+ Reply to Thread
Thread: Anyone fish off Mooloolaba
-
03-02-2008 07:41 PM #1
Anyone fish off Mooloolaba
Hello all,
I am a keen fisherman in year 10 and recenly became a member. Me and my dad have a 1 year old Markham Dominator 7000 (a 23ft cat) on a trailer powered by twin 150 hondas which we tow with the F250. We put in at Mooloolaba and do a mix of all types of fishing the main being gamefishing and bottom bashing. Most of our bottom fishing revolves around the banks but we still often fish the other usual reefs (chardons, sunshine, gneerings, caoundra area, murphys, arkwright and all the others. Our gamefish locations depend on the tackle we are using or where the fish are, as we have 2 10Kg outfits, 2 15Kg, 2 24Kg and 2 37Kg aswell as alot of gear suited for diferent tasks. After selling the little boat we were able to buy a fair bit of offshore tackle, which is good as it mean we have the ability to do pretty much any style of offshore fishing. I have my own tackle bench set up in the shed where i do an all manner of rigging and other stuff. If we are using heavy tackle gamefishing gear we will usually head to the Moreton or Noosa Canyons our light tackle work revolves around the local hotspots and where the bait is, so we are usuall around the 10, 12, 18 or 21 mile grounds. We listen to our VHF a often but we do not yet have many contacts out on the water so if you fishy off the sunny coast PM me with the name of your boat just to help us build up of few contacts. Or if you want you could just give us a call next time your on the water on 21. The boats name is Whale Bone. Hope to hear from you blokes soon
thanks for any help
05-02-2008 05:20 PM
Re: Anyone fish off Mooloolaba
WB, here is a link that Russ81 started. If you contacted him I'm sure he could help you out with an updated list of ausfisher's boating details.
http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/sho...d.php?t=110812
Wags
Last edited by wags on the water; 05-02-2008 at 05:21 PM. Reason: more info
05-02-2008 07:18 PM
It seems the reason you haven't been able to contact any of us is because of the channel you're listening to. I maybe wrong but I think the majority of people coming out of Mooloolaba will be on 73. Just watch me be corrected here lol. Anyway have sent you a pm.
Kezza
05-02-2008 07:27 PM
Gday mate 73 or 67 for me out there. By the look of the weather i'll be out on weekend. Pm sent regards Wadeo
05-02-2008 08:21 PM
Gday Wadeo,
I was hoping to get out there on Sunday if conditions were right. Where bouts you heading. If I go out it'll probably be the hards unless I do a quickie and have a troll round murphs.
Kezza
05-02-2008 09:35 PM
06-02-2008 06:54 AM
Yeah saturday would have been good but got something on that arvo so no can do. Hope you do well pm me on sat night if you go to hards and let me know how you go.
Kezza
13-02-2008 12:58 PM
You are on the right channel. Every man and his dog from Point Lookout to Noosa is on VHF21 most times.
I would suggest joining a game fish club. That way you will get in the loop as to what is happening where and when. For instance as a member of the Sunshine Coast Game Fish Club I would recieve a club e-mail at least once a week on something. When the fish are on you are also informed but maybe a day or two after the bite has started. The boats lucky enought to get in on a good bite can than capitalise before the hoardes find out. The meetings are the first Tuesday night of the month at the Kawana Waters Hotel front bar. Most people have a countery out the back first to catch up on all the fishing goss and they do a bloody good meal.
Also most fisherpeople are naturally protective of their spots or any hot action going on. You can't just expect to waltz in at the top level and be hand fed. You have to do your apprenticeship. Showing your face around the tournament or club scene and being nice people will break down the barriers and then you might get in with the right people that will keep you in the loop as to what is going on. You can't beat networking and the grapevine. It would be so hard doing everything yourself. It is a big ocean out there afterall.
BTW my callsign is Triton IV. I am usually scanning 80,77,21 and my unit automatically does 16 as well.
19-02-2008 06:00 PM
hey whale bone i live on sunny coast and go out as much as you can get me on 21 vhf call sign "flying fish" im kel.