Thread: Braid to what Leader??

cHiCo

Braid to what Leader??

Hey blokes,
    need some advice on the best 40-45lb leader for tying directly to 30lb Penn Pro Power braid. Using a calcutta 250. What knots you like to use aswell. I am using schneider at the moment and its really giving me the shits, keeps curling up into circles the size of the spool. All info appreciated. Cheers

Re: Braid to what Leader??

http://www.marinews.com/

This sight has some good knots. I use the Albright knot and haven't had any dramas.

cHiCo, I have been useing 45lb schneider as leader for the last 8-9 years with no probs but have now gone over to the penn 10x and after a few teething probs now preferr it, the prob I had with the 10x is it being such a hard line your knots need to be tied perfectly or else you lose fish (as well as favorite lure >) and get laughed at by you fishing mates
    Cheers Ian

cHiCo

yeh gonna have to practise my knots a bit more.

If the line curls up too much it has too much memory, probably from sitting around for a fair while or not being a good batch. I usually use pink ANDE, Jinkai or Penn 10X.

cheers, Clutter

I swear by Knotted Dogs, but they're not the most economical form of leaders. They work a treat on baitcasters and glide through the guides with ease. I normally attach these with a bimini / catspaw / figure 8 combination.

Otherwise I use Penn 10x... great line and doesn't tend to curl up like most others. The double uni knot is probably the easiest, strongest and quickest knot for straight line to line connections.

cHiCo.Sounds like your schider line may be faulty as i have used it
    before with no probs. A reliable knot is a70 turn bimini twist in your braid and connect to leader via 6 turn uni-knot with a 4 turn uni from leader to braid. I much prefer to use a more supple line like Jinkai or Sufix Braid Buddy as you can go up in line poundage for similar line diameter.

cheers, McCod