Thread: What knot?

What knot?

I am having trouble with knots breaking at the junction of fireline and 10lb fluro carbon leader. What knot does everyone else use? Any help would reduce my amount of bustoffs

Re: What knot?

G'day snapattack,
    I use an allbright knot to join a 10lb vanish to my fireline.
    there are some sites you can visit on the web that acually show
    you how it's done, sorry can't remember ??? the name of the site but if you go to google and type in fishing knots, you should be able to find something.
    mulletgut

Uni Knots

look here.
    http://www.fishingcairns.com.au/page6-1.html
    i mostly use a short double with a spider hitch & an albright.
    if in a mad hurry i use a double uni instead of albright.
    both are fine but i think the albright is less bulky.

DR,

I agree with you that the albright is less bulky, but do you think it is AS strong as uni knots.

Quote Originally Posted by Kiktz
    DR,

I agree with you that the albright is less bulky, but do you think it is AS strong as uni knots.
    don't know, have never had either let go.
    i have seen charts with knot strength, but can't find any of them.

I have seen sites where they state what strengh the knots are at but,
    I have never had either let go as well but for no reason I have switched over to the uni knot.

http://www.steelheader.net/knots/knots.htm

Snapattack,I have only tried this knot on my last trip & it never let me down & will be using it again this weekend so you could say the jury is still out on this one. I wrap the braid around the leader 20 times then make make a loop with both lines then pass both lines in & around the loop(just like you were trying a granny knot) 4 times & pull slowy till tight,if the braid starts to bunch up then just hold both ends of the braid & pull slowly till the loops are even against the leader again,trim off the tag ends & if you want added security & very small dob of superglue on the knot. Touchy.><>.

Touchy is talking about the twisted leader knot. My mate swears by it.

I started with a double uni yonks back but then changed to the Stren knot
    http://www.stren.com/knot11.htm

which I found easier to tie and I reckon stronger.

But then I tried the Yucatan knot and I like it even more
    http://www.leadertec.com/tipsandtech...s_yucatan.html

I don't tie a double in the braid but simply form a long loop and tie it like that. Works a treat [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]