This looks like a good cheap buy for somebody wanting to enter offshore fishing???
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

This looks like a good cheap buy for somebody wanting to enter offshore fishing???

Post Thanks / Like

Re: This looks like a good cheap buy for somebody wanting to enter offshore fishing??

Very Fishy,
    motor must be worth 18k alone

Post Thanks / Like

Re: This looks like a good cheap buy for somebody wanting to enter offshore fishing??

The outboard comes with a free boat by the look of that!

Rod

Post Thanks / Like

Nice boat, cannot help myself I still like the older boats the best.

Even if what i wrote above sounds like advice, trust me it isn't.

Climate change is psychological.

THE GALILEO MOVEMENT...
    Check it out.

The triumph of evil requires only for good men to

do nothing - Edmund Burke

Post Thanks / Like

Yeah has all the gear on it by the look of it.. Alot of boat for a little price, anybody know what these motors are worth new, about $17 000??

Ausfish Gold Member Hornet Rider's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by FNQCairns View Post
    Nice boat, cannot help myself I still like the older boats the best.

fnq, what year would you say the hull is?

Post Thanks / Like

I'm not saying this is necessarily the case for this boat but it pays to be careful when looking at boats for sale online. I recently enquired about a pretty cheap boat on boatpoint.com.au. It was a UK based Sea Ray which sells here for well over 300 grand but they were 'only' asking about 50 for a quick forced sale. The seller said I needed to act quick, direct debit the money & the boat would be shrunk wrapped & put on the next ship to Australia. About a day later I got an email direct from boatpoint saying the ad was a dodgy scam & had been deleted.

I rang the mobile number for the following ad. The poor fella who answered said he doesn't own a boat & doesn't even know why his number is on the ad. The boat is roughly 40 grand below market price:

http://www.boatpoint.com.au/boats-fo...aspx?R=2942100

Post Thanks / Like

This bloke has no history and is a June 08 ebay member. Notice there are no questions answered showing up...all very strange. This rig with this near new engine is worth a lot more than the buy it now price I reckon...like any online boat purchase though if you cannot inspect, it does not matter how good the photos are if the floor and transom are rotten...

Here of course it looks nice (although rot can exist under a nice gelcoat) but I am wary.

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Hornet Rider View Post
    fnq, what year would you say the hull is?
    70s would be my guess, if not early 80s, someone might know for sure.

Even if what i wrote above sounds like advice, trust me it isn't.

Climate change is psychological.

THE GALILEO MOVEMENT...
    Check it out.

The triumph of evil requires only for good men to

do nothing - Edmund Burke

Post Thanks / Like

I guess there's one born every day - I heard of a bloke buying a property online without even visiting the joint

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Davey1 View Post
    I'm not saying this is necessarily the case for this boat but it pays to be careful when looking at boats for sale online. I recently enquired about a pretty cheap boat on boatpoint.com.au. It was a UK based Sea Ray which sells here for well over 300 grand but they were 'only' asking about 50 for a quick forced sale. The seller said I needed to act quick, direct debit the money & the boat would be shrunk wrapped & put on the next ship to Australia. About a day later I got an email direct from boatpoint saying the ad was a dodgy scam & had been deleted.

I rang the mobile number for the following ad. The poor fella who answered said he doesn't own a boat & doesn't even know why his number is on the ad. The boat is roughly 40 grand below market price:

http://www.boatpoint.com.au/boats-fo...aspx?R=2942100
    Yeah, they pop up all over the place. Saw this boat on ebay last month for $4.5K in NSW, if I remember. Send the seller a few questions & got this amazing reply:

Hello,
    I am sorry for the late reply, i hope you are still interested in my boat i have for sell. The 2000 BROOKER 525 DISCOVERY CUDDY CABIN - item# 180250221000 is available for sale at AU $4,800.00. The boat runs like new and never had problems with it. At this moment I am out of the country due to my job with Shell E&P International and I have started a new contract for the next two years in Madrid, Spain in a manager position. The boat is located at a warehouse in Dalmeny, New South Wales and from there a shipping company will transport it to the buyer on my behalf also will assist with the paperwork. You do not have to be worried for the transport costs because I will pay it so you do not have to pay anything else just the price of AU $4,800.00. You will have a period of 10 days from the time you receive the boat to test drive/inspect it and decide to keep it or not. If you wont like the boat I am paying the transport back. I hope you really want the boat so if you will decide to purchase it just let me know... all I need from you is your name and the address where the boat and the paperwork should be delivered and your eBay user. The transport will not take more than 2-3 working days and you will have the boat delivered to your door.
    Many thanks for your interest!
    Best wishes,
    Wayne Freeleagus

All totally believable of couse

Thought I would have a play, so I asked this lot of questions, note question 4! Check out the replies I got from the goose running this scam:

Questions:
    1. what year is the motor?
    2. when was it last serviced & who did the service?
    3. does the trailer have brakes, & if yes, what type?
    4. what HP is the motor?
    Answers:
    1. 2000
    2. 20/05/2008 , a friend of mine.
    3. The trailer have brakes but i don't know what type.
    4. I don't realy know for sure, i'm just owning the boat, i don't know all the mecanichal details.

Put him/her/they/it into ebay, AFP & NSW police. I just cracked up at answer 4.

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Hornet Rider View Post
    Yeah, they pop up all over the place. Saw this boat on ebay last month for $4.5K in NSW, if I remember. Send the seller a few questions & got this amazing reply:

Hello,
    I am sorry for the late reply, i hope you are still interested in my boat i have for sell. The 2000 BROOKER 525 DISCOVERY CUDDY CABIN - item# 180250221000 is available for sale at AU $4,800.00. The boat runs like new and never had problems with it. At this moment I am out of the country due to my job with Shell E&P International and I have started a new contract for the next two years in Madrid, Spain in a manager position. The boat is located at a warehouse in Dalmeny, New South Wales and from there a shipping company will transport it to the buyer on my behalf also will assist with the paperwork. You do not have to be worried for the transport costs because I will pay it so you do not have to pay anything else just the price of AU $4,800.00. You will have a period of 10 days from the time you receive the boat to test drive/inspect it and decide to keep it or not. If you wont like the boat I am paying the transport back. I hope you really want the boat so if you will decide to purchase it just let me know... all I need from you is your name and the address where the boat and the paperwork should be delivered and your eBay user. The transport will not take more than 2-3 working days and you will have the boat delivered to your door.
    Many thanks for your interest!
    Best wishes,
    Wayne Freeleagus

All totally believable of couse

Thought I would have a play, so I asked this lot of questions, note question 4! Check out the replies I got from the goose running this scam:

Questions:
    1. what year is the motor?
    2. when was it last serviced & who did the service?
    3. does the trailer have brakes, & if yes, what type?
    4. what HP is the motor?
    Answers:
    1. 2000
    2. 20/05/2008 , a friend of mine.
    3. The trailer have brakes but i don't know what type.
    4. I don't realy know for sure, i'm just owning the boat, i don't know all the mecanichal details.

Put him/her/they/it into ebay, AFP & NSW police. I just cracked up at answer 4.
    Mmm too many shonky bastards out there these days.. Does he expect you too pay before you see the boat?? What next, gotta love his last name 'freeleagus'

Ausfish Platinum Member Outsider1's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like

That's a cracker Hornet Rider!!.

Yes lots of shonks out there waiting for you. A lot of them are better story tellers than Wayne was too.

The old adage always comes up, :if something sounds too good to be true, it almost invariably is!

Post Thanks / Like

Just for the record, here's the final email I sent off to this scamer using someone else's Brooker 525 as a front. As you might expect, there was no response....

Still no response from you? Hope you haven't got into any trouble? Just in case, I have passed your details, including your email address, your ISP (which is available due to the type of software & anti-spyware I have installed on my computer) to both the NSW Police & the Australian Federal Police. Have also given them your name, & of course Wayne Freeleagus name as well. Not too may Freeleagus's in Australia - interesting name.

Do look forward to hearing from you, or Wayne or someone from the family. We can't have that nice little boat sitting in a warehouse in Dalmeny gathering dust, now can we?

Hope you very interesting sounding manger job with Shell E&P International in Madrid, Spain is working out for you. You must be such a very important person to have been selected for that job. I have a good friend who is a security manager with Shell & he has kindly offered to make contact with you to find out what the hold up is about finalising the transaction on the 2000 Brooker 525 Discovery. He's very good at his security work, so don't be surprised to get a knock at your door, at anytime, day or night.

Do make contact soon Martin, there are people very keen to speak with you about that lovely 2000 Brooker 525 Discovery.

Post Thanks / Like

Mate i got a mate of mine that hasgot a kevla cat for sale and it is cheap

5.2m kevla cat twin 60 2 stroke motors good ally trailer well looked after and has not had much use or fish on board. only reason for selling is he wants an ally centre console because he loves ally boats only 30 k cheap as