+ Reply to Thread
Thread: ATOMIC PRONGs
-
08-09-2007 02:29 PM #1Ausfish Addict
- Morningside - happy to be living in Qld but go the BLUES!
- Post Thanks / Like

ATOMIC PRONGs
Prong 3 inch.jpgHI All ..... I picked up some of these today (3 inch) .... they look like a pretty decent bream / flatty SP ...... with lots of wiggly bits (much like my favorite GULP 3" Craw)
anyhow .... Has anyone used them & what have you caught ?
The 2 colours pictured are RED PUMPKIN & SHRIMP CORE (shrimp core looks magic)
...... Nagg
08-09-2007 03:34 PM
Re: ATOMIC PRONGs
Yep have been using them for a while with pretty good success, you can put a lot more action into them than normal shrimp style plastics. Have been using them with with hidden weights in snags and on worm hooks over shallow weed beds. Will withstand a lot more hookups than the gulp craws will which is another bonus. ** Forgot the what have you caught bit; Jack, trevs cod and flathead lightly weighted in the snags and bream whiting flatties and trevs unweighted over weed, get good results almost using them as almost a surface style lure in this fashion they imitate a prawn skipping across the surface quite well.
Last edited by budge; 08-09-2007 at 03:40 PM.
08-09-2007 04:40 PM
- Post Thanks / Like

Thanks Budge ..... I didn't realise that they could be versatile.... But I had no doubt that they would have improved longevity over the Craws
..... Today was the first time I've seen them in a shop ...... do they come in a 4 or 5 inch version ? ...... Nagg
PS .... Hmmm ... Jacks hey.
... Might throw them into a few snags up at Hinchinbrook next month
08-09-2007 05:37 PM
Yep mate 3 and 4 inch models are available electric chicken colour has been my favourite so far.
08-09-2007 05:49 PM
I too have the electric chicken prongs....the trevally and Jacks love them.
08-09-2007 06:06 PM
08-09-2007 06:39 PM
the gulp is called nucular chicken and the prong is electric chicken.
i have caught some awsome bream on them and have used all the colours but my favourite being caralona pumpkin then shrimp core.
the 4 prong goes well on snapper.
08-09-2007 06:54 PM
08-09-2007 09:25 PM
Well I am hoping that my Prong does the goods tomorrow! With all the bits that wiggle, jiggle and flap around, they should tempt something into having a chomp! *fingers crossed* I will have something to post.
I liked the look of the Prong more than the Gulp Shrimp...more life-like, cheaper and looks to have more "action"
Mike L
PS - who comes up with A) some of the wicked colours, and B) the names for them! "I whipped out my electric chicken prong..." sounds a bit dodgy if you ask me!
09-09-2007 08:42 AM
- Post Thanks / Like

Yeh .... I thought it looked a fair bit better than the Gulp shrimp (I like the translucence & the pliability ! ..... The Gulp is fairly rigid) ...... I reckon they just might make a decent Bass SPI'll flick a few up at Cania next month .... Nagg
10-09-2007 10:09 AM
11-09-2007 08:28 PM
Great lures. I use them on the surface for bream mainly but they work a treat slow rolling for bass or floated into the snags for the red devils.
Cheers Whytey
12-09-2007 04:54 AM
- Post Thanks / Like

14-09-2007 08:09 PM
- Post Thanks / Like

I picked up some 4" (Carolina Pumpkin Holo) today . Plan to throw these weightless into the Hinchinbrook snags... Then if I do no good .... EAT THEM
... these look good ........ Even the kids were impressed when they saw them tonight ...... Nagg
15-09-2007 05:29 PM
fished with them in fiji the reefys loved them fish were climbing all over them. cheers bdowdy

.... But I had no doubt that they would have improved longevity over the Craws
.... Is that like Gulps Atomic Chicken ? ... Nagg
... Nagg

... Then if I do no good .... EAT THEM
... these look good ........ Even the kids were impressed when they saw them tonight ...... Nagg