+ Reply to Thread
-
21-01-2007 11:03 AM #1
Two layer colour change weave in progress
G'day all,
Just started a colour change weave and thought I would do a pictorial report so if anyone is intrested they might try one themselves.
This is a simple colour change weave it has two layers, the fish a barra. The weave is 106 wraps and 51 design threads. I am using looms which will be available soon from Ross at www.therodworks.com.au made by DocSki who is probably the worlds best colour change weaver and weave designer.
Anyway the looms taped to the blank and marks lightly scratched on the blank.
21-01-2007 11:17 AM
First thread of the first layer in place, marked so I can identify it when laying the second layer of thread.
21-01-2007 11:29 AM
First picture. I fill the loom one side a time working out from the centre thread which is thread 27 in this design.
Second picture. Loom loaded with first layer of thread.
The thread I am using is Gudebrod size A for the design thread and Size B for the wrapping thread, using the larger wrap thread will prevent the design becoming stubby in its appearance.
Last edited by Bearclaw; 21-01-2007 at 11:45 AM. Reason: I don't know what I'm doing
21-01-2007 01:13 PM
First picture, another layer of double sided tape is layed over the bottom layer of thread and the second layer is then layed down in postion using the previous marked thread as my centre thread 27. The top layer of threads is only about half the amount of the bottom layer on this design.
Second picture, the weave begins. As this weave is going in between a split rear grip there is a lot of tensions/angles that usually don't get put on the thread as the weave proceeds due the confined space I'm weaving in. From now on the until we get to the gill area the advancing weave is hidden by the threads that are taken from the right loom and placed in the left loom. ( I weave from R to L ) At the gill area the head is exposed as the threads go back to the right loom so a few wraps can be place in to indicate the gills.
Last edited by Bearclaw; 21-01-2007 at 09:32 PM. Reason: still don't know what I'm doing
21-01-2007 05:02 PM
After watching Doc Ski's weaving DVD, I am at least able to ' sort of ' follow what you're doing Myles.
The step by step report is great. Can't wait for the finished product.
21-01-2007 05:15 PM
Yeah wish I could explain it better. Not as good as your flathead filleting video. Now I learnt something there.
21-01-2007 08:31 PM
Great work Myles.
I have done a barra weave before and will post a pic soon. I wish I had the loom you are using as dong it with double sided tape was hard yakka espeasially counting all those threads.. Just in the middle od a move from brissy to townsville so when set up will attach pic.
Aaron
21-01-2007 09:41 PM
Myles
Your as sick as me mate, cant get away from the dam things. I can say this; they are a dam site better than doing cross wraps. Nothing wrong with cross wraps for all those cross wrap fruit loops “roz”. I like to do some thing not many people do. Good to see it unfold Myles, I may have to pick at it a bit mate.![]()
Stu
22-01-2007 09:02 AM
come on mate more time fishing less time wrapping!!
22-01-2007 11:46 AM
Stu you can pick all you like, I blame this guy I met at a boat show for getting me interested in these. This is probably my six weave and 3rd colour change. I did this one once before but using E wrap and D design thread it came up ok, but working with A or maderia the multi layer weaves lay better.
Wheezer,
Don't you worry in a week or two I should know when I'm going to Monduran. Hope your feeling sick on those days.
23-01-2007 01:53 AM
OK.....Who is gonna Tartan wrap??
23-01-2007 04:37 AM
Sleepygreg,
Mark Fisher from Outback Rods in Broken Hill does the best tartan crosswraps.
24-01-2007 10:53 PM
25-01-2007 07:42 AM
Roz if you have time for a crosswrap you have time for weaving. Not sure this is going to work out too well, seems like the fish is stubby, which shouldn't be the case as I'm using NCP B as the wrap and A as the design thread, me thinking C might have been a better choice. Won't know until the heat up here goes away, as you know sweaty hands and thread don't mix.
M
25-01-2007 12:36 PM
I know your 100% correct, I was only counselling myself.
I've just finished putting the preserver on my effort. Believe it or not, I did the entire wrap in 'A' and had absolutely no problems at all.
Between watching your weave develop and the Doc Ski DVDs, I should learn something.....
r.
GO THE CRUISER UTES!
....OH WHAT A FEELING!