharkcat likes to throw water up and over the nose even in not so rough conditions.
    They are fine when underway - just trolling can be annoying at times (just watch your running angle)

Hey Pete big call mate that the SC 500 will match a 5.2KC. Are you livebaiting us 5.2 kc guys up? A guy on here has just switched to a 5.2KC from a SC 500 and reckons the KC blows it away. Hey I think your'e one hell of a guy Pete but you got me on this one

Theres an interesting writeup in issue 141 F&B page 16 comparing the 2. I'll bring it around when we catch up for that beer down at your new shed. Cheers, talk soon.

Deano..