Sunglasses and Lure Fishing

Here is another good reason to sunglasses while lure fishing

Makes you think
    Foxie
    Attached Images

Ausfish Gold Member black_sheep's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like

Re: Sunglasses and Lure Fishing

I coped one in the nose on the weekend - lucky the barb didn't find it's mark.

Motorbike helmet might be the go soon.

Wonder if he lost vision in that eye - nasty!

Post Thanks / Like

hollyy hell that would have hurt that is for sure yes i agree with the sunglasss theory but i also reckon people tend to overload there boat like i only have me and one other in mine
    for that reason to close and lure inbeded into something

Post Thanks / Like

Sh_t!!!!!

Post Thanks / Like

yep go the sunnys, its more common than you think,we just dont hear about these injurys...OUCH.cheers bdowdy..brett

Ausfish Bronze Member Goodoochaser's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like

"Shivers" that could put you off lure fishing.

I always wear sunnies myself and carry spares on board for others who may not have a pair.

I have been hooked in the back of the head myself by a mate flicking a lure and make a point of suggesting to people fishing with me to crimp down the barbs on their lures (much easier to remove the hook and less painful, not that it would have helped the poor guy in the pictures) I have been flattening barbs on lures for years and have not noticed any loss of hooked fish providing you keep the line pressure on them.

When I was a kid I hooked a friend of mine in the lip while fly fishing, he walked behind me while I was casting. The line snapped at the fly and the small hook required hospital attention for removal.

You may also recall the guy who swallowed the squid jig. He was standing behind someone who was casting and opened his mouth to laugh, the back cast popped the jig into the back of his mouth and the reflex to swallow worked the lure further and further into his wind pipe. He was lucky to live.

I guess the moral to this is accidents do happen, most can be avoided with care and attention, like seeing where people are in location to you and the wearing of appropriate safety gear.

If anyone has other thoughts this could be a good thread to draw attention to avoiding possible injury and harm while pursuing our wonderful pastime.

Cheers Howard (Goodoochaser)
    All times wasted thats not spent fishing

Ausfish Platinum Member Little grey men's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like

I've seen this one before and I think the guys sight was not too bad after his op.
    Lucky bloke hey ???
    I lure fish with my six year old boy and eye protection is a must as soon as he picks up his fishing rod...and crushed barbs. He's got huge big blue eyes and the last thing I would want is for him to have one of them ruined by a hook.
    He takes his sunnies off for photos and then they're straight back on.
    He has two pair in his little back pack, just in case.

I follow the same rule but I'm not as strict on myself. I should be though.
    I need a good talkin to.

Post Thanks / Like

I've got no choice Foxie, being an old Phart had to have Perscription polaroids made so I could see past the Bow and spot the odd school of bait....very expensive but necessary........Whitto
    Good Mates....Good Food.....Good Fishing....Priceless

Morningside - happy to be living in Qld but go the BLUES!
    Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Little grey men View Post
    I've seen this one before and I think the guys sight was not too bad after his op.
    Lucky bloke hey ???
    I lure fish with my six year old boy and eye protection is a must as soon as he picks up his fishing rod...and crushed barbs. He's got huge big blue eyes and the last thing I would want is for him to have one of them ruined by a hook.
    He takes his sunnies off for photos and then they're straight back on.
    He has two pair in his little back pack, just in case.

I follow the same rule but I'm not as strict on myself. I should be though.
    I need a good talkin to.
    Great advice LGM ..... & one that should be heeded when kids are fishing or even nearby ( they have a habit of wandering)

Morningside - happy to be living in Qld but go the BLUES!
    Post Thanks / Like

I'm actually looking for a pair of Yellow tint glasses ( like the shooters use) for low light & night fishing ....... You just cant be too careful .... specially barra fishing where thrown hooks & fouled / snagged lures are part & parcel.

Nagg

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Whitto View Post
    I've got no choice Foxie, being an old Phart had to have Perscription polaroids made so I could see past the Bow and spot the odd school of bait....very expensive but necessary........Whitto
    Whitto

Depends where you go for your lenses.Try and remember me when you are due for some new lenses and like any other Ausfish member you will be looked after and won't be dissapointed.

Cheers Dazza

Ausfish Platinum Member Obi _ Wan's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like

As well as the traditional sunnies, which i wear about 60% of the day time, i carry a pair of clear safety glasses for night lure fishing which i wear about 30% of the time.

As we only get one set of eyes i see this post as a wake call up all to all us fisho's that flog lures around.

For this i say thanks Foxie good call mate.

John.

Ausfish Gold Member
    Post Thanks / Like

I've been told when casting to keep an eye on your lure but thats just going too far.
    Was fishing in a Bream Tournament on the Gold Coast last year and my team mate was netting a fis for me when it spat the jig head. Jig head went flying, 3/8th ounce as we were fishing the deep water of the sea way. Jig head ended up between his eyes. Luckily the barb didn't go in. He wasn't wearing sunnies at the time either. He did after that.
    Bill

Post Thanks / Like

In the eye would suck big time.

I fish barbless and have pulled a few from arms & legs easily, a few mths ago I pulled a new lure out of the pack & didn't crush the barbs. As luck would have it, it got me after coming out unstuck from a snag & a mate with a camera couldn't help himself.

*caution language*

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by 2DKnB View Post
    Whitto

Depends where you go for your lenses.Try and remember me when you are due for some new lenses and like any other Ausfish member you will be looked after and won't be dissapointed.

Cheers Dazza
    Gee's Dazza Only got these glasses about 6 wks ago......That will teach me not to speak up ahead of time, although Im happy with the cost of them......I won't say how much I payed exactly other than it was well under $300.00.......Cheers Whitto
    Good Mates....Good Food.....Good Fishing....Priceless