+ Reply to Thread
Thread: Jealousy....
-
16-05-2008 06:36 AM #1
Jealousy....
Driving to work this morning just before 6am, passed a house in Thornlands and the fella there had hooked his Cruise Craft outsider up to the back of his rodeo ( I always drool as I pass that boat). anyway, stopped at a mates place in the same street for a few minutes and then started the trip into Milton. As I went through cleveland, I saw the same boat out the front of Budds Bait and Tackle and I thought.. bugger it, I am on the way to work and that lucky ^&*(&%# is on the way out for a fish.
Ahh well, going to knock off early today and head out for an overnighter in the bay somewhere tonight.
any suggestions? GPS marks by PM would be fantastic
planning on putting in at Redland Bay this afternoon and thinking of camping on peel tonight, apart from that, no plans so any suggestions would be great.
16-05-2008 07:35 AM
Re: Jealousy....
mate - I often head to work and see some lucky bastard heading out on the boat... I'm jealous at anyone who can take advantage of the weather mid week where I can't.
16-05-2008 08:02 AM
Im heading out to the bay tonight as well ill be on 27 meg channel 94 call sign monostretcho give me a call and i will let you know if the fish are on where i am
later mtx
MONOSTRETCHO
16-05-2008 08:04 AM
16-05-2008 08:39 AM
I do the woody point, scots pt drive every morn then over hornibrook.
How do u think i feel?
I dont know why i put myself through it every day
16-05-2008 08:59 AM
Yeah it suxI cross the pine river bridge every morning and I always have to look up the river..
What really gets me though is when I see Freeedom anchored up!!!! All I can think about is him catching stonker Bream and River Jewies
I am off early this arvo too and heading out the front of Scarby so its not all bad
Brandon...
16-05-2008 09:14 AM
hehehe i was one of them , filling my boat up this morning at the servo i got alot of "you lucky bastard looks" from other people ,, then goin against the traffic you see nearly every one stuck in the traffic jams looking over as a zoom to the ramp
16-05-2008 11:08 AM
For the lucky ones of us that do tend to get out during the week to make use of the good weather, it's so satisfying when you pull up at the servo and put the nozzle in the boat tank and someone will walk up to you and say...you lucky bastard, need another crewmember hahaha.
But on the other side of the equation when it's me going to work and seeing a big boat heading for the water, I get jealous myself. I doubt there'd be a fisho on here that wouldn't haha. But my all time pet hate would be seeing a whole weekend of "light and variables" with sea conditions under 1m and knowing I've been rostered on to work the weekend and had a day off during the week with a howling SouEaster laughing at me.
16-05-2008 11:48 AM
i get jealous also (definitely not about the outsider) but the going fishing bit..I jus tget stuck with crap weather on weekends..canned this weekends trip so am going to work instead.
16-05-2008 12:21 PM
Gotta admit, I know I get jealous of any boat being towed on a weekday to or from an offshore fish, it's because of this I do enjoy the weekday morning tow to the ramp a little more than I would, I don't take much notice of the shiny bum cars but the blokes in the 4x4s or a work truck....sometimes I can almost hear the swear words.
It's small I know but sometimes it's all I got..
Even if what i wrote above sounds like advice, trust me it isn't.
Climate change is psychological.
THE GALILEO MOVEMENT...
Check it out.
The triumph of evil requires only for good men to
do nothing - Edmund Burke
16-05-2008 12:44 PM
I get to cause some jealousy on Monday when it will be time to head out for three weeks or so but it's going to be a deserved break because the appointment with the accountant happens just before departure time.
He's not quite as bad as the dentist, who hunts around each tooth as if he is searching for an annual bonus or yet another overseas holiday, but he can make it seem that one little fib is a monstrous lie which might harm his professional ethics and cause the tax office to swoop down like a pack of vultures and tear us limb from limb.
Who said retirement is all fun and relaxation?
I am sorry if others get jealous but hope against hope that some ex public service colleagues see me leaving for the water. Those arseholes need reminding that, as much as they try, some of us are now free and no longer have to endure endless committee meetings and hearing all that new age, touchy, feely, management stuff.![]()
16-05-2008 02:02 PM
16-05-2008 03:52 PM
Thats not the cruise craft on moselle drive is it?
16-05-2008 06:02 PM
Good on ya freedom.
Where were u? Crabs have been pretty good lately.
My turn in morning.
17-05-2008 06:02 AM
Hi Greg
I went out before dawn, put the pots out below the Hornibrook and then anchored up on the Woody Point reefs to try for some more squire. Only got one reasonable fish (about 45cm) so I ran up the Pine to see if I could find any late prawns for live bait - couldn't find a single one so I kept a few herring and silver biddies and drifted the mouth of the Pine looking for a lizard or two. Got two bar-tailed flathead (both released) although a few small squid were killing the live baits fairly regularly. Quit about 11.00 with 6 nice sandies - conditions on the water were the best this week so it was a pleasant morning.
Cheers Freeeeedom

I cross the pine river bridge every morning and I always have to look up the river..