Your fish or mine?

View Poll Results: Whose fish is it?

Voters
138. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yours (your gear so you can claim it)

17 12.32%
  • His (you snooze, you loose sunshine)

60 43.48%
  • Both (we're all mates and we never compete against one another)

61 44.20%
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast
    Ausfish Bronze Member freddofrog's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like

Your fish or mine?

Ok here’s a question, if you are fishing two rods, both of which are yours, you have chosen the type of terminal tackle you want to use (leaders, swivels, hooks, knot types etc..), you’ve tied everything, set the drag, baited it and cast it. If the fish self-hooks (think circle hooks) but your mate reels it in, whose fish it yours or his?

My thinking is you’ve done all the technical “stuff”, he’s just merely provided muscle power to wind her in, so by rights, it should be classified as your fish, not that I’m competitive mind you J .

What do you guys think?
    ff

Ausfish Gold Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Re: Your fish or mine?

I get just as much of a buz watching a mate pull in a nice fish like I do getting my own. All beit on my own rods and reels I dont mind at all, but if he catches it, and decides to keep it, rulz are rulz and he must gut, scale and fillet it. I have rods setup for the 'occasional' fisherman, cheapish rods and reels but with the same terminal tackle I use on my good personal setups. If they were to bring there own gear I doubt they would get many fish, and I do like the company so if they catch fish there likely to want to come out again.
    .......Ash

Ausfish Platinum Member ffejsmada's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like

Well I don't know whos fish it would be but I know one thing. And that is that if anyone grabbed my rod when I had a hit I'd tell them to f**k off!!!!!
    The rod can stay there with fish attached until I'm ready to deal with it.
    So I guess in that case it would be my fish

Post Thanks / Like

I think if your mate goes in halves with the bait and petrol, what fish you get should be split equally between you and him, dont matter who winds it in its all about teamwork. your mate might be winding him in on your rod but you might still have to help him gaff/net him. which therefore its both yours and his fish. yous can have a fillet each.

cheers tassie JR

Ausfish Gold Member fish-n-dive's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like

LOL...........your scraping the bottom of the barrel trying to come up with new posts............LOL............but in the interests of the exercise, if he/she pulls it in then in my book it's theirs!!!............
    "This space is saved for my next special catch"
    "Rainy" Haines Hunter 540C Yamaha 130 HPDI
    28lb King Salmon
    18lb Steelhead (Rainbow) Trout
    12lb Brown Trout
    6.5lb Brook Trout
    12lb Murry Cod
    6'+ Bronze Whaler Shark

Ausfish Gold Member fish-n-dive's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like

PS......I'd never fish with a 'you snooze, you loose sunshine' person !!
    "This space is saved for my next special catch"
    "Rainy" Haines Hunter 540C Yamaha 130 HPDI
    28lb King Salmon
    18lb Steelhead (Rainbow) Trout
    12lb Brown Trout
    6.5lb Brook Trout
    12lb Murry Cod
    6'+ Bronze Whaler Shark

Ausfish Platinum Member Tailortaker's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like

When my mate and I are fishin for squire we use two rods each, If he has a hook up on one rod than his other goes off I'll reel it in for him but i claim it as HIS fish and vice versa....
    ________
    Uggs

Post Thanks / Like

If I take any mate out for a day fishing in my boat I only take a portion of the fish after the guest has got a feed at least for his family. I do not need to squabble over any fish caught ever, even if I caught them all and my friend caught nothing. The guest gets the first meals and I take a meal after he has taken his. If we have had a bountiful day and several feeds involved I will split right down the middle with him / her.

Enjoying the fishing is what it is all about, not who caught what crap. If that sentiment comes aboard my boat it is never an enjoyable day.

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by ffejsmada View Post
    Well I don't know whos fish it would be but I know one thing. And that is that if anyone grabbed my rod when I had a hit I'd tell them to f**k off!!!!!
    The rod can stay there with fish attached until I'm ready to deal with it.
    So I guess in that case it would be my fish

Funny stuff Jeff, I agree totally

Post Thanks / Like

when me and my mate go fishing, i would bring three rods and he would bring one, but i would give him a rod to use. and i dont care if he catches a fish on it and calls it his because he rigs the rod up himself lol, im too lazy.

cam
    Australian Native Fish Vids
    Specialize in Terapontida's, Perches, Cods, Gobies & Gudgeons

Ausfish Platinum Member Jeremy87's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like

I had to choose the both option. While ultimately the person who winds in the fish is the person who catches it, in many ways it is the skipper who catches the fish and the crew are merely muscle. but in the situation you just stated i agree with ffejsmada, if someone took my rod without me asking them to or if i wasn't already playing a fish i'd tell them where to go if i was skipper. I like taking blokes out for a fish and i always run on the basis of 50% fuel share and you can use my gear if your willing to replace what you loose/brake, so i normally make it my mission as skipper to make sure my crew catch something and take home a feed when appropriate.

Post Thanks / Like

Sometimes there's more of knack to landing the fish than the way the tackle was masde up..
    Your mates offcourse and sharing in the thrill as well as the fish as far as i'm concerned is only way ta go...
    My opnion mindya...

Banned
    Post Thanks / Like

The question is...why aren't you catching the fish?? If it was "your" rod...what were you doing while he took it?

The fish is not caught until you touch the leader...so if he winds it in, in my book it's his catch...though if it was your boat and he was a guest he probably should hand it over as thanks for taking him along.

Post Thanks / Like

Doesn't really matter to me.
    I only ever fish one rod.
    I get too confused with more then one
    I intend on living for-ever....so far so good

Ausfish Silver Member Cobia Kid's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like

Mate Alex (sik008) HAayden and I, were fishing at a jetty one day. As the bite rate was low, Hayden decided to go for a swim, he hands the rod to Alex and says *watch this for me* just as Hayden was about to get in, his rod having 12 pound line on it, his reel starts screaming. Alex has already started to play the fish from the snags etc, and Hayden raced back to grab the rod. hayden restled Alex for about 15 secs to get the rod off him, Alex was the bigger person and stepped back and said *fine, just land the fish* and by some miracle he landed the fish and it was a 38 cm trevally. Has this happened to anyone else and how did you deal with it?
    Jamie
    Last edited by Cobia Kid; 24-10-2007 at 07:25 AM.