+ Reply to Thread
Thread: big cobe
-
27-07-2007 07:15 PM #1
big cobe
anyone see the cobia caught by the the ex tennis player on the news tonight. i heard that it was about 55 kg. now my old man has done alot of cobe fishing anf caught big cobe and he swearrs that it really didnt seem that big, i might scan some of his old pics in over the weekend of his catches, they wer aboutr the same size. i know one of his mates got one over a 100lbs inside the bay
27-07-2007 07:40 PM
Re: big cobe
Mate, I saw it on the news and although it was a bloody good catch for a 74yr old lady, it certainly did not appear to be 55kg but more like 55lb. She had it sat across her knee so I would think a lady of her stature (although an ex pro tennis player) would be crushed by 55kg..........if you think of the old sacks of coal.......that would be akin to what she had on her knee (purportedly)
I hate stealing anyone's thunder so I wouldn't mind (at all) if I was proven wrong.
Whilst on a cruise this summer, on the back of my cabin door was a notice reading , "Please think of the environment. Recycle where possible and switch off all appliances when not in use". All this on a ship travelling at 17 inches to the gallon.
See my fish photography here: http://www.bidkev.com/fish-photography.php
Visit regularly to see my constant updates. Quality digital copies free to Ausfishers............use as wallpaper or can be printed......size up to 20 x16. PM for details.
27-07-2007 07:44 PM
G'day Ben, Wow that's some fish if it went 55kg!!
I've seen 50kg Amberjack before but never a Cobia. Anythings possible.
The Cobia I'm holding up went 28kg, half the size of the one you mention.
55kg...........Man that's huge!!!!!
Jeff
27-07-2007 07:52 PM
Nice fish Jeff and it's definitely bigger than the one shown on the news.
I work in a call centre in Melbourne and we've just been told our jobs are moving to India. I'm so excited! I've always wanted to visit India and with the salary they pay me I'll be able to live like a Maharaja over there. Well done Telstra, keep up the good work.![]()
See my fish photography here: http://www.bidkev.com/fish-photography.php
Visit regularly to see my constant updates. Quality digital copies free to Ausfishers............use as wallpaper or can be printed......size up to 20 x16. PM for details.
27-07-2007 08:49 PM
Its amazing how many times you see pounds described as kilograms..........maybe we should convert to naming centimetres inches?? Sure would do a lot for a guys ego i reckon!!
27-07-2007 10:14 PM
yeah, you couldnt miss it.
It was on front page of the GoldCoast Bulletin paper. Basically it said it took her and her son 2 hours to land on 20lb mono with no trace.
The fish weighed in at 53kg and meaured 1.7m caught on a fresh piece of tailor. Even though she had to take turns at fighting the fish with her son, she did the first hour herslf before getting tired mind you, I reckon she done bloody well for age.
Wish I could get onto a fish that takes 2 hours to land!
good on ya gran!
.......Ash
28-07-2007 05:41 AM
What Ex Tennis Player was that?anyone see the cobia caught by the the ex tennis player on the news tonight
Hey ffejsmada, what archive did you dig that photo out of? That looks like a pretty old photo.
Last edited by JRJR; 28-07-2007 at 05:44 AM.
28-07-2007 08:13 AM
28-07-2007 08:55 AM
It was Daphne Fancutt who won Wimbledon years ago.
28-07-2007 08:58 AM
My biggest cobia was 34 kilos and it went 1.7 metres.
It was extremely fat. A cobia that went 50 kilos at 1.7m would want to be on the biggest loser
Quite a few years ago Brownies coastwatch segment on the news showed some vision of a cobia catch from a Tweed charter boat. The fish was around 50kilos. It was being held up by 3 blokes length wise and the body was so thick it went from their waist to under their chin. It remains one of the biggest fish I have ever seen.